Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2232 (Geoffrey Beene) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 444 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/11 9:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
What a very stylish jacket/cardigan with very nice details! It looks wonderful on you. The sweater knit and the silk binding look perfect together. I also really love the back seaming detail too.
3/6/11 9:22 PM
Athene said...
So very chic with the silk binding. A lovely jacket.
3/6/11 9:38 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket. I like the silk binding a lot. Nice touch.
3/6/11 10:06 PM
Patti B said...
I'm so glad that you kept the pattern and that it worked its way into the sewing queue. Lovely. Your use of silk binding is inspired.
3/6/11 10:15 PM
carolynw said...
Thisis beautiful - am praying I have not thrown out my pattern - never used it but I so want to now that I have your review!! Love that silk binding
3/6/11 10:23 PM
sfshaza said...
A lovely jacket, Martha! I tracked down this OOP pattern a year or so ago and it comes very dear on ebay. At the time I had a specific fabric in mind for it, but when I realized that it requires a very wide fabric my plans went out the window. I'll get around to it one day and I'll be glad to reference your review when I do! :)
3/6/11 10:28 PM
sewmaris said...
Very flattering-great job! Maris http://sewmaris.com
3/7/11 0:00 AM
JanJanB said...
Gorgeous, looks lovely on you.
3/7/11 0:09 AM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish and distinctive yet comfortable-looking garment.
3/7/11 1:43 AM
lesliez said...
Gorgeous jacket! I would have never thought to use a sweater knit for this one, but it works beautifully. I like yours better than the one on the pattern envelope.
3/7/11 2:01 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely and actually very current style right now. I can't recall if I have this one or just remember it so well from Threads...huh.
3/7/11 8:45 AM
magoe6217 said...
Great looking jacket, Martha. I have had this pattern for a long time. You have inspired me to pull it out of the stash and give it a try. Just hope mine turns out even half as nice as yours. Thanks for the review and inspiration.
3/7/11 9:10 AM
DorothyK said...
Gorgeous jacket. I like the idea of the sweater knit. It makes the jacket doubly warm and cozy. Good job.
3/7/11 12:32 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nice work! Looks great on!
3/7/11 1:05 PM
Barbara V said...
It turned out beautifully in the knit. I have this pattern and hope to sew it one day too. Thanks for your review!
3/7/11 3:49 PM
Catbird said...
I've had this pattern forever and was inspired by the Threads article as you were, although nothing has come of it from my sewing room YET.... It's nice to see it made up and I really like the beautiful simplicity of your fabric and binding choices. Nice job! I hope you wear it often.
3/8/11 8:15 AM
JETrinity said...
Lovely unique jacket in a basic color. I am sure you will be a lot of use of this. If not, send it to JETrinity-I'll pay the shipping and cost.
3/8/11 12:52 PM
maggie said...
I love the closure you used. The sweater knit is a great idea. I bought mattelasse at the same time I bought the pattern, but the sweater knit is more suitable. Great marriage of pattern to fabric.
3/30/12 7:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8750 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 10/3/11
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2794 Sweetheart Top
photo
Review by kathigarn on 9/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6970 Pattern
Burda 6970 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.92
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us