SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4517 

18 more reviews
Viewed 1273 times 
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KiwiWendy said...
Elaine this really suits you ... I liked the pattern so much that unintentionally I bought it twice. I really do need to stop procrastinating and keep being inspired by your version.
11/1/06 7:47 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty! Way to save a project!
10/10/04 9:56 PM
Elaine Penney said...
Thanks for the kind comments. Red has always been my favorite color. AnneM, thanks for the heads up about the bold. This is my first review. I knew that it would turn out bold if you inserted your copy in the wrong place, but I couldn't remember just where. Logic told me to insert after the colon, but my guess was wrong. So, thanks.
7/30/04 5:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very nice. Thanks for the review of this top.
7/29/04 5:53 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, great color for you. You did a great job saving your top. (A side note: the reviews are a easier to read when not all in bold, which happens when you write between the b & /b in the template.) Your other top is nice also, but I like this color on you even better.
7/29/04 2:52 PM
JeanetteE said...
That color is so beautiful on you. Top looks great.
7/29/04 10:34 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I think this looks terrific on you: very up-to-date style which you wear very well. Love the sleeves!
7/29/04 9:05 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for a great review. I, too, like both tops.
7/29/04 8:55 AM
KimB said...
Thanks for your tips on how to control front gathering...I've been struggling with this myself. Your tops both look great, and I especially love the bright and cheerful colors, which I think are very flattering to you!
7/29/04 0:31 AM
mickisews said...
I don't think as a sewist, that anything can be too trendy. You can always make a trendy pattern in an inexpensive fabric, and get enough wear out of it before it goes out of style, without costing you too much. That said, I don't think this top is too trendy at all. I made a muslin of this pattern a few weeks ago that ended up being a "wadder" for the same reason as yours. I didn't like the way they advised you to attach the front elastic. Also, the fabric I chose didn't have a lot of stretch, so it came out too tight. I am going to try it again, however, because, even as a "wadder" I saw the potential. Thanks for the review :>) Micki
7/28/04 9:47 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Adorabe! Both versions of this top suit you beautifully,and I love these sleeves on you.
7/28/04 6:35 PM
joan said...
i like both of your tops. The colors are very pretty on you with your lovely hair.
7/28/04 6:22 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top! That is a very pretty red and it looks great on you.
7/28/04 4:48 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks great! Not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:30 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty top! The red looks gorgeous on you!~of course red is one of my all-time favorite colors :o) Great review- I like the other top too.
7/28/04 4:24 PM
aneri_masi said...
I like both your tops made from this pattern, but I am more partial to this one. The sleeves look very cute and the color is my all time favorite :) Thanks for the explanation on the gathers.
7/28/04 4:18 PM
Lynngray said...
Great review. Color looks great on you also. And its not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1258

photo
by: tigergirl

Review