SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5311 (OOP NY NY Collection Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 757 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/11 10:27 AM
Last Updated:3/10/11 10:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DD1104 said...
That is a great dress!!! You styled it perfectly!!
3/10/11 11:16 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautifully designed pattern that is so trendy 20 years later. Your fabric choice and styling are perfect and so sophisticated. This review if going in my favorites file for inspiration. Thanks for the review.
3/10/11 11:31 AM
DoggyGirl said...
I love this. The double collar, sides, and squarish armholes are incredibly chic. I've got to look for this pattern!
3/10/11 11:37 AM
Kat B. said...
Great job! The belt really makes this dress current. I love the collar!
3/10/11 11:42 AM
Ecrulace said...
Love the colour and the fit! It's amazing that a 1991 design could be so timeless
3/10/11 11:43 AM
cleverkitty said...
ahh the details on this dress makes for a well fitted and interesting garment that you just do not get in RTW I am so impressed with how you look in it, you made one fine dress Barbara
3/10/11 11:44 AM
appleton78 said...
Beautiful job! The fabric seems to have been made for this pattern. You look lovely in it as well. Thanks for the terrific review.
3/10/11 11:55 AM
JillyBe said...
Perfect pairing of fabric & pattern - and you look gorgeous in it!
3/10/11 12:31 PM
Phasionz by M said...
I recently purchased this pattern on eBay and have it cut out and ready to sew! Thanks for the review!
3/10/11 12:38 PM
RadarRadiance said...
It looks great on you and I love the double collar! You better hang onto this pattern....you never know!!! haha
3/10/11 12:45 PM
Enid E said...
Very Nice! What a nice classic and chic style. I really like the belt and buttons, as they are very complimentary to the fabric and style of the dress. It looks great without the belt too, and you, as always, look fantastic in it....
3/10/11 12:52 PM
Twinset said...
I love that, what a stylish dress!! Thanks for reviewing it; I love those NY NY patterns, they were just great!
3/10/11 1:36 PM
sewinfrance said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress from such weird pattern pieces! What great work. Thanks for an interesting review.
3/10/11 1:36 PM
sfshaza said...
Love that design and it's beautiful on you! Your workmanship is superb.
3/10/11 1:46 PM
Red Curtain said...
Beautiful tailoring. It looks very high end and very classy.
3/10/11 1:58 PM
birdmcfarland said...
wow! You look like something out of a magazine - perfectly styled. Fantastic dress.
3/10/11 3:36 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress. Crisp and polished.
3/10/11 4:02 PM
mm said...
What a lovely dress. Wonderful sewing and perfect fit. Keep the pattern - you never know!
3/10/11 4:19 PM
DorothyK said...
What a fantastic dress. Keep the pattern - in another 20 years you just may want to make it again. It would be worth it. Beautiful job on an interesting piece.
3/10/11 4:29 PM
FloraNature said...
Oh, this is such a classy dress. Love it!
3/10/11 4:56 PM
Nan Kay said...
Lovely dress, very classic and the color is wonderful on you. I really like the lapel treatment. Glad you decided to make it again!
3/10/11 5:07 PM
LynneMR said...
Great dress! You have achieved a real couture finish - so elegant - it looks perfect on you. I love the details like the buttons you chose and the double collar.
3/10/11 5:36 PM
trinicity said...
I love it, this is such a beautiful dress, I love the color on you, just amazing
3/10/11 5:46 PM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
3/10/11 6:04 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress.
3/10/11 6:08 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful dress, Barbara!!
3/10/11 7:06 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very stylish and looks so good on you. I love unusual designs like that. I was surprised to see it was a McCalls pattern.
3/10/11 7:22 PM
lamstu said...
As always, a fabulous garment! I love this style so much and the belt you chose pulls it all together. Funny, I was just thinking about a double collar for my next blouse.... Great to see I'm not the only one sewing my old patterns:)
3/10/11 8:09 PM
Kii said...
Very beautiful dress!!
3/10/11 8:46 PM
solosmocker said...
