Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8534 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 574 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 9:54 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
I made this top too ( mine is a wadder : P ) and totally agree with what you said about the neckline finish. I sewed the lines as pleats! Because the top is too big it worked as far as fit goes and I'm OK with the way it looks. I added a bias strip to the neck on mine too. Made that too long too : P WHY was this simple pattern so difficult for me? I like the fabric I made mine from and have not actually tossed it yet. Might take the binding off of the neck ( when I'm bored enough to rip ) and re-do it someday. Yours really came out cute. I like it : )
4/5/11 10:04 AM
nicegirl said...
An unfinished neckline? What an odd choice on Vogue's part. Lovely job rescuing it! I can see how this would be the perfect Old Faithful in the closet, comfy but presentable!
4/5/11 11:05 AM
MNBarb said...
I sense your disappointment upon the completion of a sewing project. It happens to me often. One gets all exited about choosing fabric, pattern and (here's the possible error) invisioning the PERFECT and attractive garment. That said, you did turn around what sounded like a wadder and made it into something you'll wear often. How creative!
4/5/11 1:34 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the reminder about the 2/3 length on the neck binding and the twin needles for hemming knits. I really like your top and think you did a good job rescuing the project.
4/7/11 12:03 PM
lesliez said...
Your top is adorable and I love that color on you.
4/10/11 11:55 AM
MidnightBleu said...
Thanks for the review. Love that you saved me from your mistakes. Raw edge finish on the neckline--seriously??? The top looks like a wardrobe staple--with the modifications you suggest.
6/18/11 10:52 AM
Quietgirl7 said...
You look so cute in it!
9/18/13 11:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 2233
photo
Review by marykpfist on 12/27/11
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used *n/a
photo
Review by wsu 1 fan on 6/14/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us