SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2829 (dolman-sleeved jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2721 times 
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo

 
 
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/04 3:15 PM
Last Updated:8/20/04 4:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I really like yur jacket-it looks better than the photo and drawing, IMO :o) I love the pink chenille, too, very cozy looking!
7/29/04 3:23 PM
PVA said...
Really nice result, thanks for the review. You mention other fabrics -- I'm thinking maybe a really nice berber fleece?
7/29/04 5:26 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice - great use of the fabrics. (Not the best picture of you, & it still looks nice! )
7/29/04 7:41 PM
Diana M said...
Was this actually a bedspread, or did you purchase new fabric? I've been contemplating the same kind of thing -- the vintage chenille outfits for girls go for BIG bucks on e-bay, and I thought a grown up jacket like this would be fun! Great choice of fabrics, nice review.
7/29/04 8:59 PM
JoleneF said...
This was fabric I bought at JA's using a coupon off. Not cheap fabric but I have seen this same type of jacket in the stores for $30.00-$40.00. I have far less in this than that. My GD really likes it and if I can find an unstructured jacket pattern in her size 4-6 kids, I may try one for her too. I have some purple chenille that my husband hates and she loves!
7/29/04 9:33 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty jacket. Looks so snuggly. Good job on your first lining too!! Looks like you're sewing the "right way" to me.
7/30/04 3:14 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Your chenille idea was great! It's very fashionable both in fabric and color - good job and thanks for this review.
7/30/04 9:25 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I've had this pattern in my stash for a long time but I wory about needing to do a FBA. Do you think the dolman sleeves gives extra room in the bust? Your jacket is so cute!
7/30/04 8:08 PM
JoleneF said...
Thank-you for the nice comments. I did try my jacket on again and yes it is roomier because of the sleeves and also because the front is open on the view I made. I am a B cup, so that is one thing I don't have to deal with.
7/30/04 10:41 PM
Diana M said...
I just pulled out McCalls 4494 to make up one of these for my gd -- I've reviewed the skirt, loved it! It comes in sizes 2 - 8.
7/31/04 3:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Looks like you did a good job on lining it. It is a pretty jacket. I would have never considered the pattern without your review.
8/18/04 10:47 AM
AnneM said...
Nice! What a great jacket for cool days.
8/18/04 5:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your jacket turned out really well. A pretty colour too.
8/18/04 11:42 PM
Catmama said...
Adorable jacket, very flattering!
8/19/04 6:07 AM
Eme said...
Wow - the fabric really makes the jacket. Very stylish -- just love the pink chenille.
8/19/04 7:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review