Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2812 (alice & olivia pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3534 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 7:43 AM
Last Updated:10/26/04 5:13 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caleddon said...
I have this pattern but I haven't tried making it up yet. Thanks for your comments on sizing and the zip. I've put a post-it note on the pattern notes so that I remember to measure the pattern before I start it.
7/28/04 9:30 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! I couldn't see any details in the photos because they're just thumbnail, but your construction details are really very helpful.
7/28/04 9:37 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! I couldn't see any details in the photos because their just thumbnail, but your construction details are really very helpful.
7/28/04 9:38 AM
meli88a said...
PVA -- thanks. I'm sorry about the photos, but I didn't realize that they're so small and I don't know how to resize them.
7/28/04 10:55 AM
carolineG said...
Thnx for your sizing comments!!! I am planning on making these, and will definately cut a size smaller than I anticipated. It is so frustrating that Vogue's sizes are so varied! Is there any way you can post bigger photos?
7/28/04 12:04 PM
ladylola said...
Thank you so much for this review. I want to make these so I'll make sure to flat pettern measure first! Like others have said, it would be nice to see bigger pictures.
7/28/04 4:09 PM
alicia said...
thank you for your detailed review! don't give up!
7/28/04 7:06 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
I also have this pattern, and have traced it but not cut it yet... looks like I might just as well re-trace in one size smaller, LOL! Rolling my eyes as I was debating between the 6-8-10 and the 12-14-16 envelope since I was going to be either a 10 or 12... and had heard how Vogues were notoriously small. Aaarrgghh! I'm NOT buying the other sizes, I'll scale down from the 12... Very nice review, lots of great tips on the construction! How did you like the 2-piece legs? I'm thinking of just laying the pattern pieces together and cutting the legs in one piece... It looks (what we can see, LOL!) like your pants came out *OK*, maybe you can re-do the waistband since you're unhappy with it..?
7/28/04 8:25 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the very helpful review.
7/29/04 3:46 AM
meli88a said...
I'm sorry everyone, but i own The World's Crappiest CameraTM, and so the pictures... well, I guess they kind of speak for themselves. I am reworking these pants, so when I finally get them to work out, I'll try to repost with decent pictures. ;) Evatgirl73, I wasn't sure about the 2 piece legs either, but I decided to try them out, because I have a pair of RTW pants that are also 2 piece and I really like them. Putting the 2 piece legs together was a bit extra work, but the fit is still good. I think you could tape the two pieces together before cutting the fabric, and still get the same fit with less sewing work.
7/29/04 7:29 AM
pharmercoon said...
Meli88a, There's a good article in Threads this month (aug 04) on how to muslin fit a pair of pants. They are a different style but they show how to add to the seat by slashing and adding to that area. I have this pattern too. So I'm really enjoying your review and when I don't have so many other projects going I'll start the process. Good luck!
7/29/04 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
Well, I scooped out the seat a little - meaning added about 1/4" to the pattern piece & adjusted the curve. This alteration tip might also help. There was another one somewhere that I can't find, that linked to some pictures showing how to move out the back a little bit. Keep up the good work!
7/29/04 7:49 PM
Allison said...
I am just finishing these pants right now. I too had trouble with the fly instructions and thought it was me. I also ended up making them a size smaller (10, not 12 (I bought a new pattern), but in my experience that is normal for Vogue); and, the muslin dipped down at centerback so I corrected it but because my upholstery fabric has NO give (I'm so used to a little lycra!) they still pull down and I am concerned about sitting in a restaurant! However, I do like the fake pockets, its a fun detail for me. I made mine out of my mother's couch scraps (pink stripe with embroidered flowers) so I can't wait to visit her and sit on the couch! They are fun pants and will definitely get attention. I do plan on making them again.
8/10/04 11:46 PM
meli88a said...
Allison, your pants sound really fun and cute! That's a pretty bold fabric you chose, I bet that your pants are really eye catching. :)
8/15/04 10:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I am unable to see the photo, but if they are touching the floor, how can they be highwaters? I guess I'm too old to understand :-(
8/16/04 2:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your review is so good that I'm dying to see the photo. Unfortunately, I cannot. I get a message that the file is inaccessible.
8/16/04 5:49 AM
meli88a said...
Irina, sorry about the picture. I didn't realize that it wasn't available -- it's reposted.
8/16/04 7:26 AM
meli88a said...
sherrill, you're not old, i'm just picky in how i like to wear my pants! i like a little bit of a puddle around my feet so i can wear my pants with heels -- that way i can feel a little bit taller. ;p
8/16/04 7:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
You went to a lot of trouble to get this pattern to work! Your final pants have nice lines and the pattern is interesting. I'm scared of Vogue, though--in general, aren't Vogue patterns suited for the more experienced sewist?
8/16/04 7:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us