SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1036 (MISSES' JACKET)

13 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/11 11:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewer said...
Great jacket, love the style and white denim is so nice for summer. Looks fantastic.
7/2/11 11:20 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Okay Lynn that jacket is way too big in the back. If you go down to size D in the back do you think it will affect the front bust? Great review.
7/2/11 2:43 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for the review Lynnelle -- I have this pattern and some great brown denim in my "future projects" pile. Your in-depth review points out several areas I will need to watch when I begin my jacket.
7/2/11 3:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket and super helpful review. Thanks!
7/2/11 6:32 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking jacket! The white denim is perfect for summer.
7/2/11 7:01 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
Really nice work, as usual. I'm sure you need at least one more of these in dark denim, then maybe another one or two in other fabrics to match casual pants. At least I would, when a pattern goes together so well.
7/2/11 7:23 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out great. I have this pattern and it's been on my "want to do" list for a while. Thanks for the tip on the back since I have a small back anyway. Yes, you should definitely go down a size or two in the back.
7/3/11 0:29 AM
Scheryka said...
Great job! Crisp and white!
7/3/11 0:34 AM
marec said...
Lynn, This looks great and your workmanship is amazing. I love this jacket in white denim. Wouldn't this be nice in red?
7/3/11 2:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your jacket. I have made it in pale pink with red top stitching but haven't yet done my review. I slavishly followed the pattern and put in the sleeve head, which I had never heard of let alone ever done. Everything worked perfectly except for that bottom band. That was unpicked a number of times, and I think I have it right now. I love, love, love my pink jacket and have sewn a whole summer wardrobe around it. I'm about to go to England for the birth of my first grandchild so naturally I had to have a completely new set of summer clothes. Right? Of course. Just in case I don't ever write my review the other thing I noticed with my own jacket was the difference a really high quality interfacing made. Other than that you have said it all for me. Great review.
7/3/11 4:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an amazing jacket. I've been wanting to make this for a long time, and your outstanding review just might inspire me to get on with it.
7/3/11 4:35 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Really nice job. It's so hard to fit with heavy denim like that. Nice pockets!
7/3/11 8:59 AM
becca a said...
What a great jean jacket! You always write such thorough, informative reviews.
7/3/11 9:19 AM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you so much for the compliments. They mean a lot considering this jacket almost didn't make it. =) Near the end of completion, I was not feeling it at all. I couldn't bring myself to attach the sleeve facings because I just didn't like it. Friends Melody, Steffie, and Faye all encouraged me to finish and take a second look at it. I'm glad I did. The back indeed is roomy, so I will either go down a size or take bigger seam allowances next time. I'm working on another Betzina pattern (V7903) and found the same issue with the back. L
7/3/11 10:04 AM
Judy Kski said...
I just love the seam details on this jacket. You've really done a great job making it. I'm definitely going to pick up this pattern after seeing what you've done with it.
7/3/11 4:29 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Great looking jacket, I really like it it white. With a size adjustment I'm sure the next one will be just right!
7/3/11 5:01 PM
Steffie said...
Your jacket turned out very nice, Lynn! I am glad that you decided to finish it. :)
7/4/11 8:07 AM
Margaret said...
Great jacket, wonderful topstitching, looks very crisp! I'm glad you decided to finish it and are happy with it!
7/5/11 5:28 PM
sewingmel said...
Great review! I have been working on this for the last few days, and I am to the mohair part. I can't find mine in my sewing room, but I think I will give fleece a try. Thanks!
7/6/11 10:05 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I just bought some linen with this jacket in mind. So of course, I am checking reviews. No FBA? That caught my attention also.
3/10/13 2:08 PM
terrilee said...
Beautiful jacket..great review!
4/7/13 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now