Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1213 (Misses' Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 616 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/11 9:26 PM
Last Updated:3/19/11 9:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Love your style, fantastic coat!!!
3/19/11 9:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, Ann!! You pull off the neatest looks!! AND you wear 'em, they don't wear you ;) VERY interesting "art work".
3/19/11 9:43 PM
Barbara V said...
So glad I got to see it! It's absolutely fabulous in style and fabrics and looks great on you - including the hat.
3/19/11 9:46 PM
frame said...
Fabulous! What a fun coat.
3/19/11 9:48 PM
DorothyK said...
I love your coat. I guess we will have to be very careful about what we choose to wear when we're out on the town together. Why am I not amazed that you had all that fabric in your stash? Look at how much space you have gained. Oh, and Marguerite looks lovely in it too.
3/19/11 10:23 PM
Terri A said...
That makes two of these brave pieces of art now - amazing:-)!!!! Fun and fantastic!
3/19/11 10:34 PM
mm said...
Wonderful.
3/19/11 11:09 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Very impressive! I LOVE it!!! GREAT job!
3/19/11 11:14 PM
taylormade said...
Well, Ann, as usual I love what you have done! I'm taking a class with Koos van den Akker this coming fall in Canada, so am looking at all his stuff! You did a great job combining fabrics. And your hat looks fabulous. I would like to know what specifically you would change about the fit? I know you said it seemed too big, but is there anything else that you would change? Would you recommend drapey fabrics for the body of the coat? Anything you can think of in terms of fabric choice would be helpful!
3/20/11 0:35 AM
Ann Smith said...
Taylormade: How great to take a class with the master! I envy. The recommended fabrics are light weight woolens, lt wt denim and linen. I think these are good choices as you don't want anything heavy or turning all those scallops will be difficult. I don't think drapey is good either which is why I interfaced (with pretty strong stuff) the one drapey fabric I was using. The pattern has all the scalloped edges interfaced so, again, not too heavy fabric. About the fit... I think this looks best if the upper part is fairly closely fit to the body. If not it looks really wide across because of the scallops at the upper arms. Also the A line will look better if the fit is closer at the top. I think this should be fit to be worn over light clothing as it is not designed to be a heavy coat for warmth. Hope that answers your questions.
3/20/11 0:55 AM
sfshaza said...
Just beautiful, Ann. An inspired combination of fabrics.
3/20/11 2:26 AM
rmusic1 said...
an amazing coat, and you can be confident no one else will have one quite like it
3/20/11 6:44 AM
pegsewer said...
great coat and write-up too. Hope to get mine done this fall. You must have a GREAT stash!
3/20/11 7:52 AM
Jane S said...
Oh, Ann, this is another fabulous creation. I love the sense of whimsy without clownish-ness. ANd how wonderful to already have all that fabric at home already.
3/20/11 8:17 AM
Ecrulace said...
What a fun coat! I must pick up this pattern
3/20/11 8:41 AM
Patti B said...
Someday, Ann, I want to wander through your closet! Fabulous coat as are Dorothy and sfshaza's. And of course you had teal from the 80s and what wonderful use you have made of the fabrics. Just a stunner.
3/20/11 9:21 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Absolutely awesome; I love the things you make and the way you wear them!
3/20/11 9:25 AM
Monabel said...
I agree about the excess room at the bust. What a fabulous pattern, though. Will use those buttonholes on other projects...
3/20/11 10:44 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your coat is gorgeous. Your choice of fabric is wonderful. You made a very unique coat that looks great on you.
3/20/11 12:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
All I can say is "WOW"!!!!!!! Your coat should be on the pattern envelope as the fabric you chose is a million times better!!! Can't believe they were all in your stash. Love, love, love the combination!!
3/21/11 9:21 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wonderful! Bravo! Your coat is just fabulous, love your fabric choices!
3/21/11 10:15 AM
Blooms said...
Oh I love this. Great fabric choices, especially the teal..it gives the jacket a real lift.
3/27/11 9:04 AM
Barbi 29 said...
Thanks for your comment on my coat! It means even more, coming from you. I loved your version too! I looked at all the views you posted for a VERY long time, and your post made me decide to join the site and share my coat too. OH - and your hat is such a FABULOUS touch! Bravo!!
3/28/11 4:06 PM
JETrinity said...
Great job, Ann. What a coat to wear in pride and top fashion.
4/21/11 12:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 2732
photo
Review by sassyseams... on 12/4/11
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-131
photo
Review by sky on 1/31/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us