SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Au Bonheur des Petites Mains> 40029 (Racerback Dress)

Viewed 260 times 
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 11:26 AM
Last Updated:3/3/11 3:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JETrinity said...
Crazy cute pattern. I absolutely love the dress.
3/30/11 4:22 PM
DorothyK said...
This dress is adorable. You did a great job interpreting the sparse instructions and inadequate pictures. How would it look with the wings simply hanging down at the sides?
3/13/11 2:20 PM
mad stash said...
I glanced over this pattern on their website & thought it was cute, but I ruled it out as 'not unique enough for me to justify ordering something from France.' Now YOUR version has me thinking otherwise! I like your fabric selection & styling better than the one on their website. Yeah, those double thickness zippers would be uncomfortable. You could use that kind of heavy twill tape with grommets running the length of it, but for people au courant, maybe grommet tape decoration is going the same direction as zipper adornments - regardless, you could wear it anywhere and look cutting edge!
3/4/11 12:13 PM
pterion said...
Very cute dress. I love these patterns but agree that the apron strings across the rear end are not a great look. I like your solution and I think it is in the spirit of these patterns to interpret them for yourself! The zippers do look uncomfortable but I like the unexpected use of them - maybe substitute something else - strips of some kind of lace or trim?
3/4/11 9:38 AM
Fran G said...
Excellent, extensive review.
3/4/11 7:23 AM
mm said...
You look great in it. It is quirky but looks charming. It also looks very well made and fits you to perfection. I love the straps.
3/4/11 6:07 AM
sfshaza said...
This is very cute! I do like the wings in front. I like the straps, but can understand that they might not be comfortable. Of course, you could put strips of fabric underneath, but if you really don't care for the look, you might want to experiment with self straps or a contrasting trim. Thanks, by the way, for your additions to the glossary. I do plan to add them but have been busy with work! And, I agree, with Peggy. It's so nice to see some of the more youthful designs made up. :D
3/3/11 10:16 PM
pegsewer said...
As a lover and reviewer of Au Bonheur patterns myself I think you did a GREAT job with the dress and the write-up! The zipper straps really look cute to me but I can understand they might not be so comfortable. Like you, I've found the patterns sometimes just give you an idea, and it's up to you to make it work for yourself----which you have really done well. Please keep making these patterns as you can wear some of the cute youngish styles that I can't but would like to see! Hopefully the next ones will arrive in better condition. Sew on!
3/3/11 8:00 PM
FreyaStark said...
An interesting project - you're brave to try it. For straps the obvious solution would be narrow straps in the same fabric as the dress, but for something less predictable you could try an interesting ribbon or tape if you could find a good range of trims.
3/3/11 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 1919

photo
by: MissParayi...

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

More Info