SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9672 (Corset)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2166 times 
Reviewed by:Carina
photo

 
 
About Carinastar
IRELAND
Member since: 1/19/03
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/04 5:49 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cleopatra said... (5/1/05 3:30 AM) Reply
Carina, after reading your review, I would love to make this top.
Sew it seams said... (7/25/04 9:23 AM) Reply
Carina, your review is very helpful. I, too learn with every single dress I make. I have made a few wedding gowns, but each time, it seems I try something different, and it helps to have this site to read of other's experiences with formalwear construction. I appreciate reading your reviews. I hope you will post the photos of the new corset you will make as well. BTW, the color is beautiful on you.
AnneM said... (7/25/04 8:36 AM) Reply
Well, it looks like it is going to look great! I love your informative pictures.
Carina said... (7/25/04 7:31 AM) Reply
@Clare: I made a wide leg trousers from a very lightweight cotton for the same occasion. It's black with a kind of viscose stitching (like soutache braiding) on top of it. You really can't see it properly in the picture, therefore I didn't bother showing it. But the cotton fabric is worth a picture, so I added it to the website! @Tini: yeah.... forgot to mention that: I always interline bodices, so this one is interlined as well, gives a nice body, too. By the way, sometimes you can pick up this pattern at ebay or other sites, who have OOP's. I got mine from www.grandmashouse.ws a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately, her website must be down at the moment, otherwise I would have linked it properly.
Tini said... (7/25/04 6:58 AM) Reply
I do make the same experience as you, but fortunately I made a muslin. I also recommend making an interlining too! But this pattern is just great. Unfortunately it is oop... :(
Gail S said... (7/25/04 6:29 AM) Reply
I know you can see all the mistakes, but it really looks very nice. Much better than I could do!
clare said... (7/25/04 6:11 AM) Reply
It fits you well and looks lovely! I have a load of curtain shot taffeta and was wondering what to do with it! What did you wear it with?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details