SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5484 (Misses' Top, Tunic and Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 578 times 
Reviewed by:JETrinity
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JETrinitystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 8/23/09
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/11 2:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I am buying some Butterick patterns today as they are on sale, and after reading your review, and seeing this gorgeous dress---> 5484 is on my list.
12/22/11 2:34 PM
MNBarb said...
Great dress on you. I love the fitted top and drapey skirt. The large scale fabric is so pretty.
3/14/11 8:56 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
What a great fabric, this dress is lovely on you!
3/13/11 5:08 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great use for that fabric - love the 'flower effect' with the ring. Thanks for such an informative review!
3/12/11 1:32 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the heads up about using a round, washable buckle. You use such lovely fabric in your creations.
3/12/11 8:38 AM
Rebecca D said...
You look lovely in that dress and for me a nerdy review is just fine.
3/12/11 8:13 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very pretty dress. It's so flattering on you.
3/12/11 7:54 AM
FreyaStark said...
Gorgeous fabric!
3/12/11 1:35 AM
AdaH said...
Wonderful dress. Love the fabric..
3/11/11 10:22 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I absolutely adore your dress (that fabric is gorgeous!) & I adore your sewing space too! very nice! I wondered myself about not having the underneath part of the cross-over threaded thru the buckle, so will do what you did & put it thru as well... (makes more sense to me to do it that way anyway). I agree about the rectangular or square buckles too, would look strange to the eye to be on an angle... Lovely result & can't wait to see the other versions! PS. lucky you for having a husband to help out!
3/11/11 7:54 PM
Ecrulace said...
Love the colour and fabric - looks fantastic on you
3/11/11 7:48 PM
LynneMR said...
Beautiful dress - well done! I love the style, fabric and finish. I agree that bias binding can be much nicer than stiff facings that can add bulk and want to keep escaping to the outside!
3/11/11 7:38 PM
MissyBelle said...
Wonderful colors and fits you nicely. Great job!
3/11/11 5:56 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful fabric and it looks so good on you. Thanx for the detailed review. Wish I had a pattern cutter..
3/11/11 5:27 PM
persevering said...
Oh my (just read your bio) on top of being successfully partnered in life and having the sewing area that appeals to my sense of aesthetics more than any other sewing area, I've ever seen - you are a successfully partnered and a retired / engineer / manager / s.s. math teacher. You are truly inspiring! I now intend to read every review you have posted, to learn more from your sewing.
3/11/11 4:03 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice dress. Love your fabric. Thank you very much for the detailed review.
3/11/11 3:50 PM
persevering said...
I guess if your husband cut out for you - you may have a painful condition, which makes it difficult for you. Your sewing room is amazing! I like your dress too. Thanks for the review.
3/11/11 3:48 PM
Christas said...
Thanks for such an informative review. Yes, please tell us how to get our husbands to cut out our patterns. That's my least favorite part of sewing. Your dress looks very pretty and that fabric is so cool!
3/11/11 3:09 PM
strongnow said...
I love your dress and all of this information is so helpful. Any tips on how to get my husband to cut out my patterns?
3/11/11 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Simplicity 5338

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Simplicity 7623

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info