SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4123 (Vintage Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 850 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 0:13 AM
Last Updated:3/28/11 5:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Home Dec    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
This is absolutely stunning, Christa. It's no WONDER Jenna loves it, and I'm sure she feels BEAUTIFUL in it. :o) I can't WAIT to see the white eyelet one, as well. Having seen pictures of this on Jenna during the construction stages, I already KNOW that it's a PERFECT FIT in every way! SEE??? It PAYS to procrastinate, tell Jenna. :o))
3/28/11 0:31 AM
LynneMR said...
That is such a beautiful dress - I love the vintage style and all those gathers were really worth it. Great colour too - (but I'm not showing my daughter, because she'll want one too! - and I don't think I'm up to it yet!). Lucky Jenna!
3/28/11 1:05 AM
Renren said...
Jenna knows what Jenna wants and I would say she did a great job picking the fuschia broadcloth. It is such a stunning dress and the photo album linking this dress to grandma's dress and the grandparents' photo and the vintage pattern . . . well, I'm not too sentimental, but this definitely touched my heart. Very sweet. I like the way the Easter dress ties back to this other era and kind of links everything together.
3/28/11 1:09 AM
Scheri said...
Christa your Jenna is one lucky young lady. The dress is absolutely beautiful.
3/28/11 1:12 AM
Immelu said...
That's a fantastic dress!!! What a set of great memories you created for Jenna!!
3/28/11 1:16 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! I can understand why Jenna loves her Easter dress. It is beautiful. Great job. The gathers were worth the work.
3/28/11 1:17 AM
lamstu said...
How pretty is this? Jenna has great taste! And you did an amazing job of sewing this beautiful dress. (I wish I could get my DD into something similar for my parents' 50th, but I despair of it.)
3/28/11 4:35 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! I can't wait to see this on Jenna. And that tiny little waist . . . I never, ever had one of those:)
3/28/11 6:51 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! I can't wait to see this on Jenna. And that tiny little waist . . . I never, ever had one of those:)
3/28/11 6:51 AM
Kat B. said...
Good job! Jenna has excellent taste in picking a vintage pattern.
3/28/11 7:36 AM
kwpanthermom said...
What a beautiful dress on a beautiful girl! The wedding dress is gorgeous, too.
3/28/11 8:24 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow that is some very tight gathering on an angled seam! Very beautiful, enjoy.
3/28/11 8:34 AM
Nan Kay said...
Love it! This is the pattern my Mother made for the bridesmaids in my sisters wedding. That would have been 1966! Wish I still had the pattern.
3/28/11 8:57 AM
Mahler said...
What an excellent choice of fabric and pattern. Now we need pictures of the young lady with the dress. The colour must be perfect with her hair and complexion. When I was a child my mother always wanted to dress me like Laura Ingalls in the Little house in the prairie ... I wanted more modern look ;-) You are a good mother , you respect your daughter's choice. PS I want one as well... same colour, same everything ;-))
3/28/11 9:40 AM
cleverkitty said...
Loved reading your thoughts about making Jenna a dress, You had divine inspiration on this dress for sure. The fabric she picked out goes perfect with the style of the times giving it that retro look even more. Can't wait to see her in it.
3/28/11 9:40 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is the most precious story ever Christa! The dress is gorgeous and how exciting she's actually wearing a dress that is made from the same pattern as her grandmother's wedding dress. I love her fabric choice. My mom always tells me it's shades of my grandma when I pick bright colors because that is how my grandma always dressed. It's perfect for Easter! Beautiful work Christa - maybe you can bottle your extra time up and send it my way, or at least share you secret of how you get so much done! ;-)
3/28/11 10:32 AM
Barbara V said...
What a very sweet and special experience you have created for Jenna and her Grandmother. The dress is absolutely beautiful and I see why Jenna loves her dress.
3/28/11 10:34 AM
eugenia123 said...
I love how Jenna had such definite ideas about how she wanted this dress to look and how you have turned her ideas into such a perfect reality. The style and the colour are beautiful - just right for Easter and for many happy occasions to come. How lovely that you were able to use your mother-in-law's wedding dress pattern and give this dress such a special meaning.
3/28/11 11:10 AM
Karendee said...
Christa, Jenna and your fans have spoken! This fuchsia vintage style/current dress is just glorious. Oh, to have a shape like Jenna and a Mother who does justice to her preferred styles. This full skirt and tiny waisted dress made from the perfect color will be a memory for three generations forever. Great job in every detail.
3/28/11 11:42 AM
Catbird said...
Oh my goodness, what a color! What a shape! This is spectacular in every way. One thing I've always loved about your sewing and Meggie's is how you weave memories and love into everything you do. This dress has all of that, and it's absolutely gorgeous. I'm really looking forward to the update with pictures of Jenna wearing it. Excellent choice, Jenna, and excellent work, Christa!
3/28/11 12:06 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a wonderful dress with such a story to it!
3/28/11 12:53 PM
rmusic1 said...
I am really jealous. The dress is stunning and your daughter is so lucky to have you make it. I hope she doesn't grow out of it too soon so she can get lots of wear out of it.
