SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2812 (alice & olivia pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 3534 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 7:43 AM
Last Updated:10/26/04 5:13 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caleddon said...
I have this pattern but I haven't tried making it up yet. Thanks for your comments on sizing and the zip. I've put a post-it note on the pattern notes so that I remember to measure the pattern before I start it.
7/28/04 9:30 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! I couldn't see any details in the photos because they're just thumbnail, but your construction details are really very helpful.
7/28/04 9:37 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! I couldn't see any details in the photos because their just thumbnail, but your construction details are really very helpful.
7/28/04 9:38 AM
meli88a said...
PVA -- thanks. I'm sorry about the photos, but I didn't realize that they're so small and I don't know how to resize them.
7/28/04 10:55 AM
carolineG said...
Thnx for your sizing comments!!! I am planning on making these, and will definately cut a size smaller than I anticipated. It is so frustrating that Vogue's sizes are so varied! Is there any way you can post bigger photos?
7/28/04 12:04 PM
ladylola said...
Thank you so much for this review. I want to make these so I'll make sure to flat pettern measure first! Like others have said, it would be nice to see bigger pictures.
7/28/04 4:09 PM
alicia said...
thank you for your detailed review! don't give up!
7/28/04 7:06 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
I also have this pattern, and have traced it but not cut it yet... looks like I might just as well re-trace in one size smaller, LOL! Rolling my eyes as I was debating between the 6-8-10 and the 12-14-16 envelope since I was going to be either a 10 or 12... and had heard how Vogues were notoriously small. Aaarrgghh! I'm NOT buying the other sizes, I'll scale down from the 12... Very nice review, lots of great tips on the construction! How did you like the 2-piece legs? I'm thinking of just laying the pattern pieces together and cutting the legs in one piece... It looks (what we can see, LOL!) like your pants came out *OK*, maybe you can re-do the waistband since you're unhappy with it..?
7/28/04 8:25 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the very helpful review.
7/29/04 3:46 AM
meli88a said...
I'm sorry everyone, but i own The World's Crappiest CameraTM, and so the pictures... well, I guess they kind of speak for themselves. I am reworking these pants, so when I finally get them to work out, I'll try to repost with decent pictures. ;) Evatgirl73, I wasn't sure about the 2 piece legs either, but I decided to try them out, because I have a pair of RTW pants that are also 2 piece and I really like them. Putting the 2 piece legs together was a bit extra work, but the fit is still good. I think you could tape the two pieces together before cutting the fabric, and still get the same fit with less sewing work.
7/29/04 7:29 AM
pharmercoon said...
Meli88a, There's a good article in Threads this month (aug 04) on how to muslin fit a pair of pants. They are a different style but they show how to add to the seat by slashing and adding to that area. I have this pattern too. So I'm really enjoying your review and when I don't have so many other projects going I'll start the process. Good luck!
7/29/04 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
Well, I scooped out the seat a little - meaning added about 1/4" to the pattern piece & adjusted the curve. This alteration tip might also help. There was another one somewhere that I can't find, that linked to some pictures showing how to move out the back a little bit. Keep up the good work!
7/29/04 7:49 PM
Allison said...
I am just finishing these pants right now. I too had trouble with the fly instructions and thought it was me. I also ended up making them a size smaller (10, not 12 (I bought a new pattern), but in my experience that is normal for Vogue); and, the muslin dipped down at centerback so I corrected it but because my upholstery fabric has NO give (I'm so used to a little lycra!) they still pull down and I am concerned about sitting in a restaurant! However, I do like the fake pockets, its a fun detail for me. I made mine out of my mother's couch scraps (pink stripe with embroidered flowers) so I can't wait to visit her and sit on the couch! They are fun pants and will definitely get attention. I do plan on making them again.
8/10/04 11:46 PM
meli88a said...
Allison, your pants sound really fun and cute! That's a pretty bold fabric you chose, I bet that your pants are really eye catching. :)
8/15/04 10:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I am unable to see the photo, but if they are touching the floor, how can they be highwaters? I guess I'm too old to understand :-(
8/16/04 2:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your review is so good that I'm dying to see the photo. Unfortunately, I cannot. I get a message that the file is inaccessible.
8/16/04 5:49 AM
meli88a said...
Irina, sorry about the picture. I didn't realize that it wasn't available -- it's reposted.
8/16/04 7:26 AM
meli88a said...
sherrill, you're not old, i'm just picky in how i like to wear my pants! i like a little bit of a puddle around my feet so i can wear my pants with heels -- that way i can feel a little bit taller. ;p
8/16/04 7:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
You went to a lot of trouble to get this pattern to work! Your final pants have nice lines and the pattern is interesting. I'm scared of Vogue, though--in general, aren't Vogue patterns suited for the more experienced sewist?
8/16/04 7:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
HotPatterns Bad Witch/Good Witch Hat

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now