SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-113 (Trench Coat)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 777 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/11 11:31 PM
Last Updated:4/24/11 10:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nan Kay said...
Can't wait to see the pictures, it sounds wonderful! I have been considering this trench.
4/19/11 8:44 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW, Becca!! Great for VT and QC weather, eh!!
4/19/11 6:36 PM
mm said...
What a splendid piece of sewing. It looks great.
4/19/11 6:42 PM
barebear said...
Wow! It looks excellent. I love all the buttons and flaps and details. :)
4/19/11 7:41 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice coat! Great job!!!
4/19/11 8:28 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful coat and lovely job. It looks great on you. Sounded like a real cliff hanger there for awhile as you squeezed all the pieces onto the 3 yds. Glad it worked out.
4/19/11 10:23 PM
optimistic said...
Great Work!
4/20/11 10:15 AM
lmg said...
Beautiful job! Classic lines too.
4/20/11 10:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
You created such an impressive and stunning coat! Thank you for a very helpful review!
4/20/11 1:39 PM
Aixoise said...
Terrific looking coat! You must be very proud of your accomplishment. It looks wonderful on you.
4/24/11 12:11 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I fully appreciate the huge amount of work this coat was! Well done, it looks very sharp. Wool gaberdine was a smart choice. Good idea to line the gun flap - did you do the storm flap as well. Next time I would definitely line the storm flap as it doesn't sit that well with a small hem. Like you I have often been intrigued by Burda's method of attaching a collar, as I have always been taught the traditional method of attaching the undercollar to the coat, and the top collar to the facing. One time I tried it Burda's way and it came out exactly the same. Still, I use the traditional method because I am more used to it and it's easier for me to be accurate. Very well done. A splendid coat, whether you win the competition or not, a total winner.
4/24/11 5:10 PM
becca a said...
Mary Nana, thank you for your kind comments! Your review was an inspiration to try this pattern. I did self line the storm flap as well, as it just seemed the right way to do it.
4/24/11 7:56 PM
pterion said...
Beautiful work. That is one lovely coat.
4/28/11 9:29 PM
manola6176 said...
All the work you put in this coat definitely makes it stands out.
5/1/11 4:32 AM
Aroura said...
Fantastic coat! And it looks like you'll get so much use out of it (brrr cold!!). Love the shoulder tabs and other details, looks really great!
5/1/11 3:14 PM
fattyboomboom said...
What a tenacious sewist you are to persevere through such details!
5/4/11 4:10 PM
JillyBe said...
Gorgeous! If I ever want to make a classic trench, you've convinced me that this is the pattern to use :)
5/5/11 3:29 PM
helenkosings said...
Gorgeous!
5/5/11 4:32 PM
loti said...
Beautiful trench, great pattern.
5/5/11 8:27 PM
marec said...
Thanks for this wonderful review of your progress and great pics of the beautiful trench coat. I'll save this for reference, and perhaps someday live somewhere rainy again. Love the fit of this and your choice of gabardine.
5/8/11 9:39 AM
MareeAlison said...
Becca - are your sure you shouldn't make your rating 'Advanced'??? Thank you for a fantastic review. I love your trenchcoat. I particularly the love the colour and the fit is amazing. Well done. I've voted for you in the contest. I do hope you win.
5/8/11 10:32 PM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks beautiful and better yet warm :-). But your under collar should be cut on the bias, not the cross-grain.
5/9/11 4:09 PM
skooze48 said...
Awesome detail work. Makes me miss wearing coats. Reminds me of a London Fog Trench coat that I wore out litteraly with all the details in the back and on top. A classic jacket and great fabric choice..
5/13/11 3:06 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, this looks very professional, and great on you! Wonderful details.
5/13/11 4:10 PM
FaithM said...
What a fantastic coat. So classic! Thanks for all the tips in your review.
5/23/11 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 82243-1000

photo
by: berngard3

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Silhouette Patterns 312

photo
by: Nancy K

Review