Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4517 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1269 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 3:47 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynngray said...
Great review. Color looks great on you also. And its not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:00 PM
aneri_masi said...
I like both your tops made from this pattern, but I am more partial to this one. The sleeves look very cute and the color is my all time favorite :) Thanks for the explanation on the gathers.
7/28/04 4:18 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty top! The red looks gorgeous on you!~of course red is one of my all-time favorite colors :o) Great review- I like the other top too.
7/28/04 4:24 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks great! Not too trendy at all.
7/28/04 4:30 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top! That is a very pretty red and it looks great on you.
7/28/04 4:48 PM
joan said...
i like both of your tops. The colors are very pretty on you with your lovely hair.
7/28/04 6:22 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Adorabe! Both versions of this top suit you beautifully,and I love these sleeves on you.
7/28/04 6:35 PM
mickisews said...
I don't think as a sewist, that anything can be too trendy. You can always make a trendy pattern in an inexpensive fabric, and get enough wear out of it before it goes out of style, without costing you too much. That said, I don't think this top is too trendy at all. I made a muslin of this pattern a few weeks ago that ended up being a "wadder" for the same reason as yours. I didn't like the way they advised you to attach the front elastic. Also, the fabric I chose didn't have a lot of stretch, so it came out too tight. I am going to try it again, however, because, even as a "wadder" I saw the potential. Thanks for the review :>) Micki
7/28/04 9:47 PM
KimB said...
Thanks for your tips on how to control front gathering...I've been struggling with this myself. Your tops both look great, and I especially love the bright and cheerful colors, which I think are very flattering to you!
7/29/04 0:31 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thanks for a great review. I, too, like both tops.
7/29/04 8:55 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I think this looks terrific on you: very up-to-date style which you wear very well. Love the sleeves!
7/29/04 9:05 AM
JeanetteE said...
That color is so beautiful on you. Top looks great.
7/29/04 10:34 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, great color for you. You did a great job saving your top. (A side note: the reviews are a easier to read when not all in bold, which happens when you write between the b & /b in the template.) Your other top is nice also, but I like this color on you even better.
7/29/04 2:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very nice. Thanks for the review of this top.
7/29/04 5:53 PM
Elaine Penney said...
Thanks for the kind comments. Red has always been my favorite color. AnneM, thanks for the heads up about the bold. This is my first review. I knew that it would turn out bold if you inserted your copy in the wrong place, but I couldn't remember just where. Logic told me to insert after the colon, but my guess was wrong. So, thanks.
7/30/04 5:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty! Way to save a project!
10/10/04 9:56 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Elaine this really suits you ... I liked the pattern so much that unintentionally I bought it twice. I really do need to stop procrastinating and keep being inspired by your version.
11/1/06 7:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us