SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5606 (misses dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:Claverie
photo

 
 
About Claveriestarstar
NC USA
Member since: 12/23/10
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/11 1:21 PM
Last Updated:3/22/11 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
I know what you mean about knits. Some of my stash has been devoted to just practicing knit sewing:-) It looks comfy though and the fabric is pretty.
3/22/11 1:39 PM
Darby1412 said...
Knits are easy, try something like an ITY/Dry knit to start with, it's a lot easier to learn to sew knits on. This dress would be delicious in a rayon/silk jersey, something to work up to. There are heaps of websites and articles that talk about sewing knits, just do a search. My tip, don't pull on the fabric or let it hang when sewing this is what causes it to stretch and ripple. Use your serger to overlock the edges and then using a special sewing tape that is sticky on both sides (I use Lite Steam-a-Seam it's usually in the quilting section) turn a hem on arm and skirt, iron it down and then use a twin needle to sew a seam. Use the right needles and thread and you really can't go wrong. Hope that was helpful and not scary :-). Great job for your first time sewing with knits - it's all a learning process.
3/22/11 5:24 PM
Claverie said...
Thanks for the recommendations. This wasn't my first time, but I tend to stay away from knits and as a result I haven't developed a skill for them. I made a simple t- with a ruffle neck edge earlier with the same fabric... it's a great top, but the neck really stretched out :(. I have better knits on their way from fabric.com and I certainly don't want to waste them. I'll try the sticky tape ;) Thanks
3/22/11 7:12 PM
sachalsmom said...
I love, love, love the color!!! I wish my green were brighter! You did a good job and I especially like the way you tied it one shouldered (I'll have to steal that idea for my cruise!) I really considered "lettuce edge" hemming mine, and probably will on the next one, just to give it some interest. I think you'll find that a jersey type knit will be a lot easier to work with than a cotton/tshirt knit on this dress. It took me a long time not to be afraid of knits or the serger for that matter. I just lover them. I'm sure you'll find that once you get a few more under your belt too. (BTW-the worst part of knits, the pinning and cutting out...sort of like silks). Good luck on the next one!!!
3/22/11 10:06 PM
lauraborealis said...
Adding this pattern to my wish list. Love it. Great spring dress. I love the color!
3/23/11 1:24 PM
Claverie said...
sachalsmom: well, the pic is a tad sloppy but the dress looked pretty good on, if i may say so myself. About the fabric: 1/2 off clearance, Hancocks, which is why I bought 4 yards of it! I used this same fabric for a Burda pattern that I'll post in a day or so. I have ITY knit on the way for another one of these or the Burda. Check back ;) (Thanks y'all for the positive feedback.)
3/23/11 7:45 PM
memawi said...
I'm inspired to try this dress after reading the two positive reviews of it-- thanks ladies! I do think I'll try the "lettuce edge" that sachalsmom suggested, just to make it a little different, and perhaps make it look a little more finished. I got some great 100% polyester knit from Joann's for $2 a yard, so to make the entire dress will be less than $10. Which is pretty awesome.
3/25/11 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review