Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1004 (Misses Fitting Shell size 20) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 874 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Scheri
photo
Friend of PR
About Scheristar
AB CANADA
Member since: 7/13/10
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/11 9:49 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kat B. said...
It looks to me like you could have maybe started with a smaller fitting shell. But, from what I can tell, it looks like you are taking fabric out in the correct places. Keep at it, it will get there!
3/14/11 8:49 PM
Elona said...
How did you select the pattern size? It looks as though you started with one quite a bit too large. The armscye is too deep, the bust dart is too low, the shoulders are too broad, and the bust dimensions are waaay too big around.
3/14/11 9:10 PM
christinawo said...
It's hard to tell since the shell is not on you but rather on a dummy. But you may have picked the wrong size. Generally, selecting a size by the high bust measurement helps you fit through the chest and shoulders (difficult to alter), then you can adjust more easily for things like a prominent bust. In any case, you should get a fitting buddy and a good fitting and pattern alteration book. It's very hard to do by yourself. You might even consider having a dressmaker help you with fitting it on your body. Or perhaps taking a class on fitting. Most fitting patterns are pretty much the same (at least according to the Patti Palmer fitting book) so I don't think switching will help. But you may need to go down a size or even two! Good luck!
3/15/11 2:08 AM
becca a said...
It looks like you chose a fitting shell that is too large for your dressform. I used the McCall's fitting shell because it is by Palmer/Pletsch and matches the alterations in Fit for Real People. After I began, I realized that I needed to select the size by high bust measurement and start with a smaller pattern size. It looks like your alterations will be simpler if you try again with a smaller fitting shell. The advantage of a fitting shell is that it doesn't have wearing ease.
3/15/11 8:38 AM
JudyHan said...
I am working on the same pattern!! I have taken measurements and started altering the pattern pieces. From the reviews, I am moving ahead with trepidation and no expectations. I think the McCalls pattern is more user friendly and plan on picking that up. I'm glad you posted this! Thanks!
3/15/11 9:38 AM
Scheri said...
I have decided to scrap the Vogue Fitting shell and will start on the McCalls size 20. My size is Bust 42, Waist 36, Hip 44......so after review of the pattern my measurements are exact for the bust and hips just 1" over on the waist. Wish me luck
3/15/11 9:47 AM
FloraNature said...
First of all I would choose the fitting shell according to the company whose patterns you most use. Thus Vogue fitting shell for Vogue patterns. Theoretically, the alterations you make on the shell will be the same you make on the pattern. Secondly, the shell you have made looks to me to fit in places, but is loose in other places. You now have a choice of taking in the loose areas around sides and fiddling with the armhole and sleeves etc. If I were you I would choose a smaller size that fits the neckline, shoulders and high bust, then do a full bust adjustment. I draft my own fitting shell (bodice toile) and altering armholes and sleeves is very time-consuming.
3/15/11 10:19 AM
mollyshark said...
Scheri, you're not tuning in on what everyone is saying I don't think and you may have the same issue. Is your bust across the FULL point 42 or across the HIGH BUST 42? Use HIGH bust and compare that to the pattern size. If your HIGH BUST if 42, a 20 is ok, but if it is your full bust, you are choosing too large of a size. It is waaay easier to let out waist and hips in a shirt/dress than to alter the shoulders, etc. Measure high bust, match that to the pattern bust, and THAT is the size to start with.
3/15/11 11:22 AM
lcdrbetty said...
The best fitting guide I have used is Palmer Pletsch's book Fit For Real People. It's all about pattern size and pin fitting your pattern. Very helpful.
3/15/11 11:32 AM
cousue said...
I believe "Fit for Real People" says that there isn't actually all that much difference in the fitting shells for the Big 4 companies.
7/1/11 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-108 Slim trousers
photo
Review by inkstain on 6/29/13
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3120
photo
Review by sewsue on 8/9/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6178 Pattern
New Look 6178 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us