SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2401 (Fitted sheath)

44 more reviews
Viewed 658 times 
Reviewed by:ImListening
photo

 
 
About ImListeningstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/24/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/11 6:54 PM
Last Updated:3/17/11 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Beautiful dress! Do you have any idea why the 'v' neck gapped. If I made this (it could happen), I think that is the view I'd use. Could use also explain what you mean by 'definitely need a napkin in my lap at dinner'? Also, with the size 12 you made, in your opinion, do you think it might fit a 35.5" bust? (Otherwise, I'm quite close to your waist & hip measurements -I think- though I'm a few inches shorter in height. Thanks.
3/16/11 10:38 PM
portercs said...
Your dress looks great and, yes, I agree making a muslin is often a very good idea....
3/17/11 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
Seems like you fixed it quite nicely, I know I do that too about making muslins, I just don't and then regret it when things go wrong. LOL about the napkin, make sure it's a big white linen one, this has to be your dress you wear to expensive restaurants. Looks very nice on you BTW
3/17/11 10:24 AM
ImListening said...
Thank you all for your comments. persevering, I'm not sure why the V neck didn't work. I think perhaps it was the sturdiness of the fabric. It didn't have the drape that was suggested on the pattern envelope. I don't think the dress I sewed would work for a 35.5 bust unless your back was not as broad as mine. Perhaps you could do something with the darts to give yourself more room? But you might just have to adjust the pattern. Which I don't think would be difficult.
3/17/11 1:23 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your kind response - that is what I've been avoiding .... adjusting... I've never done it.... I used to sew my own clothes from patterns, years ago... and never adjusted (I also was exactly size 12 measurements - why even the pants fit - a smaller waist ago) - now I think I know more/am more conscious of what good fit looks like and want it ... and I'm so intimidated (it was always so difficult just to follow pattern directions, and always took me so long) silly, I guess, but I'm scared. Anyways, thanks again for posting and sharing - your dress really looks great!
3/17/11 1:52 PM
persevering said...
BTW - maybe my back isn't as broad - my 'high bust measurement' is 32.5, so maybe I can try??
3/17/11 1:55 PM
kcstarr49 said...
I have made this dress many times, yet I still have to tinker with it. Your version looks wonderful
3/17/11 6:48 PM
Renren said...
Very lovely dress! Ugh, muslins. The essential extra step. Actually, the last two aprons I made would have benefitted from being muslined . . . or at least tissue fitted! Well, you have a perfect dress here without one!!! Yay for that!
3/18/11 9:09 AM
ArtAttack said...
I'm planning to purchase this pattern to make a muslin using Nancy Z's Pattern Fitting with Confidence. It has simple lines and I think will make a good basic learning pattern for her pivot and slide method...we'll see! Yours is lovely!
7/28/11 2:56 PM
Lucy Tallulah said...
I have a question about the sizing -- I hope you can help. I am busty and tall but think so I wear a size 6 or 8 in the store (granted with size inflation but still...) Based on my bust etc. measurements it sounds like I need at least a 14 in this thing, but I would be swimming in that size in something I got in the store. I got a vogue pattern recently and cut it out in a size 12. I ended up taking it in quite a bit. But that pattern was 6-12, in this case I either have to order the 6 8 10 or the 12 14 16. I guess my question is, what size do you typically buy in the store? Or, more like, is this the same size you buy in the store, and if not, how many sizes off? I hope that's not too nosy, I just want to get the right size range. Thank you!
12/18/11 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 2619

photo
by: rachella

Review
Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now