SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1036 (MISSES' JACKET)

13 more reviews
Viewed 580 times 
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/11 11:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
terrilee said...
Beautiful jacket..great review!
4/7/13 7:47 AM
KathySews said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I just bought some linen with this jacket in mind. So of course, I am checking reviews. No FBA? That caught my attention also.
3/10/13 2:08 PM
sewingmel said...
Great review! I have been working on this for the last few days, and I am to the mohair part. I can't find mine in my sewing room, but I think I will give fleece a try. Thanks!
7/6/11 10:05 PM
Margaret said...
Great jacket, wonderful topstitching, looks very crisp! I'm glad you decided to finish it and are happy with it!
7/5/11 5:28 PM
Steffie said...
Your jacket turned out very nice, Lynn! I am glad that you decided to finish it. :)
7/4/11 8:07 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great looking jacket, I really like it it white. With a size adjustment I'm sure the next one will be just right!
7/3/11 5:01 PM
Judy Kski said...
I just love the seam details on this jacket. You've really done a great job making it. I'm definitely going to pick up this pattern after seeing what you've done with it.
7/3/11 4:29 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you so much for the compliments. They mean a lot considering this jacket almost didn't make it. =) Near the end of completion, I was not feeling it at all. I couldn't bring myself to attach the sleeve facings because I just didn't like it. Friends Melody, Steffie, and Faye all encouraged me to finish and take a second look at it. I'm glad I did. The back indeed is roomy, so I will either go down a size or take bigger seam allowances next time. I'm working on another Betzina pattern (V7903) and found the same issue with the back. L
7/3/11 10:04 AM
becca a said...
What a great jean jacket! You always write such thorough, informative reviews.
7/3/11 9:19 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Really nice job. It's so hard to fit with heavy denim like that. Nice pockets!
7/3/11 8:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an amazing jacket. I've been wanting to make this for a long time, and your outstanding review just might inspire me to get on with it.
7/3/11 4:35 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your jacket. I have made it in pale pink with red top stitching but haven't yet done my review. I slavishly followed the pattern and put in the sleeve head, which I had never heard of let alone ever done. Everything worked perfectly except for that bottom band. That was unpicked a number of times, and I think I have it right now. I love, love, love my pink jacket and have sewn a whole summer wardrobe around it. I'm about to go to England for the birth of my first grandchild so naturally I had to have a completely new set of summer clothes. Right? Of course. Just in case I don't ever write my review the other thing I noticed with my own jacket was the difference a really high quality interfacing made. Other than that you have said it all for me. Great review.
7/3/11 4:27 AM
marec said...
Lynn, This looks great and your workmanship is amazing. I love this jacket in white denim. Wouldn't this be nice in red?
7/3/11 2:47 AM
Scheryka said...
Great job! Crisp and white!
7/3/11 0:34 AM
Nancywin said...
This turned out great. I have this pattern and it's been on my "want to do" list for a while. Thanks for the tip on the back since I have a small back anyway. Yes, you should definitely go down a size or two in the back.
7/3/11 0:29 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Really nice work, as usual. I'm sure you need at least one more of these in dark denim, then maybe another one or two in other fabrics to match casual pants. At least I would, when a pattern goes together so well.
7/2/11 7:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking jacket! The white denim is perfect for summer.
7/2/11 7:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket and super helpful review. Thanks!
7/2/11 6:32 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for the review Lynnelle -- I have this pattern and some great brown denim in my "future projects" pile. Your in-depth review points out several areas I will need to watch when I begin my jacket.
7/2/11 3:08 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Okay Lynn that jacket is way too big in the back. If you go down to size D in the back do you think it will affect the front bust? Great review.
7/2/11 2:43 PM
sunnysewer said...
Great jacket, love the style and white denim is so nice for summer. Looks fantastic.
7/2/11 11:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 2512

photo
by: Mia007

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info