Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5606 (misses dress) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 487 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Claverie
photo
About Claveriestarstar
NC USA
Member since: 12/23/10
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/11 1:21 PM
Last Updated:3/22/11 1:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
I know what you mean about knits. Some of my stash has been devoted to just practicing knit sewing:-) It looks comfy though and the fabric is pretty.
3/22/11 1:39 PM
Darby1412 said...
Knits are easy, try something like an ITY/Dry knit to start with, it's a lot easier to learn to sew knits on. This dress would be delicious in a rayon/silk jersey, something to work up to. There are heaps of websites and articles that talk about sewing knits, just do a search. My tip, don't pull on the fabric or let it hang when sewing this is what causes it to stretch and ripple. Use your serger to overlock the edges and then using a special sewing tape that is sticky on both sides (I use Lite Steam-a-Seam it's usually in the quilting section) turn a hem on arm and skirt, iron it down and then use a twin needle to sew a seam. Use the right needles and thread and you really can't go wrong. Hope that was helpful and not scary :-). Great job for your first time sewing with knits - it's all a learning process.
3/22/11 5:24 PM
Claverie said...
Thanks for the recommendations. This wasn't my first time, but I tend to stay away from knits and as a result I haven't developed a skill for them. I made a simple t- with a ruffle neck edge earlier with the same fabric... it's a great top, but the neck really stretched out :(. I have better knits on their way from fabric.com and I certainly don't want to waste them. I'll try the sticky tape ;) Thanks
3/22/11 7:12 PM
sachalsmom said...
I love, love, love the color!!! I wish my green were brighter! You did a good job and I especially like the way you tied it one shouldered (I'll have to steal that idea for my cruise!) I really considered "lettuce edge" hemming mine, and probably will on the next one, just to give it some interest. I think you'll find that a jersey type knit will be a lot easier to work with than a cotton/tshirt knit on this dress. It took me a long time not to be afraid of knits or the serger for that matter. I just lover them. I'm sure you'll find that once you get a few more under your belt too. (BTW-the worst part of knits, the pinning and cutting out...sort of like silks). Good luck on the next one!!!
3/22/11 10:06 PM
lauraborealis said...
Adding this pattern to my wish list. Love it. Great spring dress. I love the color!
3/23/11 1:24 PM
Claverie said...
sachalsmom: well, the pic is a tad sloppy but the dress looked pretty good on, if i may say so myself. About the fabric: 1/2 off clearance, Hancocks, which is why I bought 4 yards of it! I used this same fabric for a Burda pattern that I'll post in a day or so. I have ITY knit on the way for another one of these or the Burda. Check back ;) (Thanks y'all for the positive feedback.)
3/23/11 7:45 PM
memawi said...
I'm inspired to try this dress after reading the two positive reviews of it-- thanks ladies! I do think I'll try the "lettuce edge" that sachalsmom suggested, just to make it a little different, and perhaps make it look a little more finished. I got some great 100% polyester knit from Joann's for $2 a yard, so to make the entire dress will be less than $10. Which is pretty awesome.
3/25/11 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

No Pattern Used Sewing machine cover
photo
Review by Nessa09 on 4/12/10
Read Review

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3601
photo
Review by mhoutz on 8/4/13
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us