Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (Perfect Fit Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:myeclecticmess
photo

 
 
About myeclecticmessstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/29/08
Reviews: 41 (patterns: 37)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 9:30 AM
Last Updated:4/5/11 10:36 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
myeclecticmess said... (6/13/11 1:33 PM) Reply
I did end up chopping them off and making them into capris last week. Now they are my go to pants for when I want to be comfortable but still look a little nicer than shorts.
SweetCaroline said... (6/11/11 6:23 PM) Reply
I actually first used this pattern in 2008 in conjunction with a Pamela Leggett class. We amde view B with a fly front zipper and I skipped the pockets to reduce bulk and becasue I can't keep my hands out when I have pockets. Not a very flattering stance. I highly reccomend this pattern, I get "have you lost weight" comments every time I wear them, fit does make a difference!
lyndle said... (4/7/11 3:27 AM) Reply
Excellent fit. Well done!
myeclecticmess said... (4/5/11 10:46 AM) Reply
Good idea cj. I could even add cuffs using that technique. I may just end up cutting them off and making capris for the summer.
cjsews said... (4/5/11 10:38 AM) Reply
You could easily add a 1 1/2" or 2" facing to bottom. Just cut a facing out that repeats the shape of the bottom edge.....if it is a straight edge, just a strip of straight fabric, preferable cut on cross grain. Once you apply it and topstitch, no one will know it is a facing, not a turned back hem.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beyond the BoatNeck
Beyond the BoatNeck

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Burda 7367

photo
by: Lisette

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 51590-1003

photo
by: mrgrt235

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Pattern Details