SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2429 (Vogue)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2338 times 
Reviewed by:carolineG
photo

 
 
About carolineGstar
CA
Member since: 6/4/04
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/04 12:45 PM
Last Updated:5/29/06 5:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kasoi said...
I tried this once, but agree with the comments you made about lining and the waist. I am ready to try again!
3/2/07 12:58 PM
lmg said...
Cute, cute cute. Very flattering as well. Thanks for all the tips on detailing the skirt.
5/29/06 11:32 PM
PhyllisC said...
yYs - it is indeed very Prada! Wonderful dress.
5/29/06 9:01 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love your dress!!
5/29/06 6:29 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is marvelous!! I love the new fabric.
5/29/06 5:28 PM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress! Great fabric!Perfect styling for you!
7/21/04 6:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
My, such a beautiful dress on you! I'm impressed at your expert modifications to perfect the drape and fit! (Regarding scratchy petticoats--we used to starch ours and lay them in a circle to dry--they stuck out excessively. Sometimes more isn't better.)
7/21/04 5:04 AM
Lori V said...
very cute dress
7/20/04 10:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! Great review, gorgeous you in an equally gorgeous dress.
7/20/04 8:11 PM
SewTabby said...
Really stunning dress! Excellent job!
7/20/04 6:56 PM
galadriel45 said...
That is so cute on you - what a great job you did. Thanks for sharing.
7/20/04 6:52 PM
jlg said...
Your dress is so beautiful. You have a great figure, and the dress shows it off perfectly.
7/20/04 6:17 PM
PVA said...
Wow, what a beautiful result! Even the photo looks very professional! Honestly, you could be a Vogue model! Thanks for the review and the construction details.
7/20/04 5:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lovely creation, and you have the perfect figure for it too. I think the lining really adds to the retro look. You really should be wearing scratchy, starched petticoats under it though, to be totally retro!
7/20/04 5:07 PM
carolineG said...
Size wise I normally make a 10 - the bodice on this on runs super tight though, so I made a 12. I would reccomend making a muslin of the bodice first - which I did in 10 originally. It's possible that I just grew from my last bout of sewing a few years ago!!!! Thanks for all the compliments everyone - I feel really inspired to keep sewing...
7/20/04 3:36 PM
PattyU said...
Beautiful dress. So when you say you needed a larger size, did you mean a larger size than you expected because you buy a smaller size due to ease? Or did you actually need to make a larger size than you measure?
7/20/04 3:19 PM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks great on you. Thanks for the tips on the lining.
7/20/04 2:37 PM
Patti B said...
Wonderful dress!
7/20/04 2:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute! I love the fabric. -Ann
7/20/04 2:02 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh you look so good in this. Perfect fit on a very nice figure.
7/20/04 1:56 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. Wonderful pattern with so many options. Thanks for the tips on it's construction.
7/20/04 1:14 PM
pharmercoon said...
Gorgeous sundress. I'm going to have to get this pattern. Thanks for the info about the interlining. Do you use a particular seller on Ebay for the cool retro fabric?
7/20/04 1:11 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
The additional fullness of the skirt really makes this dress! Thanks for detailing that improvement you made.
7/20/04 1:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6697

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8363

photo
by: spankachut...

Review