3/28/11 3:03 PM
Barbara V said...
Jenna, you look beautiful in your lovely dress! Your accessories, especially your shoes, are very cute! Great job, team Mom Christa and Jenna!
3/28/11 5:22 PM
Anne Cherry said...
So beautiful - both Jenna and the dress! Love the colour and the style. And appreciate the effort involved for mother! (says she, contemplating a formal dress for Miss 15 yrs).
3/28/11 5:35 PM
Terri A said...
Pretty fabric color and lovely young lady.
3/28/11 5:50 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, Jenna looks so pretty.
3/28/11 6:02 PM
mm said...
Jenna is lucky to have such a talented mother and to have inherited good looks and a sense of style from her mother and grandmother.
3/28/11 6:11 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I can't wait til my daughters are 13! Hopefully by then I might have at least a fraction of your sewing skills. Beautiful job!
3/28/11 6:49 PM
Ann Smith said...
She certainly knew to pick a terrific color for herself. Wonderful!
3/28/11 6:57 PM
FreyaStark said...
A moving story and a really beautiful dress. She's very lucky girl.
3/28/11 7:07 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL! I wonder if anybody would believe that Jenna was MY daughter. Heh-heh-heh. I'm so glad you updated the review, so we could truly get the FULL EFFECT.
3/28/11 7:34 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a lovely young lady you are, Jenna!! ;) (And Christa, you couldn't possibly have been 25#s lighter... ;/)
3/28/11 7:52 PM
JanJanB said...
This dress couldn't be more beautiful. Thank you for sharing your story.
3/28/11 8:14 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a great dress and fabulous story! This is what vintage sewing is all about. Jenna looks beautiful and thanks for sharing the pics of her grandmother's wedding!! P.S. I have this pattern!
3/28/11 9:16 PM
Vintage Joan said...
WOW, gorgeous. And that color just sings "spring!" doesn't it? :)
3/28/11 10:06 PM
Christas said...
Thank you all for the very nice comments!!! Kellie, that is so neat that you have the pattern! I actually used this same pattern about 25 or 26 years ago to make the slim skirted version in teal polished cotton. I loved that dress and wore it so often. I wouldn't be able to get ONE leg in it now!!! LOL! :-)
3/28/11 11:17 PM
barebear said...
Oh wow, she looks absolutely gorgeous! That colour is perfect, and I love how you guys managed to find matching shoes! Great job on a wonderful dress. :)
3/28/11 11:29 PM
tigergirl said...
What a great job! As soon as I saw the pic I thought "Alice in Wonderland" .......... that's a good thing by the way.
3/29/11 0:12 AM
Sue W said...
Christa, I don't think I can say anything that hasn't already been said. Just reading your review you can feel the love and the bond between mother/daughter. I remember that pattern from my mom's stash and thinking back of my cousin's wedding, I'm quite sure that was the pattern for her bridesmaids, too. Beautiful dress, beautiful daughter (that waist!!!) beautiful story. This is a memory maker for sure :)
3/29/11 1:39 AM
Rosesred said...
That is such a stunning dress! I love how it has such a history in your family, and how much time and effort you dedicated to your daughters dress. It really is a beautiful project.
3/29/11 5:43 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! Jenna is beautiful in her Easter dress! Thanks for sharing this touching story.
3/29/11 8:55 AM
RLL said...
I'm in awe..............of the dress and the waist! Beautiful.
3/29/11 9:09 AM
JETrinity said...
Chista, Chista, Chista. How do you do it with your busy life and come up with the most stunning outfits. Jenna picked the right color and pattern and you did the wonderful sewing. Okay, what are the pillows doing in this review?
3/29/11 12:45 PM
jewelsew said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful story!
3/29/11 12:46 PM
anika said...
Stunning dress!
3/29/11 1:14 PM
Christas said...
Thank you so much for the nice comments! JETrinity, the picture of pillows came up for the pattern because the modern McCall's 4123 is for decorator pillows. I included a link to a picture of the pattern envelope for the vintage McCall's 4123. Just disregard those pillows. I tried to make them go away, but they wouldn't. LOL!
3/29/11 5:32 PM
TanyaMT said...
That is just BEAUTIFUL!
3/29/11 8:02 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Just lovely!
3/30/11 5:41 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
two comments for the price of one... lovely!!
3/30/11 5:41 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Your daughter is adoreable! The dress is just PERFECT and looks great on her! And she designed it herself? Great teamwork!
3/30/11 8:59 PM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful dress, Christa! Jenna is getting older and is just as pretty as her mom and older sisters. The dress looks fantastic on her. I love the story behind the pattern.
4/1/11 12:29 PM
JanElise said...
I almost cried reading this review. Thank you for sharing. What a beautiful daughter in a gorgeous dress! She looks great in her grandmother's dress, too. That is priceless!
4/19/11 9:10 AM
3HoursPast said...
Really cool dress, gorgeous. I mean that. You did wonderful, beautiful work.
5/1/11 4:36 AM
fourkid said...
How special and beautiful.
10/9/11 11:02 AM
bobbincat said...
Fabulous! The skirt on it is wonderful. Great job! Now you have me thinking about a Christmas Dress since it is summer time here at Christmas.
11/22/12 2:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6123

photo
by: Mimi O

Review
Butterick 5209

photo
by: thesewingl...

Review

Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now