SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5333 (Straight Skirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/11 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Nice skirt but I see what you mean in the front. Did you ever consider using a 10 for the front and 12 for the back? You're on the right track with thoughts of either no darts or shorter ones in the front, but you might want to try muslining the 2 size variation. BTW I enjoy your reviews ~ there's often something that appeals to my 30-something DD.
3/8/11 11:13 AM
Mufffet said...
It looks great on you. :) Your waistband shows the care you took. The skirt fits you so well. I especially like the back on you. No pouching in under the posterior, nice smooth line, excellent zipper application.
3/8/11 2:09 PM
janet said...
I am also looking for the "perfect" straight skirt pattern--I have a shape similar to yours--only larger! My only suggestion would be to "peg" the bottom--it does wonders for the proportion.
3/8/11 2:19 PM
cleverkitty said...
From the pictures it looks great and the fit looks perfect. Anything at my natural waist looks puffy it could be the style and not you.
3/8/11 3:09 PM
SewWil said...
Great review! I think your skirt looks great in the pictures. Nice job on fixing your waistband and doing your lapped zipper. Reading this caused me to stand up and take a look at the skirt I am wearing today (Butterick 5466). It could be a little flatter in the front...
3/8/11 3:54 PM
drsue said...
It's actually pretty cute I think. To get rid of that front problem you can fold out some of the darting. this will flatten out the front.
3/8/11 8:50 PM
Terri A said...
Cute skirt! You definitely have a tiny waist... front and back:)
3/9/11 1:13 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks really good on you, front and back. Maybe you will become fonder of it when you've worn it some more.
3/9/11 3:23 AM
Diane333 said...
I love to see your creations and your skirt is well constructed and I like how you estimate time to sew.
3/9/11 9:19 PM
MichelleE said...
I think it looks very pretty on you! Great job!
3/11/11 11:32 AM
JETrinity said...
This will grow on your. Maybe you could add another piece from the pattern to help the skirt. I love how you get 3 views in one photo.
3/13/11 2:00 PM
livvida said...
I'm also in search of the perfect straight skirt pattern. Any luck finding one? Would love a recommendation!
7/11/11 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 1688

photo
by: CJgal

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now