SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9672 (Corset)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2160 times 
Reviewed by:Carina
photo

 
 
About Carinastar
IRELAND
Member since: 1/19/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/04 5:49 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cleopatra said...
Carina, after reading your review, I would love to make this top.
5/1/05 3:30 AM
Sew it seams said...
Carina, your review is very helpful. I, too learn with every single dress I make. I have made a few wedding gowns, but each time, it seems I try something different, and it helps to have this site to read of other's experiences with formalwear construction. I appreciate reading your reviews. I hope you will post the photos of the new corset you will make as well. BTW, the color is beautiful on you.
7/25/04 9:23 AM
AnneM said...
Well, it looks like it is going to look great! I love your informative pictures.
7/25/04 8:36 AM
Carina said...
@Clare: I made a wide leg trousers from a very lightweight cotton for the same occasion. It's black with a kind of viscose stitching (like soutache braiding) on top of it. You really can't see it properly in the picture, therefore I didn't bother showing it. But the cotton fabric is worth a picture, so I added it to the website! @Tini: yeah.... forgot to mention that: I always interline bodices, so this one is interlined as well, gives a nice body, too. By the way, sometimes you can pick up this pattern at ebay or other sites, who have OOP's. I got mine from www.grandmashouse.ws a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, her website must be down at the moment, otherwise I would have linked it properly.
7/25/04 7:31 AM
Tini said...
I do make the same experience as you, but fortunately I made a muslin. I also recommend making an interlining too! But this pattern is just great. Unfortunately it is oop... :(
7/25/04 6:58 AM
Gail S said...
I know you can see all the mistakes, but it really looks very nice. Much better than I could do!
7/25/04 6:29 AM
clare said...
It fits you well and looks lovely! I have a load of curtain shot taffeta and was wondering what to do with it! What did you wear it with?
7/25/04 6:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-112

photo
by: dillyo

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

More Info
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info