SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8709 (misses jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1303 times 
Reviewed by:pegsewer
photo

 
 
About pegsewerstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/11 7:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
Before reading your review I had just washed some fabric in preparation for making this shirt. Your review has really encouraged me. I also love Marcy Tilton patterns. How did the sizing of this one go? Some of her patterns have turned out a bit big. Your shirt looks great. Keep up the production line of interesting garments.
3/7/11 8:20 PM
pterion said...
I love your jacket and agree that it looks better than the pattern picture. I really like that you show how to accessorize your review garments and show your whole outfit. You look great!
3/7/11 8:55 PM
SewWil said...
Great jacket. I love the color.
3/7/11 9:04 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great looking outfit on you! And you are SO right - I wouldn't give this pattern a second look, but now I'm thinking it's a winner in the right fabric (the pattern cover is SO the wrong fabric, isn't it?) Thank you for this review! I'm curious too about the sizing - did you alter the pattern for fit at all? And what fabric did you use?
3/7/11 9:05 PM
becca a said...
What a great jacket. I love your garments. Your version looks so much better than the pattern cover.
3/7/11 9:26 PM
pegsewer said...
Thanks for the nice comments! The only change I made to my regular size 18 was to add 2" to the bodice length (above the peplum). I always do this as I am 5'10" . It is made of 100% linen (wrinkle city but still love it!)
3/7/11 10:15 PM
sfshaza said...
Peggy, you are so right. This top is SO flattering and I did not expect that from looking at the pattern. Thanks for analyzing why it's such a great design. Of course I have the pattern, and now I really want to make it for spring. Thanks! (That color is especially pretty.)
3/7/11 10:41 PM
Peggy L said...
I bought this at a BMV sale when it first came out. Love your rendition and the way you have it "styled".
3/8/11 6:46 AM
Karine said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this shirt/jacket. I'm pleasantly surprised to see how nicely it drapes. Love the color you chose. Accessories are great, too!
3/8/11 8:20 AM
nicegirl said...
Love this outfit! It is cool and interesting but not crazy, just flattering.
3/8/11 11:34 AM
DorothyK said...
I agree that the pattern picture doesn't do this top justice. Thanks to your great review, I think many of us will be trying it. The jacket looks great on you. Thanks for your analysis.
3/8/11 12:58 PM
Christas said...
Your pics just make me smile! You look so happy in your clothes. You have a lovely sense of style that looks so nice on you. This is a wonderful outfit! Very nice sewing! :-)
3/8/11 5:33 PM
grey ann said...
I think yours looks better than her version,too.
3/8/11 6:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
So glad you reviewed this and so favorably. I have been working up to it. I love it on you.
3/8/11 11:01 PM
lesliez said...
Your top looks great, especially with your colorful necklace. This is my kind of top. I'm moving it up to the head of the queue.
3/10/11 5:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Happy Homemade Vol 1

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-140

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now