SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4517 

18 more reviews
Viewed 1299 times 
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 4:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Penney said... (8/15/04 8:57 AM) Reply
Sherril - that was my first attempt, obviously the simplest method. However, with the rayon/lycra being quite slippery, I just wasn't able to make the elastic follow the seam line. The fabric kept sliding from one side or the other. Thus, the gyrations. Have you made this top? I hesitated because I thought it would not be age appropriate, but I've received a lot of compliments on it. It turned out to be quite flattering on my "mature and almost, but not quite, plus" figure.
eleda said... (8/14/04 8:23 PM) Reply
Elaine your top looks really pretty. I have been procrastinating about making this top because the neckline looked low. But, seeing your finished version it is not too low.
Sherril Miller said... (8/14/04 7:08 PM) Reply
Elaine, I'm glad I didn't miss your review. What a flattering top. I've made this type and instead of the gathering I just used a piece of clear elastic the length I needed the gathers to wind up and stitched it to the seam. Gathers without the fuss and no fear of threads breaking.
Danvillegirl said... (7/29/04 5:55 PM) Reply
Glad you reviewed this pattern. I would have probably just passed over it because it looks like it is for the very young. But seeing it made up and worn by a more seasoned person like myself, I think I may have to give this further thought. Both versions of your top look very good on you but my favorite is the red, but then red is one of my favorite colors also.
Rebecca D said... (7/29/04 5:39 AM) Reply
Hey there Elaine, the top looks great. And so do you. I can tell you all that Elaine has a youthful aura about her and agree that this top suits her in all ways --Rebecca in TC
Schnauzer said... (7/28/04 10:10 PM) Reply
Elaine, Your top is really lovely. I agree with the other ladies. It suits you.
Debbie Spriggs said... (7/28/04 6:32 PM) Reply
My first reaction was how youthful looking that top is. Bravo, I love it! Go ahead and get "carried away", it looks great on you!
alicia said... (7/28/04 5:51 PM) Reply
It looks wonderful on you.
Jennifer shaw said... (7/28/04 5:35 PM) Reply
Your top is so pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
Levone said... (7/28/04 4:49 PM) Reply
I love this one also!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Butterick 5954

photo
by: catintheha...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Pattern Details