Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2007-11 (Comfy & Cozy Cardigan) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 448 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/11 2:58 AM
Last Updated:3/28/11 3:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Really very nice cardi! I can feel your disappointment with the dropped shoulders as I'm not a big fan either (which eliminates half the Twinkle Sews book!), but it really does look very nice on you regardless, and all the fun buttons draw the eye away from the shoulders, too!
3/18/11 6:03 AM
dbsewer said...
Great cardigan. Looks very chic on you. Thanks for the photos and detailed construction tips.
3/18/11 7:02 AM
Paris75008 said...
Lovely cardi-jacket. The buttons really make it! Looks great on you
3/18/11 7:02 AM
Lori V said...
This is a very pretty cardigan. I am with you , not a fan of dropped shoulders but I think it looks great on you. The collar, red buttons and patch pockets are great details and you see those things and not the dropped shoulders. The bag your friend made is fantastic, too.
3/18/11 7:17 AM
Skaapie said...
I like it. Although, also not a huge fan of dropped shoulders. And I love your buttons! They really add that extra zing to the garment :-)
3/18/11 7:23 AM
Ecrulace said...
Great cardigan - love the buttons!
3/18/11 7:54 AM
pfaffkj said...
Tipping my hat -- wonderful review! And your topper is marvelous. It looks great!
3/18/11 8:45 AM
jannw said...
Great cardi..love the collar and it looks so great on you
3/18/11 9:33 AM
pterion said...
Beautiful job on this jacket. It does look very cozy. I have this issue and am so glad you reviewed this topper. I actually do like dropped shoulders so your review has peaked my interest in making it!
3/18/11 10:17 AM
bananaoil said...
Excellent review, thanks. I've admired this sweater in the magazine, thanks for pointing out the shoulder issue. Your cardigan looks very nice.
3/18/11 10:21 AM
Aroura said...
Beautifully done, love the color on you. Great buttons, and love the collar!
3/18/11 10:24 AM
Ericaeli said...
This looks really nice on you. I am glad to see it reviewed because I have this issue.
3/18/11 10:46 AM
Barbara V said...
Attractive and cozy looking jacket. I really like the collar.
3/18/11 10:56 AM
Christas said...
Your cardigan looks fantastic! Love your fun button choices. The bag from your friend is very cute too.
3/18/11 11:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Terri, I love it. The red buttons really make this one look more expensive. Lucky me! I have this pattern.
3/18/11 6:22 PM
MaryDB said...
Thanks for the review - looks so comfy and warm. Nice work.
3/18/11 10:19 PM
Mufffet said...
Great looking jacket. Really nice - good to have the info on sizing too. I like this, and am glad to know it runs large. I don't want sleeves to the ground on my short round form! Really nice buttons.
3/19/11 0:06 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a great looking cardigan. You did a super job, especially sewing on that firm thick fabric. Thanks for the great tips in your review and the photos. The coat looks really wonderful on you. Have lots of fun wearing it.
3/19/11 7:53 AM
Julia C said...
Thank you so much. I need a cardigan! I have everything I need so just need to get tracing.
3/19/11 9:21 AM
Patti B said...
Great cardigan -- so cozy looking! Will you shorten the shoulder seam on the next one? Thanks for such a thorough review and helpful construction photos.
3/19/11 10:28 AM
JillyBe said...
What a fantastic look on you! The buttons are such a perfect pop of color, love them! It all looks so yummy & cozy - Thank you for an excellent, thorough review.
3/19/11 12:50 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you so much for the kind comments all... Patti, yes - I am thinking that the next one I should shorten the shoulder... :-)
3/19/11 10:31 PM
LynneMR said...
Fab detailed review! Your cardy-jacket is beautiful -it's a great style, love the buttons and the colour is lovely on you.
3/20/11 3:08 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice!!
3/20/11 8:21 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks so stylish and cozy!
3/20/11 11:29 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice looking cardigan on you! I did not think of the dropped shoulders (of which I am not a fan). As always, a superb review!
3/20/11 12:13 PM
AnneM said...
Great cardigan! Very nice results.
3/21/11 6:41 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review and great looking cardigan.
3/21/11 4:19 PM
Rosesred said...
Very constructive review, and I love your garment. The colorcombination is great, and Imo the looseness of the style is very becoming if you wear it as a casual topper.
3/25/11 4:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Deer&Doe Plantain T-shirt
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/11/14
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3677
photo
Review by mamakooz on 10/26/04
Read Review

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8780 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8780 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6961 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6961 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us