Wow! I have this pattern in my stash and will dig it out tomorrow. You look stunning in this dress. It's gorgeous.
3/10/11 9:43 PM
beginagain said...
Wow! Great dress, love the collar.
3/10/11 10:04 PM
carolynw said...
Barbara it is beautiful in every way - as I told you before - I 'm going to steal your clothes girl!!
3/10/11 10:34 PM
sew2little said...
Out of the park, my dear! Marci
3/10/11 10:44 PM
otterine said...
This is marvelous! I love looking through old patterns and seeing what is still current. You've done a wonderful job.
3/11/11 0:23 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!!! Love that collar.
3/11/11 1:14 AM
Christas said...
Barbara, this dress is outstanding! The fabric, buttons, your wonderful sewing, and the way you have accessorized it are just perfect! I hate weird shaped pattern pieces and trying to figure out how to adjust things, but you obviously couldn't have adjusted things any better because the fit is so very nice on your dress.
3/11/11 1:46 AM
Scheri said...
What an absolutely gorgeous dress on you!
3/11/11 2:40 AM
pdiddly said...
looks wonderful and totally up-to-date despite being an old pattern - I keep all my old patterns and have used some v.old ones recently
3/11/11 3:35 AM
susiestitcher said...
Simply beautiful! Everything you make is just gorgeous, both the sewing and the wearing! If you hadn't mentioned the pattern's age, I would never have known. The color looks amazing on you. I really like the side details and the squared armholes.
3/11/11 7:25 AM
becca a said...
This is such a gorgeous, classic dress! I love the double collar. Perfect match of fabric, pattern and accessories.
3/11/11 8:07 AM
nancyc said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and flawless work! This dress looks perfect on you!
3/11/11 9:56 AM
janet said...
SPECTACULAR!
3/11/11 2:38 PM
3kids1036 said...
STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/11/11 4:33 PM
COS said...
Amazing dress and it looks WONDERFUL on you!! I wish I could find this pattern somewhere!! Terrific job, terrific fit!! You did an outstanding job. Fab belt!
3/11/11 6:32 PM
Mazzygirl said...
beautiful dress, beautifully sewn & looks stunning on you! if ever we needed justification for keeping all our old patterns, this is it! Marvellous result!
3/11/11 8:00 PM
Catbird said...
Another WOW to add to the chorus of wows. This looks amazing on you and your work is utterly perfect. I love that shot without the belt. Who cares about those little wrinkles -- you look like you stepped right off a movie set. Gorgeous!
3/11/11 8:43 PM
AdaH said...
You look wonderful in this dress. I love all the extra details of the design.
3/11/11 10:40 PM
Diane333 said...
Love the unusual collar and how you accessorized your dress. It really looks current and beautiful.
3/11/11 10:57 PM
MichelleE said...
I loved those NY NY patterns, still have some in my stash. They are so stylish and timeless, as is this dress! Looks great on you!
3/12/11 0:28 AM
CynthiaSue said...
timeless, elegant and impeccably styled.
3/13/11 0:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oooooooh la la! You mean your beautiful dress came from a pattern that was originally issued two decades ago? I am glad that you kept it and took the opportunity to use it again. You look fresh, modern, and runway ready!
3/13/11 12:11 PM
MNBarb said...
Beautiful!
3/13/11 5:15 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is a perfect look for you. I love the belt and buttons you chose. I think my dress is still here somewhere as I loved it and couldn't ever part with it. Almost the same color as your new one.
3/15/11 3:53 PM
Annette1 said...
WOWEE! This is SOOOOOOOOOOO nice, so well tailored and so flattering, all in one. :o) I can't believe I don't remember this pattern, because the McCall's NY patterns were among my FAVORITES.
3/31/11 6:15 PM
waltzqueen said...
This is a stunning dress! You look like you just walked down the runway. The linen is perfect and your sewing is couture to be sure!! You look classic, chic, cool and comfortable. Sensational!!!!
8/8/11 6:33 PM
Fildesoie said...
Tr�s belle photo, beau tissu, belle r�ussite... Bravo! I love this dress on you, nice fabric, color and style
9/7/14 8:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2152

photo
by: balrojka

Review
New Look 6150

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now