Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2326 (Choice of boxer shorts)

8 more reviews
Viewed 282 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/11 1:58 PM
Last Updated:4/2/11 8:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Underwear    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
renren said... (4/5/11 10:36 AM) Reply
Very nice! I'm wondering 2 things: 1) where did you find elastic printed with "Boulevard Club?" and 2) I'm wondering if these could be extended in length to become pj bottoms. I want to make pj bottoms for dh but I do not know if they should have a fly or not. Most patterns I find do not have a fly but they are unisex patterns. Hmm. Very nice and I'm glad ds likes them so much he has requested more.
sewpatty said... (4/3/11 10:12 AM) Reply
Cute boxers. Nice job.
JEF said... (4/3/11 7:57 AM) Reply
Why should you buy something for $2.00 when you can make it for $5.00?? Seriously, those are great looking boxers!
mssewcrazy said... (4/3/11 7:43 AM) Reply
Wonderful looking boxers and happy son-much better than ketchup making to me as well. All the boxers that are bought these days seem to be really sorry fabric regardless of price so you did well with your sewing time.
Peggy L said... (4/3/11 5:42 AM) Reply
Nice!! I'd rather make boxers than ketchup, too. Instant gratification and the DS is happy = success.
cleverkitty said... (4/2/11 7:49 PM) Reply
Fabulous Boxers~~~ Ketchup, Boxers--- funny what inspires the psyche, all that matters is that it brought accomplishment. Only the best for our families. Makes me want to make them for DH
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details