SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5603 (Retro Butterick)

24 more reviews
Viewed 774 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 10:54 PM
Last Updated:3/14/11 0:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
An elegant dress - as are the others in your gallery!
3/14/11 0:32 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
3/14/11 0:41 AM
catsmeow said...
Your dress is beautiful!
3/14/11 0:47 AM
Scheri said...
I am sure the young lady you made this for will love the dress......very pretty
3/14/11 2:00 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks!
3/15/11 9:41 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the review! This will look great on stage.
3/15/11 11:12 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
OMGosh this is soooo cute!
3/15/11 8:24 PM
JennifeRose7 said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review!
3/16/11 2:36 PM
pammieh said...
Great result - and tiny!! 32-27!
3/18/11 12:11 PM
SusanRosalie said...
I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern as I just received it in the mail this week. Yours is a great result.
3/21/11 11:47 PM
Bubblerella said...
I love this dress and getting ready to make it. But I prefer the very full look of the 50's circle dresses. Would this dress be able to look like that with a crinoline?
3/24/11 12:32 PM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks again. About the fullness of the skirt: It is quite full. It most certainly needs a crinoline or a ruffled petticoat for the right effect. I do not think it is as full as some of the dresses from that era, however. That may be because it is a gored type skirt. Later, with the actresses' permission I can post a photo of the dress with undergarments and accessories actually on her so this can be more helpful. One notation to pay attention to - I should mention the location of the natural waist measurement is very important. If you make this yourself pay attention to where your waist/back/neck actually sits and how it compares to the pattern. Mine was OK but this could have been trouble if it was off.
3/25/11 10:10 AM
Bubblerella said...
Thanks for your response. I ended up making this dress myself and thought it turned out great. Your remarks were very helpful.
4/11/11 4:03 PM
Yarndiva said...
Wonderful news!
4/12/11 10:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 220738-1008

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now