SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8620 (JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 725 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/11 0:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
It's a knockout! Great with the jewelry and black slacks. You find the best fabrics - this Mona Lisa print is an inspired choice for this jacket. As always, thanks for the great review.
3/5/11 0:41 AM
Terri A said...
Ohhhh I like it - that fabric! WOW!!!
3/5/11 1:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very snazzy and distinctive garment. It looks just great with those pants and that jewellery. The fabric is not an obvious choice for such a pattern but it's worked really well.
3/5/11 2:15 AM
sewinfrance said...
Another wonderful garment in spite of the the naughty sewing fairies causing cutting problems! (What a beautiful necklace!)
3/5/11 4:41 AM
MNBarb said...
This is a jacket that looks as good from the back as from the front. How fun to walk around the Mona Lisa on your lapel (I think that's her peeking out). Thanks for including the zipper info, it was helpful to me. Another great garment!!
3/5/11 7:42 AM
pegsewer said...
Great jacket! I think you need a trip to Paris to show it off---
3/5/11 8:20 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - love the fabric - looks wonderful on you
3/5/11 8:54 AM
hmacski said...
love your version of this jacket. It looks much better than the version on the pattern envelope. Helen
3/5/11 8:55 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful work, as always, and the result is a great jacket. Thanks for the review. I love MT designs but they do seem to run so large. It's always a bit of challenge to determine the right size. I love the pockets and the back of yours. And, of course, your choice of fabric for this jacket is divine!
3/5/11 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket with unique artful fabric looks terrific on you and equally gorgeous in person! I like how you cleverly resolved the extra width in the back curved hem with a series of tucks.
3/5/11 10:00 AM
taylormade said...
Fabulous jacket on you! I'm so glad you made this up; I love the curved back and the zippered front; just right for a cool looking casual jacket. I don't usually make M. Tilton's patterns because they are not flattering through the chest and shoulders on me. They always seem a little too boxy, which I don't like. This pattern looks like it has potential. Your fabric choice is, as always, perfect! Loved looking at this. Do you find places to wear all your beautiful outfits??? Mary T
3/5/11 11:52 AM
magoe6217 said...
Great jacket, Ann. Love your Mona Lisa fabric. I have this pattern. Will have to get it out and find some interesting fabric for it. Thanks for the review.
3/5/11 3:34 PM
DorothyK said...
eThis pattern is a knockout in most fabrics, but yours especially. One would think you piecd it by design, rather than necessity. It's a real success.
3/5/11 6:38 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow, this looks great!! I just love love that funky fabric. I have stayed away from this pattern because the FBA would be such a pain for me, but I've loved it since Dorothy made it.
3/5/11 7:50 PM
beginagain said...
Great jacket! I've looked at this pattern several times and passed but next time Vogue goes on sale it's mine. I love how you recovered from the cutting problems.
3/5/11 9:48 PM
lesliez said...
Your jacket is fabulous!
3/6/11 0:16 AM
Christas said...
What a fun jacket! Love the Mona Lisa print fabric. Your jacket looks wonderful on you. Great review!
3/6/11 0:53 AM
JDpenelope said...
Been there, done that -- as far as throwing/dropping important pattern pieces in the trash! But you saved the day, anyway. Thanks for the photos, too. Jacket is a keeper.
3/6/11 7:49 AM
Diane333 said...
Ohhh, very very eye-catching. Love it.
3/6/11 9:20 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love everything about this jacket. It looks great on you. Good job!
3/6/11 11:13 AM
janet said...
Fantastic jacket! Looks great on you. One of my FAVORITE things you have created.
3/6/11 12:59 PM
Michele W said...
The fabric is WONDERFUL, and I love the jacket. You did a better job on selling me the pattern than the envelope picture!
3/6/11 9:03 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Such a nice looking jacket and very well made! Nice work!
3/7/11 1:25 PM
waltzqueen said...
Tres chic!
3/17/11 4:02 PM
KK404 said...
Love it! We seem to have the same taste as I'm always finding myself reading your reviews and gaining so much useful info - thanks!
8/23/11 10:26 AM
marec said...
Ann, this is so lovely on you, especially paired with black pants and jewelry. I am planning some winter projects and this jacket is sure to be one of them, after looking at your work. So pretty!!
10/28/11 8:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

In-House 3007

photo
by: pinkcatflo...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now