Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5204 (Shirt, skirt, pants and bag) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1592 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:carolw
photo
About carolwstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/9/02
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/04 9:27 PM
Last Updated:7/22/04 6:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Great start with a great pattern, Carol. I think that print will blend with a lot of other colors; looks like it might go under a jacket, sweater or vest in the purple or the maroon/pink families. Nice for a "test" garment!
7/17/04 10:28 PM
KitnRose said...
Great start! I'm a bit print-phobic, so I personally wouldn't wear this shirt alone, it looks like it'd be great under a jacket. But it does depend a lot on your face and figure and personality. Anyway, can't wait to see what else you come up with!
7/17/04 11:06 PM
CamsShel said...
Carol, I love the shape of that type of shirt: yours looks great. If you added some contrast trim around the color, do you think you would like the fabrid better? Maybe the pink of your buttons...
7/17/04 11:12 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Carol, I like the blouse and think it would make a great piece for a casual evening occasion with a black shawl/wrap... good work!
7/18/04 1:00 AM
AnneM said...
I think that top has a lot of flexibility! It has lots of possibilities. (Of course, I love prints.) Nice top. I look forward to seeing those pants reviewed, also.
7/18/04 7:59 AM
Hilary said...
This is the same pattern I'm working on :o) I'm still perfecting the sleeve fit, but I think I've almost got it. Your shirt came out very nice! Looking forward to your next review.
7/18/04 9:57 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love this print!...very cheerful and spring-like. I can see this shirt as a lightweight "jacket" with a tank or tank dress underneath(...maybe after the contest, since the pattern doesn't have one). I really like this pattern for a wardrobe choice, looks like it has great possiblities!
7/18/04 2:54 PM
KitnRose said...
I'm so sorry your pattern isn't working out. How frustrating! Though your description of your wadder had me laughing. Yeah, I've had a few projects where only a bullet or burning could improve them...
7/22/04 8:26 AM
Hilary said...
That's too bad about the skirt! Sometimes nothing but banishment will help, lol. I am working on the pants now, haven't done the skirt~the jury's not in yet on the pants, but so far it seems ok, if a bit high waisted-but I'm short, so it could be me. There's still time, maybe you can find another pattern!
7/22/04 8:38 AM
Diana M said...
Ummm, are you trying to say you didn't like it? LOL So sorry for your experience-- at least your shirt turned out well. I think that those in the contest who are waiting to post their successes maybe have the right idea, instead of (like me) we who just jumped right in enthusiastically charging full steam ahead -- and found a big "Oops."
7/22/04 10:18 AM
AnneM said...
So, tell us what you really think about that skirt. LOL So sad that it didn't work for you.
8/22/04 4:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Vogue Patterns 1020 wardrobe
photo
Review by KrystalL on 6/5/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8471 Men's shirt
photo
Review by Vintage Jo... on 4/4/08
Read Review

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us