Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2401 (Fitted sheath) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 653 times 39 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:ImListening
photo
About ImListeningstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/24/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/11 6:54 PM
Last Updated:3/17/11 1:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $10.80 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.80  List Price: $13.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Beautiful dress! Do you have any idea why the 'v' neck gapped. If I made this (it could happen), I think that is the view I'd use. Could use also explain what you mean by 'definitely need a napkin in my lap at dinner'? Also, with the size 12 you made, in your opinion, do you think it might fit a 35.5" bust? (Otherwise, I'm quite close to your waist & hip measurements -I think- though I'm a few inches shorter in height. Thanks.
3/16/11 10:38 PM
portercs said...
Your dress looks great and, yes, I agree making a muslin is often a very good idea....
3/17/11 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
Seems like you fixed it quite nicely, I know I do that too about making muslins, I just don't and then regret it when things go wrong. LOL about the napkin, make sure it's a big white linen one, this has to be your dress you wear to expensive restaurants. Looks very nice on you BTW
3/17/11 10:24 AM
ImListening said...
Thank you all for your comments. persevering, I'm not sure why the V neck didn't work. I think perhaps it was the sturdiness of the fabric. It didn't have the drape that was suggested on the pattern envelope. I don't think the dress I sewed would work for a 35.5 bust unless your back was not as broad as mine. Perhaps you could do something with the darts to give yourself more room? But you might just have to adjust the pattern. Which I don't think would be difficult.
3/17/11 1:23 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your kind response - that is what I've been avoiding .... adjusting... I've never done it.... I used to sew my own clothes from patterns, years ago... and never adjusted (I also was exactly size 12 measurements - why even the pants fit - a smaller waist ago) - now I think I know more/am more conscious of what good fit looks like and want it ... and I'm so intimidated (it was always so difficult just to follow pattern directions, and always took me so long) silly, I guess, but I'm scared. Anyways, thanks again for posting and sharing - your dress really looks great!
3/17/11 1:52 PM
persevering said...
BTW - maybe my back isn't as broad - my 'high bust measurement' is 32.5, so maybe I can try??
3/17/11 1:55 PM
kcstarr49 said...
I have made this dress many times, yet I still have to tinker with it. Your version looks wonderful
3/17/11 6:48 PM
Renren said...
Very lovely dress! Ugh, muslins. The essential extra step. Actually, the last two aprons I made would have benefitted from being muslined . . . or at least tissue fitted! Well, you have a perfect dress here without one!!! Yay for that!
3/18/11 9:09 AM
ArtAttack said...
I'm planning to purchase this pattern to make a muslin using Nancy Z's Pattern Fitting with Confidence. It has simple lines and I think will make a good basic learning pattern for her pivot and slide method...we'll see! Yours is lovely!
7/28/11 2:56 PM
Lucy Tallulah said...
I have a question about the sizing -- I hope you can help. I am busty and tall but think so I wear a size 6 or 8 in the store (granted with size inflation but still...) Based on my bust etc. measurements it sounds like I need at least a 14 in this thing, but I would be swimming in that size in something I got in the store. I got a vogue pattern recently and cut it out in a size 12. I ended up taking it in quite a bit. But that pattern was 6-12, in this case I either have to order the 6 8 10 or the 12 14 16. I guess my question is, what size do you typically buy in the store? Or, more like, is this the same size you buy in the store, and if not, how many sizes off? I hope that's not too nosy, I just want to get the right size range. Thank you!
12/18/11 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us