SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1218 (Donna Karan Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1263 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/11 8:00 PM
Last Updated:3/16/11 12:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheryka said...
Beautiful!
3/15/11 8:28 PM
lakaribane said...
Looks great in the photo and I get what you mean about using a double knit but what is piece 2, exactly? I'm surprised you removed length when you usually add inches, non?
3/15/11 8:38 PM
eclectickim said...
This looks absolutely stunning on you!
3/15/11 8:45 PM
Erica B. said...
Piece #2 is the shoulder strap. I removed 4 inches and added back 6!
3/15/11 8:45 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great on you!
3/15/11 8:46 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress and suits you beautifully !!! Thanks for the fix on the low neckline :)
3/15/11 9:21 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous dress and the color looks gorgeous on you!
3/15/11 9:34 PM
beth5646 said...
Another absolutely beautiful dress Erica. It looks fab on you. Thanks for the review.
3/15/11 10:41 PM
Barbara V said...
This is so pretty on you. Your changes made it just right. Lovely work!
3/16/11 0:45 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful dress
3/16/11 2:40 AM
Terri A said...
You look wonderful. I like your changes.
3/16/11 3:03 AM
Ecrulace said...
Well done!
3/16/11 7:06 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! You achieved perfect fit with these alterations. Four inches is an awful lot to take out of the neckline--they really did do something strange in their drafting. I love the color. I agree that ponte roma is a more flattering choice of fabric.
3/16/11 9:17 AM
janet said...
GORGEOUS! Your fixes to this pattern are great, I will keep your review bookmarked for future use.
3/16/11 9:23 AM
Pam in Virginia said...
Gorgeous as always. You know how to pick garments that flatter you.
3/16/11 9:51 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love the color, Erica were are you wearing your dress and heals three times a week? I will find any opportunity to wear the clothes I made even the grocery store, are you like that? I look forward to your reviews, beautiful dress.
3/16/11 12:15 PM
lakaribane said...
Me again! Ok, so I've been thinking about this dress A LOT since yesterday. And I have a few questions: so if you took out 4in at the shoulder, what happened to the armscye? did it become normal or did you have to reshape it? 2) is the back made up of 2 pieces (back bodice + back skirt) + the opposite end of piece #2? 3) Is the back skirt made up of a giant dart just like the front skirt? How crazy is that pattern, anyway??? TIA
3/16/11 1:02 PM
krawz said...
Fantastic! You inspire me!
3/16/11 1:31 PM
Erica B. said...
lakaribane, the problem was the shoulder strap, piece #2. It was too long, therefore causing everything to be thrown off. If you have any dress and the shoulder strap is too long, that would cause the armscye to hang too low, right? Right! LOL So there was no re-shapping involved because the shoulder strap, piece #2 was too long and the armscye was pulled up to the correct position. The back is two pieces, back bodice and back skirt. There is no dart in the back. It's really a simple pattern and once the plunging neckline issue is resolved, it sews really quickly -- like in a few hours.
3/16/11 1:45 PM
Crumpet said...
What a great dress. You look amazing!
3/16/11 5:01 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress,you look fantastic! !
3/16/11 6:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful! I always enjoy and learn from your reviews.
3/16/11 6:49 PM
chicaem29 said...
I love your dress and am so glad to hear how you solved the neckline/armscye issue. I was holding back on making this pattern because I was concerned after the other review. Who knew the fix was so simple?! You look great as always!
3/16/11 7:51 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress. The color is great and the dress looks amazing on you!
3/16/11 8:19 PM
PolishPoppy said...
Please move next door to me! I just love it!
3/16/11 8:59 PM
loti said...
Thank you for this review, it looks great on you!
3/16/11 11:38 PM
Wendy VanC said...
LOL! I agree with you on the Vogue Pattern part. Your dress is beautiful. I was a bit sketchy about buying this pattern but after I read your review, I think I might get it!
3/17/11 0:34 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Another gorgeous dress! I love this on you, and the colour ..... I have a question about the wired ribbon. I have looked everywhere, contacted Vogue and received a "search the net" answer, which I had done .. they are very annoying. But I can only find a very large roll (30+ yds). Did you use it, and where did you get it? Is it washable with the dress?
3/17/11 1:35 PM
4u2cme said...
The color and the fit is just gorgeous on you. Another lovely dress in your wardrobe.
3/18/11 1:10 PM
mymehigan said...
your dress compliments you, a great job! thanks for the tip on pattern piece 2.
3/22/11 11:12 AM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the great alteration tips here and on your blog. I have already partly constructed this dress before reading the reviews (silly me) so I am just going to introduce a shoulder seam to take out the extra length.
6/25/11 8:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Kwik Sew 3127

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now