SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4059 (Renaissance Costumes)

21 more reviews
Viewed 473 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 9:53 PM
Last Updated:3/13/11 9:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dfr2010 said...
I had already admired the pics on your blog. Since you say you weren't going for historical accuracy ... should I mention the shirt is also from the "swashbuckler" period a century later? LOL Covered by the doublet though the visual effect is very elegant and courtly!
3/13/11 10:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I definitely agree about the shirt, but as you said, it is pretty much covered. And I really didn't want to add even more expense to his budget with another pattern purchase.
3/13/11 10:21 PM
dfr2010 said...
That's understandable, Debbie. My friend the history professor saves on pattern expenses by volunteering to be my "guinea pig" for all the unisex costume patterns ... and even my attempts at drafting simple period tunics. Renn Faire garb is a LOT of fun ... but it also takes muslins, mockups, tests ... and practice! LOL
3/13/11 10:36 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Outstanding! I love the fabrics and detail, he looks DASHING!
3/13/11 10:55 PM
sewing for fun said...
Spectacular costume! He is a very lucky man to have your talent to create this costume for him.
3/13/11 11:03 PM
SandyTaz said...
Wow, this costume is AMAZING! So is your male model. Awesome choice of fabric and trim. Thank you for such a useful and inspiring review!
3/13/11 11:52 PM
PVA said...
Wow, that's a great project & as always, wonderful details in your review. I'm always amazed at your skills & talent. Your young friend truly looks the part, too. I love Ren Faire but haven't been to one in a very long time. Thanks for a great review.
3/14/11 0:01 AM
Aixoise said...
What fun to read your review and see the costume on the dashing young Renaissance man. (Lucky him!) But Taco Bell? Spanish Renaissance? Mexican (did they have one?)? Lovely to see your work. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
3/14/11 0:11 AM
Irene said...
How nice to have an occasion and "customer" that are worth the effort. You and he get to enjoy good vibes about this project. Fabulous outfit!
3/14/11 2:14 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Stunning! Weren't you worried he was going to get Taco Bell taco sauce on his brocade?
3/14/11 2:18 AM
Aroura said...
Fantastic! I love this pattern, your details make it extra special.
3/14/11 3:15 AM
fourkid said...
Love it! I followed this on your blog and so admired your creativity and persistence. It turned out amazing.
3/14/11 6:01 AM
brissie71 said...
I also followed your progress with interest, not because I can EVER see myself sewing something like this, but because it just looked amazing. The model looks like a natural. Fabulous job and thanks for being so generous with your time and effort sharing all the glorious details.
3/14/11 6:57 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Awesome costume! Nice details.
3/14/11 8:48 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
3/14/11 9:28 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! Great work and he looks very dashing indeed!
3/14/11 11:51 AM
Leda2 said...
Well met mi'lady!! Huzzah!!!!
3/15/11 11:10 AM
JudyP said...
This is fantastic! I also followed your progress on your blog. This looks so good you will have to be careful that you aren't asked to sew more costumes! A lot of work, but a really great result!
3/16/11 7:31 AM
jeanyus said...
Looks amazing! It's great to see a costume for an adult male. I have this pattern and was meaning to do it for my husband. I like your modifications and input, very helpful and inspiring, if I ever get around to doing it.
3/17/11 8:58 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, beautiful
3/24/11 7:33 PM
abbythomas said...
What a fantastic costume! Thanks for all the details!
4/6/11 11:35 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! Very nice, he'll be the best dressed worker at the faire. I like that the pants pattern included the cod piece, which IS more period accurate for a well dressed man of the time (from what I've read; I'm no historical costume expert!). The sleeve / no sleeve option is really nice also (particularly on a really hot day.... ).
6/21/11 5:40 PM
prettything said...
looks great! Another way to wear the doublet is with sleeves attached but no arms through them. I see that all the time at fair. This would lend itself to that really well with the ties the way they are. How nice of you to do all that work for free! Even with the $200 price tag for materials, outfits like that cost upwards of $600 at fair - and that isn't custom fit or custom designed like this!
8/8/11 12:13 PM
weekendstitch said...
This looks fantastic! I dream of one day making something like this. Baby steps.
1/20/14 12:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now