Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Era Jacket (Era Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2079 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/04 10:40 PM
Last Updated:7/19/04 10:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
It truly is a beautiful jacket -- I love the fabric! Great idea, your topstitching with both lime & aqua sulky. Sadly, I have to pass on that jacket. I'm too short & so is my neck! 8^O!
7/19/04 11:21 PM
LindaS. said...
Londa, it's amazing how you managed to come out with a great looking jacket after all you went through. I checked out what it was supposed to look like on the Sewing Workshop website and noticed it was just a drawing, not a real, live model. You just never know what you're going to get because, as you discovered, the drawing gave you a different impression, especially concerning the collar. You really did make lemonade out of a lemon so congratulations on that! And that fabric is gorgeous.
7/20/04 8:32 AM
Annette H said...
Londa, I have just been on the SW site, and looking at the Era drawing, I like yours better - especially the collar. The funnel effect is very chic, IMHO. To compensate for the too-wide side opening, you could wear the jacket over a shift in the same color or same fabric? I do love many of those SW styles - imaginative and fun. Thanks for a thorough review.
7/20/04 8:45 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I had looked at this pattern and skipped over it, but still wondering about it. I think I'll just keep jogging along to something else. Thanks for your honest review.
7/20/04 10:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, there are so many fine details and the fabric is luscious....but somehow, I agree with you, it just didn't come together...Very disappointing after all of your skillful tweaking. And if you can't tweak it, I wonder who could?
7/20/04 11:39 AM
pharmercoon said...
Londa-whew I'm exhausted just thinking about all that adjusting. I think it looks pretty on you. Really like the fabric.
7/20/04 1:24 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for a wonderful review, Londa. I think it looks fine on you. But, now that I read your review, I would think twice about this one on me.
7/20/04 1:44 PM
Ann C said...
Londa, your jacket turned out well. I have this fabric and had considered the Era but have definitely elilminated that option after reading this.
7/21/04 10:06 AM
LadyMurph said...
Thank you for the thorough review. As as beginner I thought I could handle this pattern. Actually it was suggested to me by the Sewing Workshop rep at Sew Expo. I think I'll hold off for a while until my skills are better. There's no way I could turn out something as beautiful as your jacket!
9/29/05 7:58 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
Boy, that's quite a difference between where the shoulder/arm seam appears to be on the Croquis drawing on the pattern envelope, and where it actually shows up on a live body when made up.... I was concerned with the collar shape, thinking that was way to vertical a line below one's face, and your problems with the collar have thoroughly scared me off! Thank you for such a complete review.
5/5/06 1:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

HotPatterns 1057
photo
Review by emo on 10/30/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5522 Misses shirts
photo
Review by Renee B on 9/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us