Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6279 (misses and women's dress and belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 452 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:barebear
photo
About barebearstar
YT CANADA
Member since: 12/1/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 11:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very lovely dress! I'm not sure how to get rid of the shoulder bump, but the pic sure is cute. I love the lining and your topstitching looks wonderful ...... very nice sewing!
3/28/11 11:20 PM
Scheri said...
I am so glad you did this review. Your dress is fabulous! I will add add this to my "must" list.
3/28/11 11:47 PM
Aroura said...
Great dress, very good details! I wish I had a suggestion about the shoulder bump, but I don't think it looks bad. So many wovens have this, I think it looks pretty normal. Anyway, beautiful job on the dress, the topstitching is fantastic!
3/29/11 0:06 AM
SewWil said...
Great job on this dress. It looks very nice on you. Fun fabric choice for the lining.
3/29/11 1:19 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love your dress! In fact I'm wearing a trench this morning in this exact same style in deep magenta. I was walking into work thinking: I need a dress like this trench...I'll have to grab this pattern!
3/29/11 2:30 AM
arianamaniacs said...
BTW, I don't think the bump is as bad as you think. It's normal with the gathered sleeve top. In fact my trench does the same thing =) I'll bet you money nobody ever notices it
3/29/11 2:32 AM
barebear said...
Thanks for the input on the shoulder bump! I'm probably stressing over nothing, something that I'd likely completely overlook/adore if it were RTW. :)
3/29/11 2:35 AM
Terri A said...
This is a great review and a fabulous dress. Love your photos!
3/29/11 2:42 AM
Rosesred said...
Brilliant dress. According to my sewing teacher a couple of years ago, a slight shoulderbump is a sign of a job well done. It means you managed to set in the sleeve perfectly!
3/29/11 6:29 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is fabulous! I love the trench style. Your shoulder bump picture is adorable.
3/29/11 7:55 AM
Lori V said...
That is a super-cute dress.
3/29/11 7:58 AM
4u2cme said...
The dress is lovely on you. You did a great job. Thanks for the review.
3/29/11 9:15 AM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful dress, everything about it looks good to me and your lining is so fun!
3/29/11 10:07 AM
susiestitcher said...
Very chic coat dress. It looks great on you. I think the shoulder bump is related to a combination of the position of your arm and the length of the sleeve, since it comes to your elbow. When your arm is down, the sleeve has room to flow downward toward the armband. When you raise your arm, the position of things changes and there is suddenly a slightly shorter distance between shoulder and elbow as your arm moves upward, plus the sleeve no longer has a straight shot downward for the fabric to flow, so the sleeve fabric moves upward toward the shoulder seam to accommodate it, which would be the easiest way for it to move unrestricted. I think all puffed sleeves do something similar, but depending on how short or how puffed the sleeve is, the degree of pouf varies. Just a possibility.
3/29/11 11:39 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! I think I'm making one in denim.
3/29/11 12:14 PM
Sheila457 said...
The dress looks fabulous on you. I have this pattern and a must sew for Spring/Summer.
3/29/11 1:07 PM
Kat B. said...
Great dress! I wouldn't worry about the shoulder bump as it looks very much like what I see in a lot of RTW right now.
3/29/11 1:30 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love this; thanks for sharing. I have to check this pattern out.
3/29/11 1:37 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nice dress! Nice job!
3/29/11 3:33 PM
andread said...
Love it! That's it .. I'm making this one next.
4/4/11 1:20 AM
barebear said...
Thanks everyone!
4/4/11 8:09 PM
Maree P said...
This is a great dress and looks really good on you. I am late commenting ...but hope your thesis defense went well.
10/17/11 5:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3629
photo
Review by jadesabre9 on 2/1/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00016
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1390 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1390 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us