SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5603 (Retro Butterick)

24 more reviews
Viewed 776 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 10:54 PM
Last Updated:3/14/11 0:21 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Yarndiva said...
Wonderful news!
4/12/11 10:40 AM
Bubblerella said...
Thanks for your response. I ended up making this dress myself and thought it turned out great. Your remarks were very helpful.
4/11/11 4:03 PM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks again. About the fullness of the skirt: It is quite full. It most certainly needs a crinoline or a ruffled petticoat for the right effect. I do not think it is as full as some of the dresses from that era, however. That may be because it is a gored type skirt. Later, with the actresses' permission I can post a photo of the dress with undergarments and accessories actually on her so this can be more helpful. One notation to pay attention to - I should mention the location of the natural waist measurement is very important. If you make this yourself pay attention to where your waist/back/neck actually sits and how it compares to the pattern. Mine was OK but this could have been trouble if it was off.
3/25/11 10:10 AM
Bubblerella said...
I love this dress and getting ready to make it. But I prefer the very full look of the 50's circle dresses. Would this dress be able to look like that with a crinoline?
3/24/11 12:32 PM
SusanRosalie said...
I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern as I just received it in the mail this week. Yours is a great result.
3/21/11 11:47 PM
pammieh said...
Great result - and tiny!! 32-27!
3/18/11 12:11 PM
JennifeRose7 said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review!
3/16/11 2:36 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
OMGosh this is soooo cute!
3/15/11 8:24 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the review! This will look great on stage.
3/15/11 11:12 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks!
3/15/11 9:41 AM
Scheri said...
I am sure the young lady you made this for will love the dress......very pretty
3/14/11 2:00 AM
catsmeow said...
Your dress is beautiful!
3/14/11 0:47 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
3/14/11 0:41 AM
FreyaStark said...
An elegant dress - as are the others in your gallery!
3/14/11 0:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Other Gertie's Keyhole Blouse

photo
by: julliams

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info