Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1224 (misses dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 746 times 72 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:3/28/11 7:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Very nice dress - I can see it being worn a lot!
3/28/11 7:55 AM
Levone said...
Cute dress! It looks great on you.
3/28/11 10:02 AM
persevering said...
This dress looks great on you - immensely better than the pattern photo/drawing - in fact everything I've seen that you've sewn (and I've been watching for 2 years) looks AMAZING! Please tell me, is it the careful fitting/adjusting of the patterns/garments to yourself? Can you share (briefly) any additional tips that work for you and/or can you share your measurements, so the sizing info you kindly give, can be understood better by me? Thanks for your review.
3/28/11 10:15 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, I would have passed this up looking at the pattern, but it looks so cute and flattering on you, I might just need it in my closet as well!!
3/28/11 11:09 AM
annie11 said...
This looks fantastic on you! I am planning on making my daughter several of these for her summer work wardrobe, and am glad to have the tip about lengthening by so much.
3/28/11 11:30 AM
michellep74 said...
Really cute dress!
3/28/11 8:05 PM
EveS said...
What a fabulous, versatile dress!!
3/29/11 0:26 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thank you everyone! Persevering, thank you for making my day, I will send you a PM with more info and I am no expert, but briefly I think the following has helped me; Choosing styles that work for you and looking at what other real people are making and wearing both on PR and in blogs has helped me hugely here, much more than fashion magazines ever could. It's more about proportion and not absolute measurements - I used to dress as a typical pear shape but now think hourglass works better for me - I need to emphasise my waist or I look like a big box! We have to embrace and work with what we have! So yes fit is important but so is re-evaluating what works and experimenting a bit. Well that wasn't so brief was it - hope that helps!
3/29/11 2:46 AM
waltzqueen said...
Yum! Cute dress! You look terrific and the dress fits you beautifully. I'd say this is a winner! I agree you look better than the pattern photo!
3/29/11 11:12 AM
persevering said...
Allie thank you for your replies. I have to tell you I always feel really good too seeing what you sew. Because I think I am close in measurements and height to you, I can self-identify (in my sewing aspirations) with your successful sewing accomplishments of stylish garments worn with panache. Your comments make a lot of sense, and I intend to follow your helpful advice.
3/30/11 5:54 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking dress.
3/30/11 1:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by Melanne on 6/12/12
Read Review

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8017
photo
Review by Zaneta on 3/16/07
Read Review

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5766 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us