Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8620 (JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 717 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/11 0:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
It's a knockout! Great with the jewelry and black slacks. You find the best fabrics - this Mona Lisa print is an inspired choice for this jacket. As always, thanks for the great review.
3/5/11 0:41 AM
Terri A said...
Ohhhh I like it - that fabric! WOW!!!
3/5/11 1:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very snazzy and distinctive garment. It looks just great with those pants and that jewellery. The fabric is not an obvious choice for such a pattern but it's worked really well.
3/5/11 2:15 AM
sewinfrance said...
Another wonderful garment in spite of the the naughty sewing fairies causing cutting problems! (What a beautiful necklace!)
3/5/11 4:41 AM
MNBarb said...
This is a jacket that looks as good from the back as from the front. How fun to walk around the Mona Lisa on your lapel (I think that's her peeking out). Thanks for including the zipper info, it was helpful to me. Another great garment!!
3/5/11 7:42 AM
pegsewer said...
Great jacket! I think you need a trip to Paris to show it off---
3/5/11 8:20 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - love the fabric - looks wonderful on you
3/5/11 8:54 AM
hmacski said...
love your version of this jacket. It looks much better than the version on the pattern envelope. Helen
3/5/11 8:55 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful work, as always, and the result is a great jacket. Thanks for the review. I love MT designs but they do seem to run so large. It's always a bit of challenge to determine the right size. I love the pockets and the back of yours. And, of course, your choice of fabric for this jacket is divine!
3/5/11 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
marjenann said...
That jacket is Neiman Marcus worthy!! What a spectactular garment. Your workmanship is the ultimate!
3/5/11 9:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket with unique artful fabric looks terrific on you and equally gorgeous in person! I like how you cleverly resolved the extra width in the back curved hem with a series of tucks.
3/5/11 10:00 AM
taylormade said...
Fabulous jacket on you! I'm so glad you made this up; I love the curved back and the zippered front; just right for a cool looking casual jacket. I don't usually make M. Tilton's patterns because they are not flattering through the chest and shoulders on me. They always seem a little too boxy, which I don't like. This pattern looks like it has potential. Your fabric choice is, as always, perfect! Loved looking at this. Do you find places to wear all your beautiful outfits??? Mary T
3/5/11 11:52 AM
magoe6217 said...
Great jacket, Ann. Love your Mona Lisa fabric. I have this pattern. Will have to get it out and find some interesting fabric for it. Thanks for the review.
3/5/11 3:34 PM
DorothyK said...
eThis pattern is a knockout in most fabrics, but yours especially. One would think you piecd it by design, rather than necessity. It's a real success.
3/5/11 6:38 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow, this looks great!! I just love love that funky fabric. I have stayed away from this pattern because the FBA would be such a pain for me, but I've loved it since Dorothy made it.
3/5/11 7:50 PM
beginagain said...
Great jacket! I've looked at this pattern several times and passed but next time Vogue goes on sale it's mine. I love how you recovered from the cutting problems.
3/5/11 9:48 PM
lesliez said...
Your jacket is fabulous!
3/6/11 0:16 AM
Christas said...
What a fun jacket! Love the Mona Lisa print fabric. Your jacket looks wonderful on you. Great review!
3/6/11 0:53 AM
JDpenelope said...
Been there, done that -- as far as throwing/dropping important pattern pieces in the trash! But you saved the day, anyway. Thanks for the photos, too. Jacket is a keeper.
3/6/11 7:49 AM
Diane333 said...
Ohhh, very very eye-catching. Love it.
3/6/11 9:20 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love everything about this jacket. It looks great on you. Good job!
3/6/11 11:13 AM
janet said...
Fantastic jacket! Looks great on you. One of my FAVORITE things you have created.
3/6/11 12:59 PM
Michele W said...
The fabric is WONDERFUL, and I love the jacket. You did a better job on selling me the pattern than the envelope picture!
3/6/11 9:03 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Such a nice looking jacket and very well made! Nice work!
3/7/11 1:25 PM
waltzqueen said...
Tres chic!
3/17/11 4:02 PM
KK404 said...
Love it! We seem to have the same taste as I'm always finding myself reading your reviews and gaining so much useful info - thanks!
8/23/11 10:26 AM
marec said...
Ann, this is so lovely on you, especially paired with black pants and jewelry. I am planning some winter projects and this jacket is sure to be one of them, after looking at your work. So pretty!!
10/28/11 8:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Bapower57 on 9/6/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2734
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 10/26/10
Read Review

Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us