SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Denim Quilt (Denim Quilt)

Viewed 124 times 
Reviewed by:AllNewtoMe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AllNewtoMestar
VA USA
Member since: 9/6/10
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/11 11:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Well done, I know your Dad is so proud of his quilt! I made a "quilted blanket" recently and used this type of piecing for the long borders. Great minds think alike. :)
3/12/11 2:57 PM
sewinfrance said...
Great work! It makes me remember how my mom could never (and still can't) throw anything out, she has a whole closet of jeans which my brothers & I wore out when we were young, "...you never know, they can be used for patches...", she'd say. I'd say that your quilt is the ticket!
3/12/11 3:54 PM
lauraborealis said...
That is fantastic. Great idea!
3/12/11 4:07 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I'm saving up jeans to make just such a utilitarian quilt too. Yours came out great!
3/12/11 5:29 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That's amazing- I would have to think something like this to death. I guess it was heavy enough without a batting since you didn't mention one. It's really neat that you and Dad recycled those jeans like this and that it is dog proof a major feat.
3/12/11 6:23 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
Thank you for all of the kind comments. I know it's no technical piece of art, and I'm still so new at sewing I'm sometimes shy to post my projects here.

Re: scraps I actually saved the scraps from cutting the denim in a bag and used a lot of the scraps to fill draft dodgers I made to fit against our porch doors this winter! I figured it was cheaper than fiberfill, and wouldn't attract rodents the way rice or beans might. It looked a bit lumpy, but they're draft dodgers. Who cares? And best of all, it was still heavy enough to help keep them in place.

Re: batting No, I didn't use batting. I failed to mention where Dad lives: he lives in the dessert in Arizona without heat. It does get cold enough at night in the winter for batting, which is why he uses it over some other blankets during the winter. But winter is short, and the rest of the year, batting would be far too heavy.
3/12/11 7:41 PM
JEF said...
Very clever and nice looking too!
3/13/11 10:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your creativity and ambition are inspiring. It's a wonderful accomplishment.
3/13/11 10:47 AM
Patti B said...
Your dad must be enjoying his memories and the thought that his daughter did this for him -- great job!
3/13/11 11:08 AM
jso4fun said...
Good job! I love the way the different degrees of fading make such a nice pattern. I've been thinking about making a quilt like this for years. Maybe this will inspire me to get out those boxes of old jeans and finally do something with them!
3/14/11 11:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8380

photo
by: DeniseAnge...

Review
Kwik Sew 1672

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now