SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8620 (JACKET)

12 more reviews
Viewed 738 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/11 0:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Ann, this is so lovely on you, especially paired with black pants and jewelry. I am planning some winter projects and this jacket is sure to be one of them, after looking at your work. So pretty!!
10/28/11 8:47 PM
KK404 said...
Love it! We seem to have the same taste as I'm always finding myself reading your reviews and gaining so much useful info - thanks!
8/23/11 10:26 AM
waltzqueen said...
Tres chic!
3/17/11 4:02 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Such a nice looking jacket and very well made! Nice work!
3/7/11 1:25 PM
Michele W said...
The fabric is WONDERFUL, and I love the jacket. You did a better job on selling me the pattern than the envelope picture!
3/6/11 9:03 PM
janet said...
Fantastic jacket! Looks great on you. One of my FAVORITE things you have created.
3/6/11 12:59 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love everything about this jacket. It looks great on you. Good job!
3/6/11 11:13 AM
Diane333 said...
Ohhh, very very eye-catching. Love it.
3/6/11 9:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Been there, done that -- as far as throwing/dropping important pattern pieces in the trash! But you saved the day, anyway. Thanks for the photos, too. Jacket is a keeper.
3/6/11 7:49 AM
Christas said...
What a fun jacket! Love the Mona Lisa print fabric. Your jacket looks wonderful on you. Great review!
3/6/11 0:53 AM
lesliez said...
Your jacket is fabulous!
3/6/11 0:16 AM
beginagain said...
Great jacket! I've looked at this pattern several times and passed but next time Vogue goes on sale it's mine. I love how you recovered from the cutting problems.
3/5/11 9:48 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow, this looks great!! I just love love that funky fabric. I have stayed away from this pattern because the FBA would be such a pain for me, but I've loved it since Dorothy made it.
3/5/11 7:50 PM
DorothyK said...
eThis pattern is a knockout in most fabrics, but yours especially. One would think you piecd it by design, rather than necessity. It's a real success.
3/5/11 6:38 PM
magoe6217 said...
Great jacket, Ann. Love your Mona Lisa fabric. I have this pattern. Will have to get it out and find some interesting fabric for it. Thanks for the review.
3/5/11 3:34 PM
taylormade said...
Fabulous jacket on you! I'm so glad you made this up; I love the curved back and the zippered front; just right for a cool looking casual jacket. I don't usually make M. Tilton's patterns because they are not flattering through the chest and shoulders on me. They always seem a little too boxy, which I don't like. This pattern looks like it has potential. Your fabric choice is, as always, perfect! Loved looking at this. Do you find places to wear all your beautiful outfits??? Mary T
3/5/11 11:52 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket with unique artful fabric looks terrific on you and equally gorgeous in person! I like how you cleverly resolved the extra width in the back curved hem with a series of tucks.
3/5/11 10:00 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful work, as always, and the result is a great jacket. Thanks for the review. I love MT designs but they do seem to run so large. It's always a bit of challenge to determine the right size. I love the pockets and the back of yours. And, of course, your choice of fabric for this jacket is divine!
3/5/11 8:57 AM
hmacski said...
love your version of this jacket. It looks much better than the version on the pattern envelope. Helen
3/5/11 8:55 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - love the fabric - looks wonderful on you
3/5/11 8:54 AM
pegsewer said...
Great jacket! I think you need a trip to Paris to show it off---
3/5/11 8:20 AM
MNBarb said...
This is a jacket that looks as good from the back as from the front. How fun to walk around the Mona Lisa on your lapel (I think that's her peeking out). Thanks for including the zipper info, it was helpful to me. Another great garment!!
3/5/11 7:42 AM
sewinfrance said...
Another wonderful garment in spite of the the naughty sewing fairies causing cutting problems! (What a beautiful necklace!)
3/5/11 4:41 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very snazzy and distinctive garment. It looks just great with those pants and that jewellery. The fabric is not an obvious choice for such a pattern but it's worked really well.
3/5/11 2:15 AM
Terri A said...
Ohhhh I like it - that fabric! WOW!!!
3/5/11 1:30 AM
Aixoise said...
It's a knockout! Great with the jewelry and black slacks. You find the best fabrics - this Mona Lisa print is an inspired choice for this jacket. As always, thanks for the great review.
3/5/11 0:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Burda 7634

photo
by: lbrundage

Review