Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5484 (Misses' Top, Tunic and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 566 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:JETrinity
photo
Friend of PR
About JETrinitystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 8/23/09
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/11 2:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
strongnow said...
I love your dress and all of this information is so helpful. Any tips on how to get my husband to cut out my patterns?
3/11/11 2:44 PM
Christas said...
Thanks for such an informative review. Yes, please tell us how to get our husbands to cut out our patterns. That's my least favorite part of sewing. Your dress looks very pretty and that fabric is so cool!
3/11/11 3:09 PM
persevering said...
I guess if your husband cut out for you - you may have a painful condition, which makes it difficult for you. Your sewing room is amazing! I like your dress too. Thanks for the review.
3/11/11 3:48 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice dress. Love your fabric. Thank you very much for the detailed review.
3/11/11 3:50 PM
persevering said...
Oh my (just read your bio) on top of being successfully partnered in life and having the sewing area that appeals to my sense of aesthetics more than any other sewing area, I've ever seen - you are a successfully partnered and a retired / engineer / manager / s.s. math teacher. You are truly inspiring! I now intend to read every review you have posted, to learn more from your sewing.
3/11/11 4:03 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful fabric and it looks so good on you. Thanx for the detailed review. Wish I had a pattern cutter..
3/11/11 5:27 PM
MissyBelle said...
Wonderful colors and fits you nicely. Great job!
3/11/11 5:56 PM
LynneMR said...
Beautiful dress - well done! I love the style, fabric and finish. I agree that bias binding can be much nicer than stiff facings that can add bulk and want to keep escaping to the outside!
3/11/11 7:38 PM
Ecrulace said...
Love the colour and fabric - looks fantastic on you
3/11/11 7:48 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I absolutely adore your dress (that fabric is gorgeous!) & I adore your sewing space too! very nice! I wondered myself about not having the underneath part of the cross-over threaded thru the buckle, so will do what you did & put it thru as well... (makes more sense to me to do it that way anyway). I agree about the rectangular or square buckles too, would look strange to the eye to be on an angle... Lovely result & can't wait to see the other versions! PS. lucky you for having a husband to help out!
3/11/11 7:54 PM
AdaH said...
Wonderful dress. Love the fabric..
3/11/11 10:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Gorgeous fabric!
3/12/11 1:35 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very pretty dress. It's so flattering on you.
3/12/11 7:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
You look lovely in that dress and for me a nerdy review is just fine.
3/12/11 8:13 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the heads up about using a round, washable buckle. You use such lovely fabric in your creations.
3/12/11 8:38 AM
JillyBe said...
What a great use for that fabric - love the 'flower effect' with the ring. Thanks for such an informative review!
3/12/11 1:32 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
What a great fabric, this dress is lovely on you!
3/13/11 5:08 PM
MNBarb said...
Great dress on you. I love the fitted top and drapey skirt. The large scale fabric is so pretty.
3/14/11 8:56 AM
marec said...
I am buying some Butterick patterns today as they are on sale, and after reading your review, and seeing this gorgeous dress---> 5484 is on my list.
12/22/11 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2935 Kwik Sew
photo
Review by Gladys on 8/6/06
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6674 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by reethi on 9/7/10
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us