SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1116 (Scarf-Shirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1012 times 
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marjenannstarstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 5:17 PM
Last Updated:3/3/11 5:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Darn! So sorry it turned out voluminous. It looks lovely in the pic thought. Great use of the fabric too. I saw it on the Gorgeous Fabrics website, and I would have never thought to use it like you did. It really looks lovely!
3/4/11 10:13 PM
cleverkitty said...
wonderful top on your dress form, really too bad it did not turn out, the fabric is divine
3/4/11 5:20 PM
mad stash said...
Even though it doesn't look like the illustration, I think you nonetheless made an absolutely stunning piece. I don't think you could have chosen a more perfect fabric for this design... The luxe sheen & drape of the fabric, with the interesting chain pattern looks absolutely gorgeous! And the pearl necklace with it is perfect!! I swear your blouse is not a wadder!!! I bet it looks great on you even though the fit isn't what you planned. :)
3/4/11 1:13 PM
Knitz said...
Ah, what a shame, as that fabric is gorgeous.
3/4/11 8:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fabric is gorgeous. Many reviewers have problems with HP. Some have excellent results. Perhaps a muslin is the way to go.
3/4/11 6:53 AM
Scheri said...
So sorry about the HOT patten. I was not impressed with their pattern either. I opened one of their patterns for a blouse in my sewing class and posed some questions to my instructor and she was confused with the pattern. So I folded it up and away it went back in my stash. So sorry it doesn't fit. The fabric you used was beautiful.
3/3/11 11:47 PM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous. I hope you are able to work on it more until it fits! It looks beautiful on the dress form.
3/3/11 10:45 PM
becca a said...
The blouse looks gorgeous on your dress form. How disappointing that it is too big. I agree with Nan Kay--why not recut the blouse so it fits?
3/3/11 10:37 PM
carolynw said...
It's absolutely gorgeous. So very elegant - I just love it!!
3/3/11 10:18 PM
Nan Kay said...
It looks wonderful, so sorry you have to keep taking it up to get it close to fitting. The fabric and your work look fantastic, can you re-cut it through the body to make it fit? It would be a shame not to get to wear that lovely fabric!
3/3/11 10:15 PM
Nancy K said...
You say in your blog that you used your regular size 12, is that in Hot Patterns? Because their sizes are more like rtw than the big 4. However, even if you did make an 8 it might only have been 4" smaller which certainly wouldn't have fixed your problems! What a shame that you wasted your gorgeous fabric on something you won't wear.
3/3/11 5:33 PM
Christas said...
Oh, no! I hate that this blouse didn't fit. The fabric is so GORGEOUS and looks very high end! UGH. That is so disappointing. You can tell that you have done a beautiful job of sewing it.
3/3/11 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick 5455

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

More Info
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-3

photo
by: Deepika

Review