SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (Perfect Fit Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 425 times 
Reviewed by:myeclecticmess
photo

 
 
About myeclecticmessstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/29/08
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 9:30 AM
Last Updated:4/5/11 10:36 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cjsews said...
You could easily add a 1 1/2" or 2" facing to bottom. Just cut a facing out that repeats the shape of the bottom edge.....if it is a straight edge, just a strip of straight fabric, preferable cut on cross grain. Once you apply it and topstitch, no one will know it is a facing, not a turned back hem.
4/5/11 10:38 AM
myeclecticmess said...
Good idea cj. I could even add cuffs using that technique. I may just end up cutting them off and making capris for the summer.
4/5/11 10:46 AM
lyndle said...
Excellent fit. Well done!
4/7/11 3:27 AM
SweetCaroline said...
I actually first used this pattern in 2008 in conjunction with a Pamela Leggett class. We amde view B with a fly front zipper and I skipped the pockets to reduce bulk and becasue I can't keep my hands out when I have pockets. Not a very flattering stance. I highly reccomend this pattern, I get "have you lost weight" comments every time I wear them, fit does make a difference!
6/11/11 6:23 PM
myeclecticmess said...
I did end up chopping them off and making them into capris last week. Now they are my go to pants for when I want to be comfortable but still look a little nicer than shorts.
6/13/11 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-121A

photo
by: olgarosita

Review