Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 511 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:SusiM
photo
Friend of PR
About SusiMstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/11 3:10 AM
Last Updated:4/6/11 3:19 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ak21 said...
gorgeous !
4/6/11 3:44 AM
cabrewer82 said...
The colors/pattern is striking. But I bet it WAS difficult to work with the material. Looks like it would slide all over the place! Great job with it!
4/6/11 4:08 AM
Kat B. said...
Beautiful fabric! I bet your daughter will just love it.
4/6/11 7:34 AM
lakaribane said...
Love the fabric, really rejuvenates the retro look!
4/6/11 8:43 AM
Peacock Chic said...
amazingly gorgeous!!! Although it was a paint to work with I love that fabric. Great job!
4/6/11 10:55 AM
MamaSewing said...
What fabulous fabric - the colors just shimmer and make this dress spectacular!
4/6/11 1:47 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Your DD will look amazing in this dress.
4/6/11 2:21 PM
emcrorie said...
gorgeous (not showing this one to my niece lol)
4/6/11 3:04 PM
talesofawannabe said...
The dress is so gorgeous!! :] I adore the colors.
4/6/11 9:11 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous!!
4/7/11 1:34 AM
Rosesred said...
Great combination of material and pattern, the endresult is really striking.
4/7/11 3:52 AM
lamstu said...
I love this dress! It's a great pattern and you've reminded me that I slimmed out of mine and am due for a new one. Did you sew up the neckline at center front to make it more modest?
4/7/11 4:46 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the comments. @lamstu: I didn't make any changes to the neckline. I'm thinking it's a result of the low camera angle maybe. It's not a low neckline at all, though.
4/7/11 6:45 AM
Kayseri said...
Great design for your terrific fabric.
4/7/11 6:36 PM
Gendun said...
It looks FABULOUS. The fabric is breathtaking and you're so right about it being the perfect pattern. One thing I notice is that this dress seems to work better on longer upper bodies - proportionally, I mean. Can't help but wonder; how this dress would look made up for, say, a picnic or a daytime wedding. Thanks SO much for sharing! :)
1/27/13 6:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by lbrundage on 10/19/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8235 Misses Dress
photo
Review by mimi g. on 4/14/08
Read Review

Burda 7021 Pattern
Burda 7021 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us