SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5204 (Shirt, skirt, pants and bag)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1593 times 
Reviewed by:carolw
photo

 
 
About carolwstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/9/02
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/04 9:27 PM
Last Updated:7/22/04 6:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Great start with a great pattern, Carol. I think that print will blend with a lot of other colors; looks like it might go under a jacket, sweater or vest in the purple or the maroon/pink families. Nice for a "test" garment!
7/17/04 10:28 PM
KitnRose said...
Great start! I'm a bit print-phobic, so I personally wouldn't wear this shirt alone, it looks like it'd be great under a jacket. But it does depend a lot on your face and figure and personality. Anyway, can't wait to see what else you come up with!
7/17/04 11:06 PM
CamsShel said...
Carol, I love the shape of that type of shirt: yours looks great. If you added some contrast trim around the color, do you think you would like the fabrid better? Maybe the pink of your buttons...
7/17/04 11:12 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Carol, I like the blouse and think it would make a great piece for a casual evening occasion with a black shawl/wrap... good work!
7/18/04 1:00 AM
AnneM said...
I think that top has a lot of flexibility! It has lots of possibilities. (Of course, I love prints.) Nice top. I look forward to seeing those pants reviewed, also.
7/18/04 7:59 AM
Hilary said...
This is the same pattern I'm working on :o) I'm still perfecting the sleeve fit, but I think I've almost got it. Your shirt came out very nice! Looking forward to your next review.
7/18/04 9:57 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love this print!...very cheerful and spring-like. I can see this shirt as a lightweight "jacket" with a tank or tank dress underneath(...maybe after the contest, since the pattern doesn't have one). I really like this pattern for a wardrobe choice, looks like it has great possiblities!
7/18/04 2:54 PM
KitnRose said...
I'm so sorry your pattern isn't working out. How frustrating! Though your description of your wadder had me laughing. Yeah, I've had a few projects where only a bullet or burning could improve them...
7/22/04 8:26 AM
Hilary said...
That's too bad about the skirt! Sometimes nothing but banishment will help, lol. I am working on the pants now, haven't done the skirt~the jury's not in yet on the pants, but so far it seems ok, if a bit high waisted-but I'm short, so it could be me. There's still time, maybe you can find another pattern!
7/22/04 8:38 AM
Diana M said...
Ummm, are you trying to say you didn't like it? LOL So sorry for your experience-- at least your shirt turned out well. I think that those in the contest who are waiting to post their successes maybe have the right idea, instead of (like me) we who just jumped right in enthusiastically charging full steam ahead -- and found a big "Oops."
7/22/04 10:18 AM
AnneM said...
So, tell us what you really think about that skirt. LOL So sad that it didn't work for you.
8/22/04 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now