SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4517 

18 more reviews
Viewed 1270 times 
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynngray said...
Great review. Color looks great on you also. And its not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:00 PM
aneri_masi said...
I like both your tops made from this pattern, but I am more partial to this one. The sleeves look very cute and the color is my all time favorite :) Thanks for the explanation on the gathers.
7/28/04 4:18 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty top! The red looks gorgeous on you!~of course red is one of my all-time favorite colors :o) Great review- I like the other top too.
7/28/04 4:24 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks great! Not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:30 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top! That is a very pretty red and it looks great on you.
7/28/04 4:48 PM
joan said...
i like both of your tops. The colors are very pretty on you with your lovely hair.
7/28/04 6:22 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Adorabe! Both versions of this top suit you beautifully,and I love these sleeves on you.
7/28/04 6:35 PM
mickisews said...
I don't think as a sewist, that anything can be too trendy. You can always make a trendy pattern in an inexpensive fabric, and get enough wear out of it before it goes out of style, without costing you too much. That said, I don't think this top is too trendy at all. I made a muslin of this pattern a few weeks ago that ended up being a "wadder" for the same reason as yours. I didn't like the way they advised you to attach the front elastic. Also, the fabric I chose didn't have a lot of stretch, so it came out too tight. I am going to try it again, however, because, even as a "wadder" I saw the potential. Thanks for the review :>) Micki
7/28/04 9:47 PM
KimB said...
Thanks for your tips on how to control front gathering...I've been struggling with this myself. Your tops both look great, and I especially love the bright and cheerful colors, which I think are very flattering to you!
7/29/04 0:31 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for a great review. I, too, like both tops.
7/29/04 8:55 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I think this looks terrific on you: very up-to-date style which you wear very well. Love the sleeves!
7/29/04 9:05 AM
JeanetteE said...
That color is so beautiful on you. Top looks great.
7/29/04 10:34 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, great color for you. You did a great job saving your top. (A side note: the reviews are a easier to read when not all in bold, which happens when you write between the b & /b in the template.) Your other top is nice also, but I like this color on you even better.
7/29/04 2:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very nice. Thanks for the review of this top.
7/29/04 5:53 PM
Elaine Penney said...
Thanks for the kind comments. Red has always been my favorite color. AnneM, thanks for the heads up about the bold. This is my first review. I knew that it would turn out bold if you inserted your copy in the wrong place, but I couldn't remember just where. Logic told me to insert after the colon, but my guess was wrong. So, thanks.
7/30/04 5:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty! Way to save a project!
10/10/04 9:56 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Elaine this really suits you ... I liked the pattern so much that unintentionally I bought it twice. I really do need to stop procrastinating and keep being inspired by your version.
11/1/06 7:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Other DL01

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1005

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now