Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8429 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 868 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:ahearta
photo
About aheartastar
WA USA
Member since: 5/27/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/11 12:02 PM
Last Updated:10/24/13 7:27 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8429
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by ahearta

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Coating  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Very Easy Vogue V8429 was a simple and straight forward pattern to follow. This jacket is actually the first piece of clothing I've ever made myself. The beautiful Armani wool, buttons, and pattern for this jacket were birthday gifts from my mother-in-law. She even included matching thread! Over the last many months, I've been slowly making this jacket in my free time (when I wasn't distracted by smaller projects or Sew-Alongs!).

My favorite part of the construction was seeing how much structure the lining added to the jacket. Just adding the lining made the jacket go from a few sewn together pieces of fabric to the shell of a jacket. I added a lining of a black bamboo/cotton blend. Since the fashion fabric was a high quality wool, I wanted to use an all-natural lining underneath. The only nice cotton sateen I found was red. While I liked the idea of a vibrant lining, I knew the lining on this particular pattern went right to the edge of the jacket (in the future I would probably add facings down the front edge and along the bottom). I was worried a peek of red might distract from the jacket itself. So, a black bamboo/cotton blend it was.

And, I love the finished product. I think it has a nice, subtle Asian feel to it that sets it apart from the ready-to-wear jackets I currently own. I've worn it out a few times now, and I've gotten many compliments from my friends. When I tell them I made the jacket myself, they all reply that they want to make it, too!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Wow! I just had to click on your review! Vogue's drawings are not enticing as your live version. You created an impressively stunning coat!
3/20/11 12:18 PM
thirteenstitches said...
LOVE it!!! I need to make one too now : )
3/20/11 12:24 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is the first piece you made for yourself - wonderful and impressive result!! Nice MIL!! Really great work and so much nicer than shown on the pattern envelope
3/20/11 12:45 PM
Elona said...
Holy mackerel, your first garment?? It's stunning. Congratulations.
3/20/11 12:56 PM
pegsewer said...
Great jacket and review and I love those buttons!
3/20/11 1:05 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my! What a wonderful jacket - and your first completed garment!?!!!! This jacket looks great on you. This is a great match of fabric to pattern. What a nice gift from your MIL! Thanks for mentioning, and showing, how the lining goes so close to the edge. Your idea of facings is helpful. Hmm, I have some fabric waiting to be made into a jacket.....
3/20/11 1:45 PM
valerie sews said...
Oh my goodness, it's gorgeous on you. Well done!
3/20/11 2:13 PM
Lili123 said...
wow!!!your jacket look awesome, i want one...
3/20/11 3:51 PM
Kay Y said...
You are doing really well - I would not have guessed this was a beginner project! Very pretty on you!
3/20/11 3:56 PM
sewtime said...
Another WOW, very cute!!
3/20/11 4:02 PM
VtMartha said...
Stunning!
3/20/11 4:28 PM
Christas said...
Super cute jacket! Those buttons are so nice!
3/20/11 5:25 PM
mm said...
You look great in that jacket.
3/20/11 6:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. You will love wearing it.
3/20/11 9:12 PM
cleverkitty said...
I want your mother in law right now, oh my gosh are you lucky, beautiful jacket ( I am writing down this pattern) smart (first piece of clothing) and your mother in law is in tune, not to mention you look great in this jacket that fits. phew you blew me away :)
3/20/11 9:37 PM
Barbara V said...
What a beautiful jacket. A job well done!
3/20/11 11:30 PM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
3/21/11 10:31 AM
frame said...
Very nice coat. Looks wonderful on you.
3/21/11 11:12 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
LOVELOVELOVE it.
3/21/11 12:45 PM
Karendee said...
I find it unbelievable that this is your first garment ever. You did a gorgeous job on this coat/jacket; it is just elegant and beautifully made.
3/21/11 3:39 PM
ahearta said...
Thank you all so much for your wonderful compliments on the jacket. It is in fact the first garment that I ever started sewing, but I did take a break during the month of February to make a shirt for my husband during Male Pattern Boldness's Men's Shirt Sew-Along. So, its completion marks my second ever garment to finish, first ever for me. As I said in my review, it's a straightforward and simple pattern. Much more so than a man's shirt. This jacket was easy in comparison! Next I'm going to try my hand at some pants, and I'm anticipating those are going to be much more challenging. I've already broken out my sewing book on how to fit pants, and I haven't even traced the pattern!
3/21/11 3:56 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great jacket and it looks terrific on you. The fabric is brilliant - what a nice mother-in-law you have!
3/21/11 5:50 PM
janet said...
BEAUTIFUL! I have this pattern--I had no idea that the results could be as wonderful as your example.
3/21/11 7:12 PM
Erin D said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket. Why can't more family members give gifts like Armani wool fabric?
3/21/11 11:36 PM
Clareew said...
That is brilliant, well done
3/22/11 2:36 PM
yummymummy38 said...
wow, well done on your first project, it looks v professional! love the choice of buttons.
3/26/11 11:24 AM
BillieJean said...
This is truly lovely. Great job!
10/25/13 7:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2004-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 1/6/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4136
photo
Review by DianaVodo on 4/20/11
Read Review

McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us