SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5451 (Big Collar Wrap Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/11 10:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I hope this dress grows on you. It is SOOOO cute! I love it, and for all of your hard work, you have sewn a wonderful dress. That fabric is just PERFECT!
3/15/11 10:54 AM
thirteenstitches said...
I LOVE it on you!!! I think you are being way too critical on yourself. Think RTW and your dress is beautiful. You look very pretty in your polka dotted dress : )
3/15/11 11:39 AM
sew2little said...
I too think it's a great dress. Sometimes when the process of making a garment has been painful, we project our dismay onto the garment. This one doesn't deserve it, as it's really a striking dress.
3/15/11 12:11 PM
pterion said...
This is a really WOW dress! Love what you did with the polka dots and the colors are great on you. I understand what you are saying about the fit but the design is so striking that no one but you will notice the fit issues. I agree with the other commenters that you should give this dress another chance.
3/15/11 1:14 PM
Mufffet said...
It is very cute! I know what it is like though,, to own something you don't want to wear because it just didn't work out. :) It *IS* pretty on you!
3/15/11 2:03 PM
chickenlips said...
This is really nice on you and I love the addition of the sleeves. I think you should put it away for a few weeks, and when you no longer feel the pain, try it on again and I'm sure you'll see it as everyone else does - a really cool dress.
3/15/11 2:31 PM
cleverkitty said...
oh my gosh this dress is so fun, You look so cute and upbeat. I know what you mean about annoyances, I have some that let me forget and then ones that interfere with me thinking I am a great sewer. Think of this dress as your charm dress because it does bring a sense of Joy to the beholder.
3/15/11 2:40 PM
JillyBe said...
I think this is one of those garments that will be loved by you when you let it sit awhile - truly it looks SO cute! Your persistence to fix something & make it wearable is like mine lol! My chant is NO wadders, NO wadders, NO wadders...
3/15/11 2:52 PM
AnneM said...
Love that fabric! Just put that in the closet for the summer & pull it out in the fall; then you'll love it.
3/15/11 3:07 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love that!
3/15/11 3:14 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out very well and looks GREAT on you! You may need to put it away for a while so you forget everything you went through to get to the final product. Sometimes that helps ;-)
3/15/11 3:46 PM
lucylal said...
I do hope your annoyances fade, because i think your dress is gorgeous.
3/15/11 4:39 PM
Terri A said...
You look very cute - I do hope you decide to like it.
3/16/11 3:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's a cute dress. I hope you become fonder of it and wear it rather than wasting all that effort.
3/16/11 5:36 AM
LynneMR said...
Your dress is beautiful and really suits you. You probably just don't love it yet because of the trauma involved in making it!! The colours and style are beautiful on you and I love the colour contrast/reverse of your fabric. Give it a little breather and I'm sure you'll come to love it!
3/16/11 5:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Kwik Sew 3606

photo
by: twilltape

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now