SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1213 (Misses' Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 624 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/11 9:26 PM
Last Updated:3/19/11 9:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Love your style, fantastic coat!!!
3/19/11 9:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, Ann!! You pull off the neatest looks!! AND you wear 'em, they don't wear you ;) VERY interesting "art work".
3/19/11 9:43 PM
Barbara V said...
So glad I got to see it! It's absolutely fabulous in style and fabrics and looks great on you - including the hat.
3/19/11 9:46 PM
frame said...
Fabulous! What a fun coat.
3/19/11 9:48 PM
DorothyK said...
I love your coat. I guess we will have to be very careful about what we choose to wear when we're out on the town together. Why am I not amazed that you had all that fabric in your stash? Look at how much space you have gained. Oh, and Marguerite looks lovely in it too.
3/19/11 10:23 PM
Terri A said...
That makes two of these brave pieces of art now - amazing:-)!!!! Fun and fantastic!
3/19/11 10:34 PM
mm said...
Wonderful.
3/19/11 11:09 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Very impressive! I LOVE it!!! GREAT job!
3/19/11 11:14 PM
taylormade said...
Well, Ann, as usual I love what you have done! I'm taking a class with Koos van den Akker this coming fall in Canada, so am looking at all his stuff! You did a great job combining fabrics. And your hat looks fabulous. I would like to know what specifically you would change about the fit? I know you said it seemed too big, but is there anything else that you would change? Would you recommend drapey fabrics for the body of the coat? Anything you can think of in terms of fabric choice would be helpful!
3/20/11 0:35 AM
Ann Smith said...
Taylormade: How great to take a class with the master! I envy. The recommended fabrics are light weight woolens, lt wt denim and linen. I think these are good choices as you don't want anything heavy or turning all those scallops will be difficult. I don't think drapey is good either which is why I interfaced (with pretty strong stuff) the one drapey fabric I was using. The pattern has all the scalloped edges interfaced so, again, not too heavy fabric. About the fit... I think this looks best if the upper part is fairly closely fit to the body. If not it looks really wide across because of the scallops at the upper arms. Also the A line will look better if the fit is closer at the top. I think this should be fit to be worn over light clothing as it is not designed to be a heavy coat for warmth. Hope that answers your questions.
3/20/11 0:55 AM
sfshaza said...
Just beautiful, Ann. An inspired combination of fabrics.
3/20/11 2:26 AM
rmusic1 said...
an amazing coat, and you can be confident no one else will have one quite like it
3/20/11 6:44 AM
pegsewer said...
great coat and write-up too. Hope to get mine done this fall. You must have a GREAT stash!
3/20/11 7:52 AM
Jane S said...
Oh, Ann, this is another fabulous creation. I love the sense of whimsy without clownish-ness. ANd how wonderful to already have all that fabric at home already.
3/20/11 8:17 AM
Ecrulace said...
What a fun coat! I must pick up this pattern
3/20/11 8:41 AM
Patti B said...
Someday, Ann, I want to wander through your closet! Fabulous coat as are Dorothy and sfshaza's. And of course you had teal from the 80s and what wonderful use you have made of the fabrics. Just a stunner.
3/20/11 9:21 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Absolutely awesome; I love the things you make and the way you wear them!
3/20/11 9:25 AM
Monabel said...
I agree about the excess room at the bust. What a fabulous pattern, though. Will use those buttonholes on other projects...
3/20/11 10:44 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your coat is gorgeous. Your choice of fabric is wonderful. You made a very unique coat that looks great on you.
3/20/11 12:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
All I can say is "WOW"!!!!!!! Your coat should be on the pattern envelope as the fabric you chose is a million times better!!! Can't believe they were all in your stash. Love, love, love the combination!!
3/21/11 9:21 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wonderful! Bravo! Your coat is just fabulous, love your fabric choices!
3/21/11 10:15 AM
Blooms said...
Oh I love this. Great fabric choices, especially the teal..it gives the jacket a real lift.
3/27/11 9:04 AM
Barbi 29 said...
Thanks for your comment on my coat! It means even more, coming from you. I loved your version too! I looked at all the views you posted for a VERY long time, and your post made me decide to join the site and share my coat too. OH - and your hat is such a FABULOUS touch! Bravo!!
3/28/11 4:06 PM
JETrinity said...
Great job, Ann. What a coat to wear in pride and top fashion.
4/21/11 12:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review