Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4059 (Renaissance Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 464 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 9:53 PM
Last Updated:3/13/11 9:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dfr2010 said...
I had already admired the pics on your blog. Since you say you weren't going for historical accuracy ... should I mention the shirt is also from the "swashbuckler" period a century later? LOL Covered by the doublet though the visual effect is very elegant and courtly!
3/13/11 10:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I definitely agree about the shirt, but as you said, it is pretty much covered. And I really didn't want to add even more expense to his budget with another pattern purchase.
3/13/11 10:21 PM
dfr2010 said...
That's understandable, Debbie. My friend the history professor saves on pattern expenses by volunteering to be my "guinea pig" for all the unisex costume patterns ... and even my attempts at drafting simple period tunics. Renn Faire garb is a LOT of fun ... but it also takes muslins, mockups, tests ... and practice! LOL
3/13/11 10:36 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Outstanding! I love the fabrics and detail, he looks DASHING!
3/13/11 10:55 PM
sewing for fun said...
Spectacular costume! He is a very lucky man to have your talent to create this costume for him.
3/13/11 11:03 PM
SandyTaz said...
Wow, this costume is AMAZING! So is your male model. Awesome choice of fabric and trim. Thank you for such a useful and inspiring review!
3/13/11 11:52 PM
PVA said...
Wow, that's a great project & as always, wonderful details in your review. I'm always amazed at your skills & talent. Your young friend truly looks the part, too. I love Ren Faire but haven't been to one in a very long time. Thanks for a great review.
3/14/11 0:01 AM
Aixoise said...
What fun to read your review and see the costume on the dashing young Renaissance man. (Lucky him!) But Taco Bell? Spanish Renaissance? Mexican (did they have one?)? Lovely to see your work. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
3/14/11 0:11 AM
Irene said...
How nice to have an occasion and "customer" that are worth the effort. You and he get to enjoy good vibes about this project. Fabulous outfit!
3/14/11 2:14 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Stunning! Weren't you worried he was going to get Taco Bell taco sauce on his brocade?
3/14/11 2:18 AM
Aroura said...
Fantastic! I love this pattern, your details make it extra special.
3/14/11 3:15 AM
fourkid said...
Love it! I followed this on your blog and so admired your creativity and persistence. It turned out amazing.
3/14/11 6:01 AM
brissie71 said...
I also followed your progress with interest, not because I can EVER see myself sewing something like this, but because it just looked amazing. The model looks like a natural. Fabulous job and thanks for being so generous with your time and effort sharing all the glorious details.
3/14/11 6:57 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Awesome costume! Nice details.
3/14/11 8:48 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
3/14/11 9:28 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! Great work and he looks very dashing indeed!
3/14/11 11:51 AM
Leda2 said...
Well met mi'lady!! Huzzah!!!!
3/15/11 11:10 AM
JudyP said...
This is fantastic! I also followed your progress on your blog. This looks so good you will have to be careful that you aren't asked to sew more costumes! A lot of work, but a really great result!
3/16/11 7:31 AM
jeanyus said...
Looks amazing! It's great to see a costume for an adult male. I have this pattern and was meaning to do it for my husband. I like your modifications and input, very helpful and inspiring, if I ever get around to doing it.
3/17/11 8:58 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, beautiful
3/24/11 7:33 PM
abbythomas said...
What a fantastic costume! Thanks for all the details!
4/6/11 11:35 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! Very nice, he'll be the best dressed worker at the faire. I like that the pants pattern included the cod piece, which IS more period accurate for a well dressed man of the time (from what I've read; I'm no historical costume expert!). The sleeve / no sleeve option is really nice also (particularly on a really hot day.... ).
6/21/11 5:40 PM
prettything said...
looks great! Another way to wear the doublet is with sleeves attached but no arms through them. I see that all the time at fair. This would lend itself to that really well with the ties the way they are. How nice of you to do all that work for free! Even with the $200 price tag for materials, outfits like that cost upwards of $600 at fair - and that isn't custom fit or custom designed like this!
8/8/11 12:13 PM
weekendstitch said...
This looks fantastic! I dream of one day making something like this. Baby steps.
1/20/14 12:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us