SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2593 (Misses Tops and Headband Cynthia Rowley Collection)

34 more reviews
Viewed 293 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 7:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy1955 said...
Thank you for the review. I just cut out this pattern and was confused about Step 1 as well. Your explanation helped!
5/19/11 8:36 PM
BJ1400 said...
Looks great. I love the color too. Excellent review.
4/2/11 8:55 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great! Love the fabric -- more interesting than on the envelope pic. I would guess (along with cairncrew) that maybe the sleeved view uses the same body pieces, so the seam allowance is needed for that view but not for the bound armholes.
4/2/11 4:17 AM
cerulean said...
It looks great! It's going to be a really nice summer top!
3/30/11 10:12 AM
rtrittel said...
Thank you so much for your entertaining review! I am at work and was laughing out loud as I read this - I got several dirty looks from my co-workers!! Great top!
3/29/11 1:55 PM
jannw said...
Very cute top..the gathering turned out great! I've run across that "trim before you do anything" also and wondered the same thing! Maybe someone knows...
3/29/11 1:58 AM
treefrog said...
Love the top! I agree with you about the back seam. Sounds so logical they way that you put it. But then logic is your speciality ;-)
3/28/11 11:39 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty top in one of my favorite shades of brown! The eyelet fabric is perfect. Yay you for the quick turn around on your fabric purchase. That is a great record!
3/28/11 11:32 PM
katlew03 said...
Turned out great. Love the brown eyelet. Also love the RPL blend for light summer tops.
3/28/11 8:57 PM
cairncrew said...
Oh very cute! I have this pattern and was looking at it yesterday for a possible to whip out some summer tops. The sleeve version might be why they have you cut the armhole on the sleeveless version. I'm assuming it uses the same pattern pieces, but I'll bet someone MUCH more knowledgeable than me has an answer, or maybe it's just one of those things. Anyway, fab top!
3/28/11 8:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
McCall's 6517

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review

Pattern

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

More Info
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info