SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lady Boutique Magazine> darted sloper (Bunka-style sloper)

Viewed 496 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews: 135 (patterns: 102)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 11:23 PM
Last Updated:3/6/11 1:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said... (3/9/11 10:50 AM) Reply
This is superb information, fuzzygalore. Thank you for adding it here. Another use for one's personal sloper is to help choose which size to trace from a commercial pattern, particularly if it's a line you haven't worked with before.
fuzzygalore said... (3/9/11 10:30 AM) Reply
It seems that most people believe that you need to make Bunka's sloper in order to use Mrs Stylebook and such. Far from true! You need A sloper, any sloper as long as it fits you. Obtained by whichever method suits you best. Then you can draw from it following the pattern's instructions. Of course if you're short and sway-backed, the Bunka sloper may be a good place to start, as in your case. One obvious point of US/Japanese difference though is bust size. It looks like the Japanese sloper is meants for a closer-to-A cup. If you're more than that, you need to calculate what your full bust size would be if you were no more than a B cup (ie for a D cup I'd take off 2"=5cm) and use that to make an initial sloper. Then you can do an FBA to it. By this devious route you can get a sloper that fits you much better in the shoulders, chest, armhole etc.
Christas said... (3/6/11 8:21 PM) Reply
So very interesting! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this very informative review.
FloraNature said... (3/6/11 3:34 PM) Reply
What an interesting review! Coincidently, I'm working on my basic bodice sloper right now, and thinking how much like the new version of the Japanese sloper my own is - especially the armhole shape.
JillyBe said... (3/6/11 2:06 PM) Reply
What an excellent piece of information - thank you for this :)
21wale said... (3/4/11 10:10 PM) Reply
Excellent and informative review. You've reminded me to unearth the MSB sloper I've been working on. I look forward to seeing what you make...
Kay Y said... (3/4/11 1:37 PM) Reply
Coincidentally, today I'm wearing the jacket I drafted from MSB - reviewed on PR here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=24458 I'll be interested in seeing the garment you draft.
becca a said... (3/4/11 7:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for explaining this process. One day I'd like to try this, too, and I'll refer to your review. I'm curious to see what you make using this sloper.
Sew4Fun said... (3/3/11 11:56 PM) Reply
Fantastic review!! Thanks so much for reviewing this in such wonderful detail.
Scheri said... (3/3/11 11:36 PM) Reply
Wow your review is very interesting. The results look great. I have a hard enough time with English instructions LOL.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
StyleArc Monica Pant

photo
by: lah119

Review