SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5603 (Retro Butterick)

24 more reviews
Viewed 772 times 
Reviewed by:Yarndiva
photo

 
 
About Yarndivastar
CA USA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 10:54 PM
Last Updated:3/14/11 0:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
An elegant dress - as are the others in your gallery!
3/14/11 0:32 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
3/14/11 0:41 AM
catsmeow said...
Your dress is beautiful!
3/14/11 0:47 AM
Scheri said...
I am sure the young lady you made this for will love the dress......very pretty
3/14/11 2:00 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks!
3/15/11 9:41 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the review! This will look great on stage.
3/15/11 11:12 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
OMGosh this is soooo cute!
3/15/11 8:24 PM
JennifeRose7 said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review!
3/16/11 2:36 PM
pammieh said...
Great result - and tiny!! 32-27!
3/18/11 12:11 PM
SusanRosalie said...
I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern as I just received it in the mail this week. Yours is a great result.
3/21/11 11:47 PM
Bubblerella said...
I love this dress and getting ready to make it. But I prefer the very full look of the 50's circle dresses. Would this dress be able to look like that with a crinoline?
3/24/11 12:32 PM
Yarndiva said...
Thanks again. About the fullness of the skirt: It is quite full. It most certainly needs a crinoline or a ruffled petticoat for the right effect. I do not think it is as full as some of the dresses from that era, however. That may be because it is a gored type skirt. Later, with the actresses' permission I can post a photo of the dress with undergarments and accessories actually on her so this can be more helpful. One notation to pay attention to - I should mention the location of the natural waist measurement is very important. If you make this yourself pay attention to where your waist/back/neck actually sits and how it compares to the pattern. Mine was OK but this could have been trouble if it was off.
3/25/11 10:10 AM
Bubblerella said...
Thanks for your response. I ended up making this dress myself and thought it turned out great. Your remarks were very helpful.
4/11/11 4:03 PM
Yarndiva said...
Wonderful news!
4/12/11 10:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 73986-1004

photo
by: Silknmore

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now