Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5333 (Straight Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 396 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/11 10:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Nice skirt but I see what you mean in the front. Did you ever consider using a 10 for the front and 12 for the back? You're on the right track with thoughts of either no darts or shorter ones in the front, but you might want to try muslining the 2 size variation. BTW I enjoy your reviews ~ there's often something that appeals to my 30-something DD.
3/8/11 11:13 AM
Mufffet said...
It looks great on you. :) Your waistband shows the care you took. The skirt fits you so well. I especially like the back on you. No pouching in under the posterior, nice smooth line, excellent zipper application.
3/8/11 2:09 PM
janet said...
I am also looking for the "perfect" straight skirt pattern--I have a shape similar to yours--only larger! My only suggestion would be to "peg" the bottom--it does wonders for the proportion.
3/8/11 2:19 PM
cleverkitty said...
From the pictures it looks great and the fit looks perfect. Anything at my natural waist looks puffy it could be the style and not you.
3/8/11 3:09 PM
SewWil said...
Great review! I think your skirt looks great in the pictures. Nice job on fixing your waistband and doing your lapped zipper. Reading this caused me to stand up and take a look at the skirt I am wearing today (Butterick 5466). It could be a little flatter in the front...
3/8/11 3:54 PM
drsue said...
It's actually pretty cute I think. To get rid of that front problem you can fold out some of the darting. this will flatten out the front.
3/8/11 8:50 PM
Terri A said...
Cute skirt! You definitely have a tiny waist... front and back:)
3/9/11 1:13 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks really good on you, front and back. Maybe you will become fonder of it when you've worn it some more.
3/9/11 3:23 AM
Diane333 said...
I love to see your creations and your skirt is well constructed and I like how you estimate time to sew.
3/9/11 9:19 PM
MichelleE said...
I think it looks very pretty on you! Great job!
3/11/11 11:32 AM
JETrinity said...
This will grow on your. Maybe you could add another piece from the pattern to help the skirt. I love how you get 3 views in one photo.
3/13/11 2:00 PM
livvida said...
I'm also in search of the perfect straight skirt pattern. Any luck finding one? Would love a recommendation!
7/11/11 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by jmwaddoups on 12/20/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1205 Cordova Jacket
photo
Review by carrie1858... on 8/27/13
Read Review

Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us