SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1224 (misses dress)

76 more reviews
Viewed 754 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:3/28/11 7:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking dress.
3/30/11 1:07 PM
persevering said...
Allie thank you for your replies. I have to tell you I always feel really good too seeing what you sew. Because I think I am close in measurements and height to you, I can self-identify (in my sewing aspirations) with your successful sewing accomplishments of stylish garments worn with panache. Your comments make a lot of sense, and I intend to follow your helpful advice.
3/30/11 5:54 AM
waltzqueen said...
Yum! Cute dress! You look terrific and the dress fits you beautifully. I'd say this is a winner! I agree you look better than the pattern photo!
3/29/11 11:12 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thank you everyone! Persevering, thank you for making my day, I will send you a PM with more info and I am no expert, but briefly I think the following has helped me; Choosing styles that work for you and looking at what other real people are making and wearing both on PR and in blogs has helped me hugely here, much more than fashion magazines ever could. It's more about proportion and not absolute measurements - I used to dress as a typical pear shape but now think hourglass works better for me - I need to emphasise my waist or I look like a big box! We have to embrace and work with what we have! So yes fit is important but so is re-evaluating what works and experimenting a bit. Well that wasn't so brief was it - hope that helps!
3/29/11 2:46 AM
EveS said...
What a fabulous, versatile dress!!
3/29/11 0:26 AM
michellep74 said...
Really cute dress!
3/28/11 8:05 PM
annie11 said...
This looks fantastic on you! I am planning on making my daughter several of these for her summer work wardrobe, and am glad to have the tip about lengthening by so much.
3/28/11 11:30 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, I would have passed this up looking at the pattern, but it looks so cute and flattering on you, I might just need it in my closet as well!!
3/28/11 11:09 AM
persevering said...
This dress looks great on you - immensely better than the pattern photo/drawing - in fact everything I've seen that you've sewn (and I've been watching for 2 years) looks AMAZING! Please tell me, is it the careful fitting/adjusting of the patterns/garments to yourself? Can you share (briefly) any additional tips that work for you and/or can you share your measurements, so the sizing info you kindly give, can be understood better by me? Thanks for your review.
3/28/11 10:15 AM
Levone said...
Cute dress! It looks great on you.
3/28/11 10:02 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Very nice dress - I can see it being worn a lot!
3/28/11 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

New Look 6150

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

More Info