Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2010-104 (Orient Exp/Magic of Ireland) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1025 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/11 5:55 PM
Last Updated:3/28/11 4:10 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seaspur said...
Well, I really like it. Would love to see a picture of you wearing it.
2/28/11 7:00 PM
Terri A said...
I will I will - I gotta get the stuff together and draft a kid to photograph me etc... I have been sewing til I can't MOVE!
2/28/11 7:04 PM
Sewingelle said...
We have to see a photo of it on you! Thank you for making up and reviewing the kookiest pattern from Burda for a long time!! I'm strangely drawn to this pattern too. But what would those cones would do to my "pot" belly? It couldn't be good!
2/28/11 9:41 PM
Terri A said...
I know sewingelle. Haha you are sooo right! I agree it probably isn't super flattering on any but the thinnest model, but it is interesting when you make up a pattern you get a glimpse into the mind of the designer. I wanted to make it more or less just to check it out. The bulky fabrics I think are a no - but thinner fabric prbly not so bad. I will get photos when I get the chance. Tracing like mad for my upcoming projects, and awaiting sun and a camera. It has been in the twenties and thirties here, cold and grey.
3/1/11 0:47 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
Same here: laughed out loud when I first saw this pattern, but it kept nagging me in the back of my mind, "what if, what if" :) Your version looks very promising! Would love to see it ON you, but it seems it will be a fun and surprise addition to your wardrobe!
3/1/11 3:04 AM
hmacski said...
thank you for an informative and entertaining review. I get your aversion/attraction to this skirt. It's kind of irresistable in an odd way. I'm looking forward to seeing pics of you wearing it. Good for you for taking a fashion risk! Helen
3/1/11 6:58 AM
Aroura said...
I like it! The color is gorgeous, love the "pockets" :) It is very unusual, and you did a great job making it very wearable looking!
3/1/11 11:04 AM
Dale C said...
I think it's pretty cool, though I'd never wear it.. It probably takes a tall slim figure to look good in that skirt. THanks for the picture of the pattern pieces, they're inspiring.
3/1/11 12:18 PM
JillyBe said...
I would not have called this pattern 'ugly'....'odd', yes lol, but it truly looks like you made a beautiful piece! Add me to the list of folks who can't wait to see it on you!
3/1/11 12:34 PM
VtMartha said...
Thanks for bringing my attention to this pattern. I love it's 'unusualness'. Looking forward to seeing it on you.
3/1/11 1:25 PM
petro said...
I really like this, if only I could shift some waistline excess, I'd make it. Thanks for including pictures of the pattern pieces in the review, this is really helpful.
3/1/11 3:52 PM
AquariJenn said...
pretty skirt
3/1/11 4:20 PM
Morisot said...
This gold skirt looks gorgeous! I love the "bulky wool" one too--you look fabulous in it. These are the neat (daring) things about sewing.
3/1/11 8:14 PM
Terri A said...
Thx everyone you are all too nice. I still haven't had the chance to get photos. Thank you Morisot... umm I would love to take credit, but that's a professional model in the bulky wool version. It is the photo in the magazine and online in the Magic of Ireland collection. I would love to look like her but alas I am a 41 yr old mom... not a 25 yr old model (sigh)... but thanks for the nice comment and I really do appreciate the feedback especially on something this daring. It is a love it or hate it pattern I think:-)
3/1/11 8:40 PM
MaryDB said...
The first think I thought when I saw this in the gallery was "wow, what an attractive skirt!". I really like it, although I could never wear it in a million years. You go! Nice work.
3/1/11 8:41 PM
annie11 said...
This looks really lovely! I am looking forward to seeing it on you. Great job, as usual!
3/1/11 9:02 PM
Morisot said...
You look as pretty as the model--and a lot like her!
3/1/11 9:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, I cannot to wait to see you model the skirt. The color and details look avant garde.
3/1/11 9:32 PM
Christas said...
Can't wait to see it on you! Love the color. The shape has grown on me. Thanks for reviewing this unusual skirt!
3/2/11 0:54 AM
Terri A said...
Oh nooo no no... Thx for the compliments but - you will get a good chuckle perhaps when you see me in it. :-) thx tho :-)
3/2/11 1:41 AM
dingyadi said...
I love it! It is such an interesting shape and great colour but yes, looks somewhat difficult to wear. Looking forward to seeing it on.
3/2/11 5:59 AM
bell N said...
It looks nice on the hanger. I'd love to see how it looks on you.
3/2/11 7:52 AM
Kat B. said...
I love, love, love that you took a pattern that looked so silly in the magazine and made it up! I actually like your version and can't wait to see a pic with you wearing it!
3/2/11 8:27 AM
nicegirl said...
Totally love! Can't wait to see it on you.
3/2/11 10:28 AM
hmacski said...
I like it. I think it's interesting and much more flattering than I think most of us thought it would be. Thanks for posting the photos of yourself wearing this skirt. Helen
3/3/11 6:17 PM
Christas said...
Actually the skirt looks cute the way you have it styled! Thanks for posting pics of you in it.
3/3/11 6:20 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow, what a great skirt - and who would have known except that you made it for us to see! I like your version much better than the one in the magazine!
3/3/11 6:32 PM
nicegirl said...
See, I think it's cool on. Think Leane on Project Runway. Work it!
3/3/11 6:40 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you all so much! I am emboldened to wear this now. Haha :-)
3/3/11 6:46 PM
2takeKate said...
Yeah! Wear it with your cool boots and The Look ;-) Your fabric actually drapes pretty well in this style; the bulky version definitely makes me laugh.
3/3/11 7:25 PM
jannw said...
That looks great on you..and isn't that why we sew..to have something unique?
3/3/11 7:27 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely skirt. The soft folds and interesting shape work well with your fluid fabric. Your adventurous foray paid off!
3/3/11 10:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
The styling makes it work. Wear it!
3/4/11 1:10 AM
dingyadi said...
It's fabulous!
3/4/11 7:42 AM
mad stash said...
It might be wacky but it sure ain't crazy.... I think it looks great on you! In my opinion, it would look best styled with a minimalist outfit, either monochromatic black (or cream) turtleneck, tights, boots, and maybe a red scarf tied around the neck for a pop of color. The cut of the skirt seems almost architectural - maybe that's why it reminds me of something a NYC architect would wear to meet with a client to unveil their latest plans.
3/4/11 1:01 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks and I appreciate all the styling tips:-)
3/4/11 6:26 PM
lynnewill said...
I love this skirt!!
3/25/11 8:56 AM
Anne Cherry said...
I've been eyeing this skirt off since I saw it in Burda. I agree, it is a weird but strangely compelling design. Now, thanks to you, I am going to give it a shot! Your colour combinations are great - the mini-wardrobe really works - and you've done a great photoshoot!
3/28/11 5:46 PM
PJH said...
The skirt is great! Yours looks much better than the magazine versions.
3/28/11 11:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Marfy 1494: asymm skirt
photo
Review by julesberry on 8/14/07
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3678 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3678 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1804
photo
Review by Rikki23 on 5/30/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us