SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lady Boutique Magazine> darted sloper (Bunka-style sloper)

Viewed 482 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 11:23 PM
Last Updated:3/6/11 1:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
Wow your review is very interesting. The results look great. I have a hard enough time with English instructions LOL.
3/3/11 11:36 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic review!! Thanks so much for reviewing this in such wonderful detail.
3/3/11 11:56 PM
becca a said...
Thanks for explaining this process. One day I'd like to try this, too, and I'll refer to your review. I'm curious to see what you make using this sloper.
3/4/11 7:40 AM
Kay Y said...
Coincidentally, today I'm wearing the jacket I drafted from MSB - reviewed on PR here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=24458 I'll be interested in seeing the garment you draft.
3/4/11 1:37 PM
21wale said...
Excellent and informative review. You've reminded me to unearth the MSB sloper I've been working on. I look forward to seeing what you make...
3/4/11 10:10 PM
JillyBe said...
What an excellent piece of information - thank you for this :)
3/6/11 2:06 PM
FloraNature said...
What an interesting review! Coincidently, I'm working on my basic bodice sloper right now, and thinking how much like the new version of the Japanese sloper my own is - especially the armhole shape.
3/6/11 3:34 PM
Christas said...
So very interesting! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this very informative review.
3/6/11 8:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It seems that most people believe that you need to make Bunka's sloper in order to use Mrs Stylebook and such. Far from true! You need A sloper, any sloper as long as it fits you. Obtained by whichever method suits you best. Then you can draw from it following the pattern's instructions. Of course if you're short and sway-backed, the Bunka sloper may be a good place to start, as in your case. One obvious point of US/Japanese difference though is bust size. It looks like the Japanese sloper is meants for a closer-to-A cup. If you're more than that, you need to calculate what your full bust size would be if you were no more than a B cup (ie for a D cup I'd take off 2"=5cm) and use that to make an initial sloper. Then you can do an FBA to it. By this devious route you can get a sloper that fits you much better in the shoulders, chest, armhole etc.
3/9/11 10:30 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is superb information, fuzzygalore. Thank you for adding it here. Another use for one's personal sloper is to help choose which size to trace from a commercial pattern, particularly if it's a line you haven't worked with before.
3/9/11 10:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-08

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now