SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8429 

2 more reviews
Viewed 878 times 
Reviewed by:ahearta
photo

 
 
About aheartastar
WA USA
Member since: 5/27/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/11 12:02 PM
Last Updated:10/24/13 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
This is truly lovely. Great job!
10/25/13 7:32 AM
yummymummy38 said...
wow, well done on your first project, it looks v professional! love the choice of buttons.
3/26/11 11:24 AM
Clareew said...
That is brilliant, well done
3/22/11 2:36 PM
Erin D said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket. Why can't more family members give gifts like Armani wool fabric?
3/21/11 11:36 PM
janet said...
BEAUTIFUL! I have this pattern--I had no idea that the results could be as wonderful as your example.
3/21/11 7:12 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great jacket and it looks terrific on you. The fabric is brilliant - what a nice mother-in-law you have!
3/21/11 5:50 PM
ahearta said...
Thank you all so much for your wonderful compliments on the jacket. It is in fact the first garment that I ever started sewing, but I did take a break during the month of February to make a shirt for my husband during Male Pattern Boldness's Men's Shirt Sew-Along. So, its completion marks my second ever garment to finish, first ever for me. As I said in my review, it's a straightforward and simple pattern. Much more so than a man's shirt. This jacket was easy in comparison! Next I'm going to try my hand at some pants, and I'm anticipating those are going to be much more challenging. I've already broken out my sewing book on how to fit pants, and I haven't even traced the pattern!
3/21/11 3:56 PM
Karendee said...
I find it unbelievable that this is your first garment ever. You did a gorgeous job on this coat/jacket; it is just elegant and beautifully made.
3/21/11 3:39 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
LOVELOVELOVE it.
3/21/11 12:45 PM
frame said...
Very nice coat. Looks wonderful on you.
3/21/11 11:12 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
3/21/11 10:31 AM
Barbara V said...
What a beautiful jacket. A job well done!
3/20/11 11:30 PM
cleverkitty said...
I want your mother in law right now, oh my gosh are you lucky, beautiful jacket ( I am writing down this pattern) smart (first piece of clothing) and your mother in law is in tune, not to mention you look great in this jacket that fits. phew you blew me away :)
3/20/11 9:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. You will love wearing it.
3/20/11 9:12 PM
mm said...
You look great in that jacket.
3/20/11 6:09 PM
Christas said...
Super cute jacket! Those buttons are so nice!
3/20/11 5:25 PM
VtMartha said...
Stunning!
3/20/11 4:28 PM
sewtime said...
Another WOW, very cute!!
3/20/11 4:02 PM
Kay Y said...
You are doing really well - I would not have guessed this was a beginner project! Very pretty on you!
3/20/11 3:56 PM
Lili123 said...
wow!!!your jacket look awesome, i want one...
3/20/11 3:51 PM
valerie sews said...
Oh my goodness, it's gorgeous on you. Well done!
3/20/11 2:13 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my! What a wonderful jacket - and your first completed garment!?!!!! This jacket looks great on you. This is a great match of fabric to pattern. What a nice gift from your MIL! Thanks for mentioning, and showing, how the lining goes so close to the edge. Your idea of facings is helpful. Hmm, I have some fabric waiting to be made into a jacket.....
3/20/11 1:45 PM
pegsewer said...
Great jacket and review and I love those buttons!
3/20/11 1:05 PM
Elona said...
Holy mackerel, your first garment?? It's stunning. Congratulations.
3/20/11 12:56 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is the first piece you made for yourself - wonderful and impressive result!! Nice MIL!! Really great work and so much nicer than shown on the pattern envelope
3/20/11 12:45 PM
thirteenstitches said...
LOVE it!!! I need to make one too now : )
3/20/11 12:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! I just had to click on your review! Vogue's drawings are not enticing as your live version. You created an impressively stunning coat!
3/20/11 12:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Burda 7447

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now