SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2232 (Geoffrey Beene)

2 more reviews
Viewed 489 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/11 9:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maggie said...
I love the closure you used. The sweater knit is a great idea. I bought mattelasse at the same time I bought the pattern, but the sweater knit is more suitable. Great marriage of pattern to fabric.
3/30/12 7:54 AM
JETrinity said...
Lovely unique jacket in a basic color. I am sure you will be a lot of use of this. If not, send it to JETrinity-I'll pay the shipping and cost.
3/8/11 12:52 PM
Catbird said...
I've had this pattern forever and was inspired by the Threads article as you were, although nothing has come of it from my sewing room YET.... It's nice to see it made up and I really like the beautiful simplicity of your fabric and binding choices. Nice job! I hope you wear it often.
3/8/11 8:15 AM
Barbara V said...
It turned out beautifully in the knit. I have this pattern and hope to sew it one day too. Thanks for your review!
3/7/11 3:49 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice work! Looks great on!
3/7/11 1:05 PM
DorothyK said...
Gorgeous jacket. I like the idea of the sweater knit. It makes the jacket doubly warm and cozy. Good job.
3/7/11 12:32 PM
magoe6217 said...
Great looking jacket, Martha. I have had this pattern for a long time. You have inspired me to pull it out of the stash and give it a try. Just hope mine turns out even half as nice as yours. Thanks for the review and inspiration.
3/7/11 9:10 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely and actually very current style right now. I can't recall if I have this one or just remember it so well from Threads...huh.
3/7/11 8:45 AM
lesliez said...
Gorgeous jacket! I would have never thought to use a sweater knit for this one, but it works beautifully. I like yours better than the one on the pattern envelope.
3/7/11 2:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish and distinctive yet comfortable-looking garment.
3/7/11 1:43 AM
JanJanB said...
Gorgeous, looks lovely on you.
3/7/11 0:09 AM
sewmaris said...
Very flattering-great job! Maris http://sewmaris.com
3/7/11 0:00 AM
sfshaza said...
A lovely jacket, Martha! I tracked down this OOP pattern a year or so ago and it comes very dear on ebay. At the time I had a specific fabric in mind for it, but when I realized that it requires a very wide fabric my plans went out the window. I'll get around to it one day and I'll be glad to reference your review when I do! :)
3/6/11 10:28 PM
carolynw said...
Thisis beautiful - am praying I have not thrown out my pattern - never used it but I so want to now that I have your review!! Love that silk binding
3/6/11 10:23 PM
Patti B said...
I'm so glad that you kept the pattern and that it worked its way into the sewing queue. Lovely. Your use of silk binding is inspired.
3/6/11 10:15 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket. I like the silk binding a lot. Nice touch.
3/6/11 10:06 PM
Athene said...
So very chic with the silk binding. A lovely jacket.
3/6/11 9:38 PM
Christas said...
What a very stylish jacket/cardigan with very nice details! It looks wonderful on you. The sweater knit and the silk binding look perfect together. I also really love the back seaming detail too.
3/6/11 9:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info
Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: ValerieJ

Review