Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 8281 (sidonie) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 146 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:mochimo
photo
Friend of PR
About mochimostarstar
ITALY
Member since: 7/28/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:3/29/11 4:29 PM
Last Updated:3/29/11 4:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Your skirt turned out very nice. I am so glad you were able to salvage it and make it fit. It's no fun to make good friends with your seam ripper, but it looks like it was worth it since the skirt looks so pretty.
3/29/11 5:18 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice! This is the same skirt as a Burda envelope pattern I have (I'd have to check the number). I hope this question isn't too nosy, but are you sure about the "very large" sizing? Maybe you're a smaller size than you realize -- no one else who's reviewed this skirt has said the fit was large. :) :)
3/29/11 8:09 PM
HeidiBaccal said...
Like it, its always nice to have a simple skirt as a staple in a wardrobe. And boy do I here you on how it feels to spend a month on a one day project lol!
3/30/11 0:13 AM
LynneMR said...
Very pretty skirt.
3/30/11 1:55 AM
Patti B said...
Your determination paid off with a very flattering skirt.
3/30/11 9:33 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look stunning!
3/30/11 2:56 PM
mochimo said...
Thank you all for your nice comments! To answer Joan1954's question about the "large" sizing, I correspond almost exactly to the Burda size 38 measurements. However, when I tried on the skirt it had a huge waist and there was also quite a bit of extra fabric around my hips. Believe me, it did not look good, not at all. I did not use the waistband and did not even measure it (maybe the waistband would have made things look better), but without the waistband the pattern has ca. 10 cm of ease at the waist and for me that is really tooooo much. Besides, the last Burda size 38 I made fits really really snug ;-) :-)
3/31/11 2:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Pin-up Girls PB-3200
photo
Review by Ros B. on 8/9/13
Read Review

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6026 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by LizzieInBr... on 10/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us