Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 419 (Ruffle Top and Swirl Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2104 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/04 7:09 PM
Last Updated:8/2/04 7:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyU said...
That looks fabulous on you.
8/2/04 7:34 PM
gtan said...
very nice
8/2/04 7:57 PM
Lisette said...
Very beautiful
8/2/04 8:23 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the elastic application tip.
8/2/04 8:56 PM
SandraB said...
Wow, this outfit is gorgeous. THanks for the new elastic application tip. Will definitely try this method out.
8/2/04 9:16 PM
sheree said...
Really beautiful! That's a great color on you. Thanks for the review.
8/2/04 9:57 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- very elegant result!
8/2/04 11:07 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful outfit, the fit is perfect! Great review.
8/3/04 3:00 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful, elegant and very becoming. I love both the skirt and top on you.
8/3/04 4:53 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful outfit!
8/3/04 7:01 AM
Tiner W said...
So elegant!
8/3/04 7:38 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Love this! I agree, so elegant!
8/3/04 8:57 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks fabulous on you. Thanks for sharing. One question: when you say you serged for construction, did you use a 3 or 4 thread? Did you not use a conventional machine for any of the seams? I always learn something from your reviews. Thanks!
8/3/04 9:04 AM
cindyann said...
LOVE it! I always took forward to your reviews. I really must try a CJ pattern. What in the heck am I waiting for?
8/3/04 9:13 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks to everyone for your kind words. Harriet, I used a 4 thread serge seam for construction, as I like the extra seam security afforded by the 4 threads. That's just my personal preference though. I think a 3 thread seam would work well, as long as you used a relatively short stitch length. I didn't use a conventional machine for any of the construction seams, but I did use the conventional machine to understitch the collar, as well as to do the hem.
8/3/04 11:00 AM
Diane E said...
Barbara, you look stunning! Love the skirt and top and now (thanks a lot) have to have the pattern. You look ready for a tea party with very important people! How do you think this would work up in a very fluid wool jersey? Might make nice transitional pieces for Fall?
8/3/04 11:29 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks, Diane! I think a lightweight wool jersey would be lovely for this pattern. If you lean toward a nice worsted (nonfuzzy) wool jersey, particularly a lycra blend, I can see this pattern being stunning in that fabric. Please let us know what you decide to do!
8/3/04 3:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous outfit. Like the drape of the fabric.
8/3/04 5:06 PM
galadriel45 said...
I think this is an outstanding outfit. It looks great on you, looks well made. Thanks for sharing!
8/3/04 6:28 PM
SewTabby said...
hubba hubba--GREAT outfit! And the shoes are absolutely fab, too :)
8/3/04 9:13 PM
cynthia w said...
Okay, you know you look dynamite in this, right? Good review!
8/4/04 8:50 PM
KathleenS said...
Very elegant, like all your creations.
8/5/04 3:28 AM
Diane E said...
Hey Barbara, me again, did you stabilize the neckline? if so, what did you use?
8/31/04 11:59 AM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous outfit! Barbara your reviews are always such an inspiration.
8/31/04 1:08 PM
Patti in IL said...
Was the neckline too low? I just made it, and will definately need a camisole
11/23/04 7:41 PM
ldpaulson said...
Thank you for your review, Barbara. Can you provide a little more information about the neckline for the less daring, please? Is the V very deep? I know it is an important design element, but could the ruffle be eliminated for busty-er gals? These are possible alterations that might make the top attractive for someone self-conscious about revealing too much cleavage. The skirt is what attracted me to this pattern; the top seems an essential coordinate. You look lovely in this outfit. Thanks again for the review.
1/24/05 12:54 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Hi, and thanks! You could definitely leave the ruffle off this top with great success, in my opinion. I would simply turn the top under once and topstitch. To raise the neckline for a less 'racy' look, I would add about 3/4 inch to the neckline at each side, tapering to nothing at the top shoulder seam where it meets the back pattern piece. An alternative treatment to make the neckline less 'racy' would be to cut the pattern as directed, but apply a clear elastic stabilizer (on the inside) or elastic edging (applied to edge) at the neckline. Cut the elastic smaller than the length of the neckline, and ease the fabric onto the elastic. This would encourage the neckline to hug the body more.
2/12/05 1:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 3852
photo
Review by DesignsByD... on 5/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2165
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/6/12
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us