Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1116 (Scarf-Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 985 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR
About marjenannstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 5:17 PM
Last Updated:3/3/11 5:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Oh, no! I hate that this blouse didn't fit. The fabric is so GORGEOUS and looks very high end! UGH. That is so disappointing. You can tell that you have done a beautiful job of sewing it.
3/3/11 5:32 PM
Nancy K said...
You say in your blog that you used your regular size 12, is that in Hot Patterns? Because their sizes are more like rtw than the big 4. However, even if you did make an 8 it might only have been 4" smaller which certainly wouldn't have fixed your problems! What a shame that you wasted your gorgeous fabric on something you won't wear.
3/3/11 5:33 PM
Nan Kay said...
It looks wonderful, so sorry you have to keep taking it up to get it close to fitting. The fabric and your work look fantastic, can you re-cut it through the body to make it fit? It would be a shame not to get to wear that lovely fabric!
3/3/11 10:15 PM
carolynw said...
It's absolutely gorgeous. So very elegant - I just love it!!
3/3/11 10:18 PM
becca a said...
The blouse looks gorgeous on your dress form. How disappointing that it is too big. I agree with Nan Kay--why not recut the blouse so it fits?
3/3/11 10:37 PM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous. I hope you are able to work on it more until it fits! It looks beautiful on the dress form.
3/3/11 10:45 PM
Scheri said...
So sorry about the HOT patten. I was not impressed with their pattern either. I opened one of their patterns for a blouse in my sewing class and posed some questions to my instructor and she was confused with the pattern. So I folded it up and away it went back in my stash. So sorry it doesn't fit. The fabric you used was beautiful.
3/3/11 11:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fabric is gorgeous. Many reviewers have problems with HP. Some have excellent results. Perhaps a muslin is the way to go.
3/4/11 6:53 AM
Knitz said...
Ah, what a shame, as that fabric is gorgeous.
3/4/11 8:59 AM
mad stash said...
Even though it doesn't look like the illustration, I think you nonetheless made an absolutely stunning piece. I don't think you could have chosen a more perfect fabric for this design... The luxe sheen & drape of the fabric, with the interesting chain pattern looks absolutely gorgeous! And the pearl necklace with it is perfect!! I swear your blouse is not a wadder!!! I bet it looks great on you even though the fit isn't what you planned. :)
3/4/11 1:13 PM
cleverkitty said...
wonderful top on your dress form, really too bad it did not turn out, the fabric is divine
3/4/11 5:20 PM
ryan's mom said...
Darn! So sorry it turned out voluminous. It looks lovely in the pic thought. Great use of the fabric too. I saw it on the Gorgeous Fabrics website, and I would have never thought to use it like you did. It really looks lovely!
3/4/11 10:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us