Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 1627 (Men's Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 3157 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/04 2:15 AM
Last Updated:7/25/04 3:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
So very professional. Thank you for such a thorough review and all the hints about the packets and such. I'll definitely bookmark this review. Now if I can only get DH to stop wearing T-shirts to work.
7/25/04 3:33 PM
Rustybobn said...
Nice, Liana! Thanks for all of the tips and pictures. I'll definitely be bookmarking this for later reference!
7/25/04 3:39 PM
Mini said...
What a wonderful review. Your shirts look great! I learned that in-seam sleeve placket from one of Nancy Zieman's books (I think she ws a student of Barbara Hellyer) and use it for all my long sleeve blouses and shirts. I have read Hellyer's original Sewing Magic book, but didn't know there was a sequel. Sherril, make your husband one custom shirt, and he will be hooked:).
7/25/04 3:41 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful shirt, Liana! I loved the glimpse into your DH's closet - those bright colors are wonderful. I too make my DH's shirts - once you start they won't let you stop. :-)
7/25/04 3:57 PM
mamakooz said...
I REALLY LIKE IT, YOU DID A SUPER GREAT JOB!
7/25/04 4:04 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I am more than impressed - such a wonderful job!
7/25/04 4:10 PM
PVA said...
Liana, what a great review -- thank you so much! Your work is always so professional, and these shirts are just great!
7/25/04 4:29 PM
Yestersew said...
Really nice. I've always considered men's shirts a real test of skill because everyone knows what they should look like.I have made them for my husband, but he has a hard time visualizing what fabric on the bolt would look like as a shirt. He'd rather pick them out already made.
7/25/04 4:29 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Lovely sewing, Liana! Your thorough review has me considering making shirts for DH. Thanks for the book reference. I'll be looking for that one.
7/25/04 5:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love the monogramed collar. Very cool.
7/25/04 5:06 PM
MsConnie said...
Beautiful job, Liana! Great review - I'll bookmark it too, just for the tips! And your handsome model looks extremely happy in his custom shirt(s)!
7/25/04 5:20 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
These are gorgeous, Liana, and the details are meticulous. I'm so grateful you posted this review today, as I've spent the afternoon with my nose buried in _Shirtmaking_ by David Coffin in preparation for starting KS 2777 for my hubby. I especially appreciate the detailed tips!
7/25/04 6:18 PM
AnneM said...
That's a lot of shirts! I showed my DH, and told him don't hold his breath before I make that many. (I thought I was doing well making him a t-shirt, too.) ;) I think that is the same interfacing I used for DH's tie.
7/25/04 6:18 PM
Levone said...
Wow, you have a wonderful collection of shirts that you've made for your husband. Great review!
7/25/04 6:32 PM
drsue said...
Wow! Very impressive.
7/25/04 6:43 PM
sewgirl said...
beautiful collection-I like the labels you put in the shirts, as well as the monogramme-looks very professional.
7/25/04 6:53 PM
Teri said...
Liana, what a great review and so many wonderful shirts. I make shirts for my husband, but my collars are starting turn up after many washings. I will for sure try the Pellon. I second Gigi's comment about once you start they won't let you stop! My husband hates wearing RTW:) Good luck at the fair!
7/25/04 6:57 PM
cindyann said...
Wow, impressive work. Your workmanship is beautiful. I can see why you have won Best of Show.
7/25/04 6:59 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Great review... thanks for the constructions details!
7/25/04 8:07 PM
alicia said...
that's one heck of a row of shirts. Wonderful close-up shots. beautiful work!!
7/25/04 9:02 PM
SandraB said...
Wow!! great review Liana. Love your shirts. Very professional looking. THis has me thinking about sewing shirts for my DH now. I'm so impressed with your work.
7/25/04 10:27 PM
TanyaMT said...
What a wonderful review. Thanks for sharing so many tips.
7/25/04 11:14 PM
Liana said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments! I agree that once you make someone a custom shirt, they'll never want anything else!
7/26/04 0:01 AM
pharmercoon said...
I like sewing shirts for my husband and sons. Hope you get best of Show. Good luck!
7/26/04 4:39 AM
PixieCat said...
So nice - it doesn't look homemade. Very professional detailing!
7/26/04 5:39 AM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you very, very much for this wonderful review. I am so impressed with your beautiful stitching and perfectly made shirts.
7/26/04 8:07 AM
Hilary said...
What a beatiful collection of shirts. Liana! Your workmanship is impeccable, and I appreciate all the tips too! I will definately refer to them when I finally get aroulnd to making DH a shirt or two :oP
7/26/04 9:26 AM
bettymell said...
Liana, you never cease to amaze me. Your sewing is quite outstanding and as beautiful as you are! :-)) Your model is cute, too.
7/26/04 7:55 PM
Karla Jones said...
OMG! you did such a wonderful job. Professional quality.
7/31/04 8:59 PM
Soph said...
WOW! What professional work!!! You've definitely inspired me! Have you been taught by anyone? Regards Sophie
4/6/05 8:56 PM
cc510 said...
You did an excellent job!
11/12/05 6:45 PM
Christas said...
I clicked on this review to see the pattern you used for your husband's pajama shirt. WOW! What a treat. The photo with the glimpse into his closet is so impressive. I know he must be so proud to have so many beautiful shirts sewn by you!
2/13/09 6:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us