SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6279 (misses and women's dress and belt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 461 times 
Reviewed by:barebear
photo

 
 
About barebearstar
YT CANADA
Member since: 12/1/09
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 11:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maree P said...
This is a great dress and looks really good on you. I am late commenting ...but hope your thesis defense went well.
10/17/11 5:10 PM
barebear said...
Thanks everyone!
4/4/11 8:09 PM
andread said...
Love it! That's it .. I'm making this one next.
4/4/11 1:20 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice dress! Nice job!
3/29/11 3:33 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love this; thanks for sharing. I have to check this pattern out.
3/29/11 1:37 PM
Kat B. said...
Great dress! I wouldn't worry about the shoulder bump as it looks very much like what I see in a lot of RTW right now.
3/29/11 1:30 PM
Sheila457 said...
The dress looks fabulous on you. I have this pattern and a must sew for Spring/Summer.
3/29/11 1:07 PM
lakaribane said...
I love it! I think I'm making one in denim.
3/29/11 12:14 PM
susiestitcher said...
Very chic coat dress. It looks great on you. I think the shoulder bump is related to a combination of the position of your arm and the length of the sleeve, since it comes to your elbow. When your arm is down, the sleeve has room to flow downward toward the armband. When you raise your arm, the position of things changes and there is suddenly a slightly shorter distance between shoulder and elbow as your arm moves upward, plus the sleeve no longer has a straight shot downward for the fabric to flow, so the sleeve fabric moves upward toward the shoulder seam to accommodate it, which would be the easiest way for it to move unrestricted. I think all puffed sleeves do something similar, but depending on how short or how puffed the sleeve is, the degree of pouf varies. Just a possibility.
3/29/11 11:39 AM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful dress, everything about it looks good to me and your lining is so fun!
3/29/11 10:07 AM
4u2cme said...
The dress is lovely on you. You did a great job. Thanks for the review.
3/29/11 9:15 AM
Lori V said...
That is a super-cute dress.
3/29/11 7:58 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is fabulous! I love the trench style. Your shoulder bump picture is adorable.
3/29/11 7:55 AM
Rosesred said...
Brilliant dress. According to my sewing teacher a couple of years ago, a slight shoulderbump is a sign of a job well done. It means you managed to set in the sleeve perfectly!
3/29/11 6:29 AM
Terri A said...
This is a great review and a fabulous dress. Love your photos!
3/29/11 2:42 AM
barebear said...
Thanks for the input on the shoulder bump! I'm probably stressing over nothing, something that I'd likely completely overlook/adore if it were RTW. :)
3/29/11 2:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
BTW, I don't think the bump is as bad as you think. It's normal with the gathered sleeve top. In fact my trench does the same thing =) I'll bet you money nobody ever notices it
3/29/11 2:32 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love your dress! In fact I'm wearing a trench this morning in this exact same style in deep magenta. I was walking into work thinking: I need a dress like this trench...I'll have to grab this pattern!
3/29/11 2:30 AM
SewWil said...
Great job on this dress. It looks very nice on you. Fun fabric choice for the lining.
3/29/11 1:19 AM
Aroura said...
Great dress, very good details! I wish I had a suggestion about the shoulder bump, but I don't think it looks bad. So many wovens have this, I think it looks pretty normal. Anyway, beautiful job on the dress, the topstitching is fantastic!
3/29/11 0:06 AM
Scheri said...
I am so glad you did this review. Your dress is fabulous! I will add add this to my "must" list.
3/28/11 11:47 PM
Christas said...
Very lovely dress! I'm not sure how to get rid of the shoulder bump, but the pic sure is cute. I love the lining and your topstitching looks wonderful ...... very nice sewing!
3/28/11 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5537

photo
by: KateS

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Simplicity 2192

photo
by: beanchor

Review