Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5145 (Misses Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest    printable version
Viewed 622 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:otterine
photo
About otterinestar
IL USA
Member since: 12/3/07
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/11 5:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kat B. said...
Just beautiful! I agree about setting sleeves by hand. That seems to be a problem that I have run into with a few Butterick patterns. I always just set them by machine.
4/30/11 5:44 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really beautiful coat.
4/30/11 6:17 PM
Knitters Delight said...
What a classic, timeless coat. It looks great in the red and black, too.
4/30/11 7:18 PM
Camerio said...
A real beauty. Congratulations.
4/30/11 7:26 PM
Nancywin said...
Very nice. The red wool in my fabric cabinet is very jealous because it has been waiting for years to be made into a coat. I enjoyed looking through your photo stream.
4/30/11 8:26 PM
Nan Kay said...
you did a wonderful job with making this coat. The details of the coat and your striped lining are beautiful. I have always loved red coats!
4/30/11 9:51 PM
Aroura said...
Absolutely beautiful! You look very striking in this fabulous coat.
4/30/11 10:17 PM
Terri A said...
Very classic!
4/30/11 11:48 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely beautiful coat. I am green with envy.
5/1/11 2:18 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning coat! I love this red.
5/1/11 2:26 AM
pdiddly said...
Fantastic job and a timeless coat you should be very pleased with this.
5/1/11 3:11 AM
manola6176 said...
What a great coat. Very ladylike.
5/1/11 4:55 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Love your elegant red coat and particularly that it has contrast collar and buttons. So smart!
5/1/11 8:23 AM
carolynw said...
Elegant and beautiful - you did great work on this and it shows!!
5/1/11 9:33 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful coat! I love the color, the pleat, the contrast collar and buttons--lovely!
5/1/11 10:40 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
I really like what you did with the lining. A lot of work, but you will be so proud of yourself every time you wear it, as you should be. You did a lovely job on a timeless piece that should give you years of joy.
5/2/11 10:50 AM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely
5/2/11 5:43 PM
Erin D said...
It's really elegant. I'm sure you will get so much use out of it.
5/2/11 11:40 PM
Rosesred said...
beautifully finished coat. very foxy endresult
5/4/11 7:56 AM
otterine said...
Thank you all so much for your encouragement! :D
5/5/11 0:59 AM
KathleenS said...
Your effort with the stripes paid off. I love the lining.
5/5/11 8:10 AM
VintageBerry said...
Very beautiful and so Princess Kate! You did a wonderful job all around. Thank You for sharing.
5/5/11 3:03 PM
JillyBe said...
Classically stunning! What a great job matching up all of the lining stripes. Such a great job :)
5/5/11 3:36 PM
helenkosings said...
You did a tremendous job on this and the lining is OUTSTANDING!
5/5/11 4:42 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is fabulous -- a gorgeous classic coat.
5/5/11 9:33 PM
RachelV said...
What a beautiful coat! I love red, and the black contrast collar and snaps look great. Nice job!
5/5/11 10:07 PM
sfgb said...
Not only is the coat extremely beautiful and well-fitting, but the matched chevron stripes at the lining seams are a work of art. Congratulations!
5/10/11 8:39 PM
4u2cme said...
Truly a beautiful coat inside & outside.
5/12/11 11:23 AM
AnneM said...
What a gorgeous coat. Very classic and it looks great.
5/13/11 9:03 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely work on this coat, congratulations!
5/14/11 4:40 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely beautiful. Such beautiful sewing. Looks like it came from a top designer. Well done
5/15/11 9:54 AM
MollyApple said...
Handsetting sleeves is a couture thing, like you I usually ignore that and use the machine! You put so much work into this coat but it looks incredible, inside and out!
9/15/11 10:04 PM
otterine said...
Thank you, everyone! :D Cooler weather is finally here, and I get to wear the coat!
10/27/11 5:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by DeniseAnge... on 9/28/12
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by Mahler on 5/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6879 Pattern
New Look 6879 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us