Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2429 (Vogue) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2338 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:carolineG
photo
About carolineGstar
CA
Member since: 6/4/04
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/04 12:45 PM
Last Updated:5/29/06 5:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
The additional fullness of the skirt really makes this dress! Thanks for detailing that improvement you made.
7/20/04 1:08 PM
pharmercoon said...
Gorgeous sundress. I'm going to have to get this pattern. Thanks for the info about the interlining. Do you use a particular seller on Ebay for the cool retro fabric?
7/20/04 1:11 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. Wonderful pattern with so many options. Thanks for the tips on it's construction.
7/20/04 1:14 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh you look so good in this. Perfect fit on a very nice figure.
7/20/04 1:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute! I love the fabric. -Ann
7/20/04 2:02 PM
Patti B said...
Wonderful dress!
7/20/04 2:26 PM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks great on you. Thanks for the tips on the lining.
7/20/04 2:37 PM
PattyU said...
Beautiful dress. So when you say you needed a larger size, did you mean a larger size than you expected because you buy a smaller size due to ease? Or did you actually need to make a larger size than you measure?
7/20/04 3:19 PM
carolineG said...
Size wise I normally make a 10 - the bodice on this on runs super tight though, so I made a 12. I would reccomend making a muslin of the bodice first - which I did in 10 originally. It's possible that I just grew from my last bout of sewing a few years ago!!!! Thanks for all the compliments everyone - I feel really inspired to keep sewing...
7/20/04 3:36 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lovely creation, and you have the perfect figure for it too. I think the lining really adds to the retro look. You really should be wearing scratchy, starched petticoats under it though, to be totally retro!
7/20/04 5:07 PM
PVA said...
Wow, what a beautiful result! Even the photo looks very professional! Honestly, you could be a Vogue model! Thanks for the review and the construction details.
7/20/04 5:09 PM
jlg said...
Your dress is so beautiful. You have a great figure, and the dress shows it off perfectly.
7/20/04 6:17 PM
galadriel45 said...
That is so cute on you - what a great job you did. Thanks for sharing.
7/20/04 6:52 PM
SewTabby said...
Really stunning dress! Excellent job!
7/20/04 6:56 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! Great review, gorgeous you in an equally gorgeous dress.
7/20/04 8:11 PM
Lori V said...
very cute dress
7/20/04 10:55 PM
JDpenelope said...
My, such a beautiful dress on you! I'm impressed at your expert modifications to perfect the drape and fit! (Regarding scratchy petticoats--we used to starch ours and lay them in a circle to dry--they stuck out excessively. Sometimes more isn't better.)
7/21/04 5:04 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress! Great fabric!Perfect styling for you!
7/21/04 6:27 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is marvelous!! I love the new fabric.
5/29/06 5:28 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love your dress!!
5/29/06 6:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
yYs - it is indeed very Prada! Wonderful dress.
5/29/06 9:01 PM
lmg said...
Cute, cute cute. Very flattering as well. Thanks for all the tips on detailing the skirt.
5/29/06 11:32 PM
kasoi said...
I tried this once, but agree with the comments you made about lining and the waist. I am ready to try again!
3/2/07 12:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-101
photo
Review by Christina ... on 4/11/08
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3754
photo
Review by RobinE on 8/23/11
Read Review

McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern
Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us