SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2829 (dolman-sleeved jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2722 times 
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo

 
 
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/04 3:15 PM
Last Updated:8/20/04 4:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I really like yur jacket-it looks better than the photo and drawing, IMO :o) I love the pink chenille, too, very cozy looking!
7/29/04 3:23 PM
PVA said...
Really nice result, thanks for the review. You mention other fabrics -- I'm thinking maybe a really nice berber fleece?
7/29/04 5:26 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice - great use of the fabrics. (Not the best picture of you, & it still looks nice! )
7/29/04 7:41 PM
Diana M said...
Was this actually a bedspread, or did you purchase new fabric? I've been contemplating the same kind of thing -- the vintage chenille outfits for girls go for BIG bucks on e-bay, and I thought a grown up jacket like this would be fun! Great choice of fabrics, nice review.
7/29/04 8:59 PM
JoleneF said...
This was fabric I bought at JA's using a coupon off. Not cheap fabric but I have seen this same type of jacket in the stores for $30.00-$40.00. I have far less in this than that. My GD really likes it and if I can find an unstructured jacket pattern in her size 4-6 kids, I may try one for her too. I have some purple chenille that my husband hates and she loves!
7/29/04 9:33 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty jacket. Looks so snuggly. Good job on your first lining too!! Looks like you're sewing the "right way" to me.
7/30/04 3:14 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Your chenille idea was great! It's very fashionable both in fabric and color - good job and thanks for this review.
7/30/04 9:25 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I've had this pattern in my stash for a long time but I wory about needing to do a FBA. Do you think the dolman sleeves gives extra room in the bust? Your jacket is so cute!
7/30/04 8:08 PM
JoleneF said...
Thank-you for the nice comments. I did try my jacket on again and yes it is roomier because of the sleeves and also because the front is open on the view I made. I am a B cup, so that is one thing I don't have to deal with.
7/30/04 10:41 PM
Diana M said...
I just pulled out McCalls 4494 to make up one of these for my gd -- I've reviewed the skirt, loved it! It comes in sizes 2 - 8.
7/31/04 3:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Looks like you did a good job on lining it. It is a pretty jacket. I would have never considered the pattern without your review.
8/18/04 10:47 AM
AnneM said...
Nice! What a great jacket for cool days.
8/18/04 5:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your jacket turned out really well. A pretty colour too.
8/18/04 11:42 PM
Catmama said...
Adorable jacket, very flattering!
8/19/04 6:07 AM
Eme said...
Wow - the fabric really makes the jacket. Very stylish -- just love the pink chenille.
8/19/04 7:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s NBBS

photo
by: Cashrhymes

Review