SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Era Jacket (Era Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2079 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/04 10:40 PM
Last Updated:7/19/04 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
It truly is a beautiful jacket -- I love the fabric! Great idea, your topstitching with both lime & aqua sulky. Sadly, I have to pass on that jacket. I'm too short & so is my neck! 8^O!
7/19/04 11:21 PM
LindaS. said...
Londa, it's amazing how you managed to come out with a great looking jacket after all you went through. I checked out what it was supposed to look like on the Sewing Workshop website and noticed it was just a drawing, not a real, live model. You just never know what you're going to get because, as you discovered, the drawing gave you a different impression, especially concerning the collar. You really did make lemonade out of a lemon so congratulations on that! And that fabric is gorgeous.
7/20/04 8:32 AM
Annette H said...
Londa, I have just been on the SW site, and looking at the Era drawing, I like yours better - especially the collar. The funnel effect is very chic, IMHO. To compensate for the too-wide side opening, you could wear the jacket over a shift in the same color or same fabric? I do love many of those SW styles - imaginative and fun. Thanks for a thorough review.
7/20/04 8:45 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I had looked at this pattern and skipped over it, but still wondering about it. I think I'll just keep jogging along to something else. Thanks for your honest review.
7/20/04 10:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, there are so many fine details and the fabric is luscious....but somehow, I agree with you, it just didn't come together...Very disappointing after all of your skillful tweaking. And if you can't tweak it, I wonder who could?
7/20/04 11:39 AM
pharmercoon said...
Londa-whew I'm exhausted just thinking about all that adjusting. I think it looks pretty on you. Really like the fabric.
7/20/04 1:24 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for a wonderful review, Londa. I think it looks fine on you. But, now that I read your review, I would think twice about this one on me.
7/20/04 1:44 PM
Ann C said...
Londa, your jacket turned out well. I have this fabric and had considered the Era but have definitely elilminated that option after reading this.
7/21/04 10:06 AM
LadyMurph said...
Thank you for the thorough review. As as beginner I thought I could handle this pattern. Actually it was suggested to me by the Sewing Workshop rep at Sew Expo. I think I'll hold off for a while until my skills are better. There's no way I could turn out something as beautiful as your jacket!
9/29/05 7:58 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
Boy, that's quite a difference between where the shoulder/arm seam appears to be on the Croquis drawing on the pattern envelope, and where it actually shows up on a live body when made up.... I was concerned with the collar shape, thinking that was way to vertical a line below one's face, and your problems with the collar have thoroughly scared me off! Thank you for such a complete review.
5/5/06 1:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7226

photo
by: MNBarb

Review