SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 970 (loose-fitting pant)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1965 times 
Reviewed by:Tini
photo

 
 
About Tinistarstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/04 4:47 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Tini, you did a great job to alter the jeans to fit you very nice.
7/25/04 8:22 AM
Linda E. said...
great job on the jeans. I have this pattern I had big plans for it just don't find enough time to get to it.
7/25/04 8:36 AM
Mollykat said...
Gret review! Thanks for the fitting advice for these jeans.
7/25/04 8:40 AM
drsue said...
Thanks for the warnings on this pattern. I own it to and have a similar figure so you comments will be very helpful.
7/25/04 9:06 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for this review Tini. I've looked at that pattern a few time. Thanks for the tips. Considering your problems with sizing you got a nice looking pair of jeans.
7/25/04 10:28 AM
Hilary said...
Great job on your jeans, Tini! I am having the same problem with baggy rear pants :oP I am going to go w/ Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse book's recommendations to go down 2 sizes from your hip measurement and just increase at the hip and waist if needed. I have made pants using her method before and they fit beautifully, but this time I used PFRP and they're way too big. Maybe you can find a copy, she uses the pivot and slide method which is really easy, I think. Good luck with your next pair! (btw, I think these look good on you).
7/25/04 10:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
"a more female figure with energy reserves at the hip " LOL. I LOVE it! I'm not fat, I'm a natural resource! Tini, the jeans look great and you deserve a lot of credit for sticking with the project when you encountered the fitting problems. For those of us who are too cowardly to attempt making all the changes necessary, may I recommend Jalie 968 - a slightly lowrise cut with either straight or bootcut (Jalie describes it both ways). 968 has far less ease in the hip (3/4", I think) but still has the great Jalie crotch draft - best I've ever used. When I used 968 to make shorts for DD, I went up a size for a roomier fit, and they still fit and looked great.
7/25/04 11:00 AM
Levone said...
Great job on your jeans. They look good on you.
7/25/04 1:33 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Tini, whatever problems you were having, it looks like you overcame them. The jeans look great.
7/25/04 2:28 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Tini, have you read the last issue of Threads? I think Peggy Sagers did an article on fixing that area of the back. I have not rried it on my jeans as the issue came after I had them cut out! But I may have to try it on the next pair of pants!
7/25/04 6:38 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks so much for this informative review. I may have to try these since they run so big!
7/25/04 8:33 PM
SandraB said...
Love your jeans Tini. I Think they look really good on you. Thanks for a very informative review.
7/25/04 10:11 PM
Vibek said...
Good job! I agree with you on the back pockets. Why not trace of a pocket you like from another pair of jeans? You dont even have to use any of your own jeans for that ...
7/26/04 5:30 AM
Julia Graham said...
Tini, you and I have the same lower-body type (I've used Jalie too and have that same size-gap from U to X between waist and hip) so your reviews are always helpful to me. One thing that has helped me tremendously with fitting pants (and I haven't yet reviewed the pairs I've done this on) is a curved (also called contour) waistband. If the waistband is wider than usual (like 2-3 inches) it works even better. I slice the waistband from top to bottom on each half, left and right, and overlap a 1/4 inch or more at the top only, leaving the bottom edge its original size so it still fits onto the top of the back pants piece. I _also_ do what I think you're describing, taking out sometimes as much as 2 inches at the center back waist seam, but the slash-and-overlap approach to the waistband really helps it fit in around my sway back. I'll keep watching for your pant reviews!
10/21/04 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Studio Tantrum Redondo Skirt

photo
by: morzel

Review
Simplicity 3803 (circa 1965)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now