Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8709 (misses jacket) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1277 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:pegsewer
photo
About pegsewerstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/11 7:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
Before reading your review I had just washed some fabric in preparation for making this shirt. Your review has really encouraged me. I also love Marcy Tilton patterns. How did the sizing of this one go? Some of her patterns have turned out a bit big. Your shirt looks great. Keep up the production line of interesting garments.
3/7/11 8:20 PM
pterion said...
I love your jacket and agree that it looks better than the pattern picture. I really like that you show how to accessorize your review garments and show your whole outfit. You look great!
3/7/11 8:55 PM
SewWil said...
Great jacket. I love the color.
3/7/11 9:04 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great looking outfit on you! And you are SO right - I wouldn't give this pattern a second look, but now I'm thinking it's a winner in the right fabric (the pattern cover is SO the wrong fabric, isn't it?) Thank you for this review! I'm curious too about the sizing - did you alter the pattern for fit at all? And what fabric did you use?
3/7/11 9:05 PM
becca a said...
What a great jacket. I love your garments. Your version looks so much better than the pattern cover.
3/7/11 9:26 PM
pegsewer said...
Thanks for the nice comments! The only change I made to my regular size 18 was to add 2" to the bodice length (above the peplum). I always do this as I am 5'10" . It is made of 100% linen (wrinkle city but still love it!)
3/7/11 10:15 PM
sfshaza said...
Peggy, you are so right. This top is SO flattering and I did not expect that from looking at the pattern. Thanks for analyzing why it's such a great design. Of course I have the pattern, and now I really want to make it for spring. Thanks! (That color is especially pretty.)
3/7/11 10:41 PM
Peggy L said...
I bought this at a BMV sale when it first came out. Love your rendition and the way you have it "styled".
3/8/11 6:46 AM
Karine said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this shirt/jacket. I'm pleasantly surprised to see how nicely it drapes. Love the color you chose. Accessories are great, too!
3/8/11 8:20 AM
nicegirl said...
Love this outfit! It is cool and interesting but not crazy, just flattering.
3/8/11 11:34 AM
DorothyK said...
I agree that the pattern picture doesn't do this top justice. Thanks to your great review, I think many of us will be trying it. The jacket looks great on you. Thanks for your analysis.
3/8/11 12:58 PM
Christas said...
Your pics just make me smile! You look so happy in your clothes. You have a lovely sense of style that looks so nice on you. This is a wonderful outfit! Very nice sewing! :-)
3/8/11 5:33 PM
grey ann said...
I think yours looks better than her version,too.
3/8/11 6:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
So glad you reviewed this and so favorably. I have been working up to it. I love it on you.
3/8/11 11:01 PM
lesliez said...
Your top looks great, especially with your colorful necklace. This is my kind of top. I'm moving it up to the head of the queue.
3/10/11 5:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4412 Jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by CissieW on 5/24/12
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us