Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2157 (Givenchy Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2527 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/04 6:21 AM
Last Updated:7/26/04 7:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you. Nice choice of material too.
7/26/04 7:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Oh my GOSH - what a great dress! Very flattering and the fabric you chose is just perfect.
7/26/04 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! Very pretty colors. So nice of you to have a sense of humor about the spilled wine.
7/26/04 7:54 AM
Georgene said...
Great dress and great story. Love the tape idea! I feel certain that all those gowns at the Oscars and other awards shows are stuck on to their wearers as well.
7/26/04 8:02 AM
AnneM said...
Oh my, all that effort and you get wine spilled on you! :o Yes, thank goodness it was white wine. You certainly handled the situation with grace, and looked lovely in your dress.
7/26/04 8:09 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful dress, and I liked the details on how to wear it!
7/26/04 8:50 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress is lovely on you. The chiffon fabric is perfect for that drape. I made this dress for one of 5 bride's maids in December. (all had different dresses but used the same crinkled poly home dec fabric ..... ) The dress I made was not nearly as beautiful and flowy as yours is. Very pretty.
7/26/04 8:57 AM
mClones said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit!
7/26/04 8:59 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love this pattern but do not have the body for it. It's lovely on you.
7/26/04 9:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So pretty! This pattern is in my wishlist, so special thanks for all of the construction suggestions.
7/26/04 9:02 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress and so pretty on you! What a harrowing experience you had. Hurray for scotch tape!
7/26/04 9:03 AM
Mollykat said...
wow, I just bought a dress that looks like this one! I wouldn't have thought it the same based on the pattern photos, but yours looks like my dress. Just right for curves! I think I'll have to add this to my wish list. Great job, you look glamourous.
7/26/04 9:07 AM
drsue said...
Your dress is wonderful. Thanks for the tape idea! Georgene is right: I bet the movie stars do this all the time.
7/26/04 9:13 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is so beautiful on you.
7/26/04 9:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your fabric choice looks just perfect for this pattern, and the dress looks just lovely on you!
7/26/04 9:21 AM
LindaS. said...
Va-va-voom! What a dress! My DD and I were admiring this pattern just last night but I wasn't sure about the neckline on a teenager. Thanks for the warning about the low-cut-ness(?) of it. Great review, too. I never would have thought of cutting out the bodice with the straps as part of it. Fabulous idea. They make special tape for holding garments to skin no doubt at a huge price, but now we all know that Scotch tape is the way to go. That fabric is beautiful, too. My Hancock's never has anything that pretty.
7/26/04 9:36 AM
D1Diva said...
Very pretty and sexy, yet modest. Thanks for an informative and entertaining review!
7/26/04 9:54 AM
caleddon said...
That looks great. I hope the white wine came out OK. Those Hollywood types use lingerie tape, also known as toupe tape to stick their decolletage where they want it to be. It can also be used to provide support, if you don't have much to support.
7/26/04 10:51 AM
SewTabby said...
Hooray! Double-sided tape saves the day! Great story, and had there really been a "wet chiffon contest" I'm sure you would have won :) Beautiful dress, great job!
7/26/04 10:57 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, you look great. Wonderful fabric.
7/26/04 12:53 PM
SueV said...
Ilove this dress and it looks so nice on you. I may just have to think of some place to go so I can make and wear this!
7/26/04 12:57 PM
TanyaMT said...
Fantastic dress. Fun yet elegant. The fit is great.
7/26/04 2:15 PM
candyo said...
You go girl! I'm sure all the guys there were cursing themselves, wishing you were their date!
7/26/04 2:44 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Beautiful, Kay - and a helpful and funny review. It really adds an extra dimension when you hear stories about where the finished garment has been worn!
7/26/04 5:23 PM
mudcat said...
Wow, that's an impressive dress and to make something fit you so well after not making anything in a long time is equally impressive. ~Alice
7/26/04 7:26 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great dress! I think the fabric was just made for this. Too funny about the tape and the wine.
7/26/04 9:47 PM
debbie.w said...
I love the dress & material-- good job.
7/27/04 12:38 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress, love the fabric. Glad the tape worked, good suggestion for use.
7/28/04 7:26 PM
KathleenS said...
Great dress - isn't the drape fun? (I've made one too). Good idea about cutting the straps in one with the dress.
7/29/04 3:43 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I love your dress! In fact, I'm working on my for myself right now, and I want to line it too. Having made a muslin, I'm a little concerned that the lining will show in the front and back cowls (esp. in back), and I'm thinking about using self-fabric in the top of the lining. What do you think? Does your lining show in the cowls?
1/19/05 12:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 4767 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by nesca on 8/26/09
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3738 Jackets
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 5/9/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt
Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us