SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8664 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo

 
 
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/11 5:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rosesred said...
hahaha, that does not sound like an easy dress indeed! it's a wonderful LBD, and it shows all the time and effort you put in. Looks wonderful, and you look great wearing it.
3/27/11 5:36 PM
Renren said...
Magnificent dress. As I read your description of the many horrors, I kept saying, "Yeah, but it was worth it." Then I get to the last paragraph and you say, "it was a lot of work but it was worth it." It's gorgeous. When you wear it you are going to get many compliments! So silk broadcloth is good for lining wool? Okay. Didn't know that. Wondering why you did not use Ambiance/Rayon, nice stuff and probably more readily available. I'll see if I can remember "silk broadcloth" by the time I'm ready to sew such exotic fibers (silk broadcloth/wool).
3/27/11 6:02 PM
AnneM said...
That wool crepe is beautiful! You did a fantastic job on that dress. Love the neckline also. Thanks for the warnings on the pattern. I would have thought broadcloth would be a little heavy for lining, although I've never had silk broadcloth.
3/27/11 6:25 PM
LynneMR said...
Pinky, your dress is beautiful, and as you say, the finish is professional enough to wear inside out! You must be a very determined person to perservere with all those problems. I love the fabric you chose, the classic quality style, the sweetheart neckline and waistband detail. And yes, that pattern company "empire line thing" where the line is way too high is sooo annyoying!
3/27/11 6:30 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Very nice! I like how you used the fabric. The neckline is great. And, very clever about the hong kong finish on the sleeve - I need to tuck that one away in the memory banks. Congrats on a beautiful LBD. Your daffodils say it is spring, even if the weather isn't cooperating!
3/27/11 7:34 PM
Peggy L said...
It's lovely - definitely worth all the work.
3/27/11 8:38 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful job. Your dress turned out great and looks so nice on you.
3/27/11 10:17 PM
BMH said...
Yes, it was worth it! The dress is gorgeous and the fit is terrific. Congratulations!
3/27/11 11:39 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Yes, it was worth it! It fits very well!
3/27/11 11:50 PM
Aroura said...
It really is worth it! What a lot of work, and what a gorgeous dress. Your patience really payed off! :D
3/28/11 3:45 AM
Skaapie said...
Lovely! Congrats on such a stunning dress. And I know all the hard work makes it even more of an achievement!
3/28/11 4:59 AM
SewWil said...
Good for you for persevering. Your dress turned out great. Very nice job on the finishing.
3/28/11 10:31 AM
Bonnie O said...
Looks wonderful. Your hard work definitely paid off!
3/28/11 12:59 PM
Nessa09 said...
Very nice dress!!!
3/28/11 2:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is a stunning dress. And what a lot of work you put into it. You gave some great tips regarding the pattern that will be very helpful to anyone making this.
3/28/11 6:47 PM
loti said...
Nice basic, and it must be a dream to wear!
3/29/11 0:29 AM
pfaffkj said...
Just WOW! Lovely dress, professional workmanship and a fine review. Hat's off to you!
3/29/11 8:24 AM
AquariJenn said...
You persevered and came out with a great classic dress! It fits you very well. Thanks for the review.
3/30/11 2:09 PM
Christas said...
Looks like they meant to put "NOT EASY" on the pattern envelope! Your dress came out wonderfully and looks fantastic on you! Very nice sewing! The inside looks beautiful too.
3/30/11 4:41 PM
Terri A said...
Wow, I am in love with the fabric. glen plaid wool crepe... sigh!
4/3/11 11:14 PM
PatriciaM said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks lovely on you. your comments are very helpful.
5/16/13 2:47 PM
DKG said...
You've done an excellent job and your sewing is first class. Thanks for this comprehensive review. I've had this pattern in my stash for some time, and you've given me a lot of great strategies.
5/18/13 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns V8710

photo
by: carolynw

Review
Butterick 5890

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now