Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8664 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 699 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/11 5:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rosesred said...
hahaha, that does not sound like an easy dress indeed! it's a wonderful LBD, and it shows all the time and effort you put in. Looks wonderful, and you look great wearing it.
3/27/11 5:36 PM
Renren said...
Magnificent dress. As I read your description of the many horrors, I kept saying, "Yeah, but it was worth it." Then I get to the last paragraph and you say, "it was a lot of work but it was worth it." It's gorgeous. When you wear it you are going to get many compliments! So silk broadcloth is good for lining wool? Okay. Didn't know that. Wondering why you did not use Ambiance/Rayon, nice stuff and probably more readily available. I'll see if I can remember "silk broadcloth" by the time I'm ready to sew such exotic fibers (silk broadcloth/wool).
3/27/11 6:02 PM
AnneM said...
That wool crepe is beautiful! You did a fantastic job on that dress. Love the neckline also. Thanks for the warnings on the pattern. I would have thought broadcloth would be a little heavy for lining, although I've never had silk broadcloth.
3/27/11 6:25 PM
LynneMR said...
Pinky, your dress is beautiful, and as you say, the finish is professional enough to wear inside out! You must be a very determined person to perservere with all those problems. I love the fabric you chose, the classic quality style, the sweetheart neckline and waistband detail. And yes, that pattern company "empire line thing" where the line is way too high is sooo annyoying!
3/27/11 6:30 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Very nice! I like how you used the fabric. The neckline is great. And, very clever about the hong kong finish on the sleeve - I need to tuck that one away in the memory banks. Congrats on a beautiful LBD. Your daffodils say it is spring, even if the weather isn't cooperating!
3/27/11 7:34 PM
Peggy L said...
It's lovely - definitely worth all the work.
3/27/11 8:38 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful job. Your dress turned out great and looks so nice on you.
3/27/11 10:17 PM
BMH said...
Yes, it was worth it! The dress is gorgeous and the fit is terrific. Congratulations!
3/27/11 11:39 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Yes, it was worth it! It fits very well!
3/27/11 11:50 PM
Aroura said...
It really is worth it! What a lot of work, and what a gorgeous dress. Your patience really payed off! :D
3/28/11 3:45 AM
Skaapie said...
Lovely! Congrats on such a stunning dress. And I know all the hard work makes it even more of an achievement!
3/28/11 4:59 AM
SewWil said...
Good for you for persevering. Your dress turned out great. Very nice job on the finishing.
3/28/11 10:31 AM
Bonnie O said...
Looks wonderful. Your hard work definitely paid off!
3/28/11 12:59 PM
Nessa09 said...
Very nice dress!!!
3/28/11 2:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is a stunning dress. And what a lot of work you put into it. You gave some great tips regarding the pattern that will be very helpful to anyone making this.
3/28/11 6:47 PM
loti said...
Nice basic, and it must be a dream to wear!
3/29/11 0:29 AM
pfaffkj said...
Just WOW! Lovely dress, professional workmanship and a fine review. Hat's off to you!
3/29/11 8:24 AM
AquariJenn said...
You persevered and came out with a great classic dress! It fits you very well. Thanks for the review.
3/30/11 2:09 PM
Christas said...
Looks like they meant to put "NOT EASY" on the pattern envelope! Your dress came out wonderfully and looks fantastic on you! Very nice sewing! The inside looks beautiful too.
3/30/11 4:41 PM
Terri A said...
Wow, I am in love with the fabric. glen plaid wool crepe... sigh!
4/3/11 11:14 PM
PatriciaM said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks lovely on you. your comments are very helpful.
5/16/13 2:47 PM
DKG said...
You've done an excellent job and your sewing is first class. Thanks for this comprehensive review. I've had this pattern in my stash for some time, and you've given me a lot of great strategies.
5/18/13 5:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6203 Misses' Tunics
photo
Review by Sewmetoo on 4/10/12
Read Review

Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 00
photo
Review by SassySan on 7/28/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us