SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5606 (misses dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:Claverie
photo

 
 
About Claveriestarstar
NC USA
Member since: 12/23/10
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/11 1:21 PM
Last Updated:3/22/11 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
memawi said...
I'm inspired to try this dress after reading the two positive reviews of it-- thanks ladies! I do think I'll try the "lettuce edge" that sachalsmom suggested, just to make it a little different, and perhaps make it look a little more finished. I got some great 100% polyester knit from Joann's for $2 a yard, so to make the entire dress will be less than $10. Which is pretty awesome.
3/25/11 2:52 PM
Claverie said...
sachalsmom: well, the pic is a tad sloppy but the dress looked pretty good on, if i may say so myself. About the fabric: 1/2 off clearance, Hancocks, which is why I bought 4 yards of it! I used this same fabric for a Burda pattern that I'll post in a day or so. I have ITY knit on the way for another one of these or the Burda. Check back ;) (Thanks y'all for the positive feedback.)
3/23/11 7:45 PM
lauraborealis said...
Adding this pattern to my wish list. Love it. Great spring dress. I love the color!
3/23/11 1:24 PM
sachalsmom said...
I love, love, love the color!!! I wish my green were brighter! You did a good job and I especially like the way you tied it one shouldered (I'll have to steal that idea for my cruise!) I really considered "lettuce edge" hemming mine, and probably will on the next one, just to give it some interest. I think you'll find that a jersey type knit will be a lot easier to work with than a cotton/tshirt knit on this dress. It took me a long time not to be afraid of knits or the serger for that matter. I just lover them. I'm sure you'll find that once you get a few more under your belt too. (BTW-the worst part of knits, the pinning and cutting out...sort of like silks). Good luck on the next one!!!
3/22/11 10:06 PM
Claverie said...
Thanks for the recommendations. This wasn't my first time, but I tend to stay away from knits and as a result I haven't developed a skill for them. I made a simple t- with a ruffle neck edge earlier with the same fabric... it's a great top, but the neck really stretched out :(. I have better knits on their way from fabric.com and I certainly don't want to waste them. I'll try the sticky tape ;) Thanks
3/22/11 7:12 PM
Darby1412 said...
Knits are easy, try something like an ITY/Dry knit to start with, it's a lot easier to learn to sew knits on. This dress would be delicious in a rayon/silk jersey, something to work up to. There are heaps of websites and articles that talk about sewing knits, just do a search. My tip, don't pull on the fabric or let it hang when sewing this is what causes it to stretch and ripple. Use your serger to overlock the edges and then using a special sewing tape that is sticky on both sides (I use Lite Steam-a-Seam it's usually in the quilting section) turn a hem on arm and skirt, iron it down and then use a twin needle to sew a seam. Use the right needles and thread and you really can't go wrong. Hope that was helpful and not scary :-). Great job for your first time sewing with knits - it's all a learning process.
3/22/11 5:24 PM
Terri A said...
I know what you mean about knits. Some of my stash has been devoted to just practicing knit sewing:-) It looks comfy though and the fabric is pretty.
3/22/11 1:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info