SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2157 (Givenchy Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2540 times 
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo

 
 
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/04 6:21 AM
Last Updated:7/26/04 7:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you. Nice choice of material too.
7/26/04 7:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Oh my GOSH - what a great dress! Very flattering and the fabric you chose is just perfect.
7/26/04 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! Very pretty colors. So nice of you to have a sense of humor about the spilled wine.
7/26/04 7:54 AM
Georgene said...
Great dress and great story. Love the tape idea! I feel certain that all those gowns at the Oscars and other awards shows are stuck on to their wearers as well.
7/26/04 8:02 AM
AnneM said...
Oh my, all that effort and you get wine spilled on you! :o Yes, thank goodness it was white wine. You certainly handled the situation with grace, and looked lovely in your dress.
7/26/04 8:09 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful dress, and I liked the details on how to wear it!
7/26/04 8:50 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress is lovely on you. The chiffon fabric is perfect for that drape. I made this dress for one of 5 bride's maids in December. (all had different dresses but used the same crinkled poly home dec fabric ..... ) The dress I made was not nearly as beautiful and flowy as yours is. Very pretty.
7/26/04 8:57 AM
mClones said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit!
7/26/04 8:59 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love this pattern but do not have the body for it. It's lovely on you.
7/26/04 9:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So pretty! This pattern is in my wishlist, so special thanks for all of the construction suggestions.
7/26/04 9:02 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress and so pretty on you! What a harrowing experience you had. Hurray for scotch tape!
7/26/04 9:03 AM
Mollykat said...
wow, I just bought a dress that looks like this one! I wouldn't have thought it the same based on the pattern photos, but yours looks like my dress. Just right for curves! I think I'll have to add this to my wish list. Great job, you look glamourous.
7/26/04 9:07 AM
drsue said...
Your dress is wonderful. Thanks for the tape idea! Georgene is right: I bet the movie stars do this all the time.
7/26/04 9:13 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is so beautiful on you.
7/26/04 9:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your fabric choice looks just perfect for this pattern, and the dress looks just lovely on you!
7/26/04 9:21 AM
LindaS. said...
Va-va-voom! What a dress! My DD and I were admiring this pattern just last night but I wasn't sure about the neckline on a teenager. Thanks for the warning about the low-cut-ness(?) of it. Great review, too. I never would have thought of cutting out the bodice with the straps as part of it. Fabulous idea. They make special tape for holding garments to skin no doubt at a huge price, but now we all know that Scotch tape is the way to go. That fabric is beautiful, too. My Hancock's never has anything that pretty.
7/26/04 9:36 AM
D1Diva said...
Very pretty and sexy, yet modest. Thanks for an informative and entertaining review!
7/26/04 9:54 AM
caleddon said...
That looks great. I hope the white wine came out OK. Those Hollywood types use lingerie tape, also known as toupe tape to stick their decolletage where they want it to be. It can also be used to provide support, if you don't have much to support.
7/26/04 10:51 AM
SewTabby said...
Hooray! Double-sided tape saves the day! Great story, and had there really been a "wet chiffon contest" I'm sure you would have won :) Beautiful dress, great job!
7/26/04 10:57 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, you look great. Wonderful fabric.
7/26/04 12:53 PM
SueV said...
Ilove this dress and it looks so nice on you. I may just have to think of some place to go so I can make and wear this!
7/26/04 12:57 PM
TanyaMT said...
Fantastic dress. Fun yet elegant. The fit is great.
7/26/04 2:15 PM
candyo said...
You go girl! I'm sure all the guys there were cursing themselves, wishing you were their date!
7/26/04 2:44 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Beautiful, Kay - and a helpful and funny review. It really adds an extra dimension when you hear stories about where the finished garment has been worn!
7/26/04 5:23 PM
mudcat said...
Wow, that's an impressive dress and to make something fit you so well after not making anything in a long time is equally impressive. ~Alice
7/26/04 7:26 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great dress! I think the fabric was just made for this. Too funny about the tape and the wine.
7/26/04 9:47 PM
debbie.w said...
I love the dress & material-- good job.
7/27/04 12:38 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress, love the fabric. Glad the tape worked, good suggestion for use.
7/28/04 7:26 PM
KathleenS said...
Great dress - isn't the drape fun? (I've made one too). Good idea about cutting the straps in one with the dress.
7/29/04 3:43 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I love your dress! In fact, I'm working on my for myself right now, and I want to line it too. Having made a muslin, I'm a little concerned that the lining will show in the front and back cowls (esp. in back), and I'm thinking about using self-fabric in the top of the lining. What do you think? Does your lining show in the cowls?
1/19/05 12:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2010-23

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: SewPrinces...

Review