Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Era Jacket (Era Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2085 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews: 49 (patterns: 32)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/04 10:40 PM
Last Updated:7/19/04 10:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara Norwood said... (5/5/06 1:42 AM) Reply
Boy, that's quite a difference between where the shoulder/arm seam appears to be on the Croquis drawing on the pattern envelope, and where it actually shows up on a live body when made up.... I was concerned with the collar shape, thinking that was way to vertical a line below one's face, and your problems with the collar have thoroughly scared me off! Thank you for such a complete review.
LadyMurph said... (9/29/05 7:58 PM) Reply
Thank you for the thorough review. As as beginner I thought I could handle this pattern. Actually it was suggested to me by the Sewing Workshop rep at Sew Expo. I think I'll hold off for a while until my skills are better. There's no way I could turn out something as beautiful as your jacket!
Ann C said... (7/21/04 10:06 AM) Reply
Londa, your jacket turned out well. I have this fabric and had considered the Era but have definitely elilminated that option after reading this.
SouthernStitch said... (7/20/04 1:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for a wonderful review, Londa. I think it looks fine on you. But, now that I read your review, I would think twice about this one on me.
pharmercoon said... (7/20/04 1:24 PM) Reply
Londa-whew I'm exhausted just thinking about all that adjusting. I think it looks pretty on you. Really like the fabric.
JDpenelope said... (7/20/04 11:39 AM) Reply
Well, there are so many fine details and the fabric is luscious....but somehow, I agree with you, it just didn't come together...Very disappointing after all of your skillful tweaking. And if you can't tweak it, I wonder who could?
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (7/20/04 10:09 AM) Reply
I had looked at this pattern and skipped over it, but still wondering about it. I think I'll just keep jogging along to something else. Thanks for your honest review.
Annette H said... (7/20/04 8:45 AM) Reply
Londa, I have just been on the SW site, and looking at the Era drawing, I like yours better - especially the collar. The funnel effect is very chic, IMHO. To compensate for the too-wide side opening, you could wear the jacket over a shift in the same color or same fabric? I do love many of those SW styles - imaginative and fun. Thanks for a thorough review.
LindaS. said... (7/20/04 8:32 AM) Reply
Londa, it's amazing how you managed to come out with a great looking jacket after all you went through. I checked out what it was supposed to look like on the Sewing Workshop website and noticed it was just a drawing, not a real, live model. You just never know what you're going to get because, as you discovered, the drawing gave you a different impression, especially concerning the collar. You really did make lemonade out of a lemon so congratulations on that! And that fabric is gorgeous.
PVA said... (7/19/04 11:21 PM) Reply
It truly is a beautiful jacket -- I love the fabric! Great idea, your topstitching with both lime & aqua sulky. Sadly, I have to pass on that jacket. I'm too short & so is my neck! 8^O!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Pattern Details