SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2947 (Halter Tops)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/02 0:30 AM
Last Updated:7/4/02 0:30 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Peggy, thanks for the review and tips. My high school dd would love this. She is very petite and the ones in RTW have been too big and low cut on the sides.
7/4/02 1:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Chartreuse snakeskin sounds (I'm drooling)delicious,one of my alltime favorite colors.the tops look great and maybe I'll make one for my princess too.
7/4/02 8:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Here we go again, Peggy! Parallel lives..... I made the same pattern, same view and it was too big for my DD. If you are considering this pattern, I would recommend dropping down a size, at least for the back on View D (maybe even more ...) I just love the idea of repeating the View D front on the back. So will Laura. Thanks, Peggy!
7/4/02 9:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I didn't think about just dropping the size in the back - that would work. Did you cut the elastic smaller? It wasn't tight enough on Janet's. Also, this age likes their clothes tighter than we do!!!
7/4/02 10:44 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Peggy - I didn't use smaller elastic because Laura usually needs extra width in back. Because I made it without her here, I guessed - and I was wrong. In other KS patterns, I've had to drop way down in size to get the kind of fit - snug - that she likes. I'll have to try a smaller size in this one, too. I can't wait to try your idea, with the ties on the shoulder.
7/4/02 6:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lou. said...
Let me know if you make View B, I have just ordered this pattern for that view, and I have ordered some black stretch velvet to make it out of.
12/4/02 11:29 AM
Peggy L said...
Lou - View B is the only one I haven't made- probably won't do one until spring. I think it would be great in the black stretch velvet. My only problems with it has been the elastic was too big - of course my daughter is a string bean and wears a size 6 in RTW.
12/4/02 12:12 PM
Lou. said...
I'm a a "string Bean" size 6 also :-) so the hint is fantastic thank-you.
12/5/02 7:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Lou - if you are narrow across the back you might want to cut that a little smaller. I think you could move it over the fold line a little.
12/5/02 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review