SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2010-104 (Orient Exp/Magic of Ireland)

Viewed 1025 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/11 5:55 PM
Last Updated:3/28/11 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PJH said...
The skirt is great! Yours looks much better than the magazine versions.
3/28/11 11:31 PM
Anne Cherry said...
I've been eyeing this skirt off since I saw it in Burda. I agree, it is a weird but strangely compelling design. Now, thanks to you, I am going to give it a shot! Your colour combinations are great - the mini-wardrobe really works - and you've done a great photoshoot!
3/28/11 5:46 PM
lynnewill said...
I love this skirt!!
3/25/11 8:56 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks and I appreciate all the styling tips:-)
3/4/11 6:26 PM
mad stash said...
It might be wacky but it sure ain't crazy.... I think it looks great on you! In my opinion, it would look best styled with a minimalist outfit, either monochromatic black (or cream) turtleneck, tights, boots, and maybe a red scarf tied around the neck for a pop of color. The cut of the skirt seems almost architectural - maybe that's why it reminds me of something a NYC architect would wear to meet with a client to unveil their latest plans.
3/4/11 1:01 PM
dingyadi said...
It's fabulous!
3/4/11 7:42 AM
Ann Smith said...
The styling makes it work. Wear it!
3/4/11 1:10 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely skirt. The soft folds and interesting shape work well with your fluid fabric. Your adventurous foray paid off!
3/3/11 10:50 PM
jannw said...
That looks great on you..and isn't that why we sew..to have something unique?
3/3/11 7:27 PM
2takeKate said...
Yeah! Wear it with your cool boots and The Look ;-) Your fabric actually drapes pretty well in this style; the bulky version definitely makes me laugh.
3/3/11 7:25 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you all so much! I am emboldened to wear this now. Haha :-)
3/3/11 6:46 PM
nicegirl said...
See, I think it's cool on. Think Leane on Project Runway. Work it!
3/3/11 6:40 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow, what a great skirt - and who would have known except that you made it for us to see! I like your version much better than the one in the magazine!
3/3/11 6:32 PM
Christas said...
Actually the skirt looks cute the way you have it styled! Thanks for posting pics of you in it.
3/3/11 6:20 PM
hmacski said...
I like it. I think it's interesting and much more flattering than I think most of us thought it would be. Thanks for posting the photos of yourself wearing this skirt. Helen
3/3/11 6:17 PM
nicegirl said...
Totally love! Can't wait to see it on you.
3/2/11 10:28 AM
Kat B. said...
I love, love, love that you took a pattern that looked so silly in the magazine and made it up! I actually like your version and can't wait to see a pic with you wearing it!
3/2/11 8:27 AM
bell N said...
It looks nice on the hanger. I'd love to see how it looks on you.
3/2/11 7:52 AM
dingyadi said...
I love it! It is such an interesting shape and great colour but yes, looks somewhat difficult to wear. Looking forward to seeing it on.
3/2/11 5:59 AM
Terri A said...
Oh nooo no no... Thx for the compliments but - you will get a good chuckle perhaps when you see me in it. :-) thx tho :-)
3/2/11 1:41 AM
Christas said...
Can't wait to see it on you! Love the color. The shape has grown on me. Thanks for reviewing this unusual skirt!
3/2/11 0:54 AM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, I cannot to wait to see you model the skirt. The color and details look avant garde.
3/1/11 9:32 PM
Morisot said...
You look as pretty as the model--and a lot like her!
3/1/11 9:16 PM
annie11 said...
This looks really lovely! I am looking forward to seeing it on you. Great job, as usual!
3/1/11 9:02 PM
MaryDB said...
The first think I thought when I saw this in the gallery was "wow, what an attractive skirt!". I really like it, although I could never wear it in a million years. You go! Nice work.
3/1/11 8:41 PM
Terri A said...
Thx everyone you are all too nice. I still haven't had the chance to get photos. Thank you Morisot... umm I would love to take credit, but that's a professional model in the bulky wool version. It is the photo in the magazine and online in the Magic of Ireland collection. I would love to look like her but alas I am a 41 yr old mom... not a 25 yr old model (sigh)... but thanks for the nice comment and I really do appreciate the feedback especially on something this daring. It is a love it or hate it pattern I think:-)
3/1/11 8:40 PM
Morisot said...
This gold skirt looks gorgeous! I love the "bulky wool" one too--you look fabulous in it. These are the neat (daring) things about sewing.
3/1/11 8:14 PM
AquariJenn said...
pretty skirt
3/1/11 4:20 PM
petro said...
I really like this, if only I could shift some waistline excess, I'd make it. Thanks for including pictures of the pattern pieces in the review, this is really helpful.
3/1/11 3:52 PM
VtMartha said...
Thanks for bringing my attention to this pattern. I love it's 'unusualness'. Looking forward to seeing it on you.
3/1/11 1:25 PM
JillyBe said...
I would not have called this pattern 'ugly'....'odd', yes lol, but it truly looks like you made a beautiful piece! Add me to the list of folks who can't wait to see it on you!
3/1/11 12:34 PM
Dale C said...
I think it's pretty cool, though I'd never wear it.. It probably takes a tall slim figure to look good in that skirt. THanks for the picture of the pattern pieces, they're inspiring.
3/1/11 12:18 PM
Aroura said...
I like it! The color is gorgeous, love the "pockets" :) It is very unusual, and you did a great job making it very wearable looking!
3/1/11 11:04 AM
hmacski said...
thank you for an informative and entertaining review. I get your aversion/attraction to this skirt. It's kind of irresistable in an odd way. I'm looking forward to seeing pics of you wearing it. Good for you for taking a fashion risk! Helen
3/1/11 6:58 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
Same here: laughed out loud when I first saw this pattern, but it kept nagging me in the back of my mind, "what if, what if" :) Your version looks very promising! Would love to see it ON you, but it seems it will be a fun and surprise addition to your wardrobe!
3/1/11 3:04 AM
Terri A said...
I know sewingelle. Haha you are sooo right! I agree it probably isn't super flattering on any but the thinnest model, but it is interesting when you make up a pattern you get a glimpse into the mind of the designer. I wanted to make it more or less just to check it out. The bulky fabrics I think are a no - but thinner fabric prbly not so bad. I will get photos when I get the chance. Tracing like mad for my upcoming projects, and awaiting sun and a camera. It has been in the twenties and thirties here, cold and grey.
3/1/11 0:47 AM
Sewingelle said...
We have to see a photo of it on you! Thank you for making up and reviewing the kookiest pattern from Burda for a long time!! I'm strangely drawn to this pattern too. But what would those cones would do to my "pot" belly? It couldn't be good!
2/28/11 9:41 PM
Terri A said...
I will I will - I gotta get the stuff together and draft a kid to photograph me etc... I have been sewing til I can't MOVE!
2/28/11 7:04 PM
Seaspur said...
Well, I really like it. Would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
2/28/11 7:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now