SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3673 

44 more reviews
Viewed 1155 times 
Reviewed by:elationcreation
photo

 
 
About elationcreationstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/28/10
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/11 1:15 PM
Last Updated:7/7/12 7:01 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Heckman said...
Nice dress and love the style and material
4/14/11 7:12 AM
dbsewer said...
Hah, I don't think you're very, very short at 5'1 else I'd be very, very, very short at 5' :-) I know what you mean about being petite and busty and I think you did a marvelous job. The fabric is fun and it's a very cute dress.
4/14/11 7:36 AM
persevering said...
Call me clueless - reading about sewing before I restart - however isn't 2" ease supposed to be the right amount of ease in bust and hips (1/2 - 1" in waist) for a good fit? Didn't you actually get it right? It is hard to see how it actually looks on from your photos wearing the dress since you are pulling it to show the ease. It seems to me however that you need a closer fit at the neck and shoulders - you perhaps you need to go down another size there ... look I'm guessing .... and a proper bust adjustment to enlarge that area... I've been reading and reading.... experienced sewers on this site and books on fitting explain a lot.... I don't quite get it though. However I bet you will soon...Congratulations on sewing and making your wearable dress. (Oh, and I have noticed some sewers do keep sewing the same pattern until they resolve and understand their fitting issues. Good luck!
4/14/11 8:41 AM
marec said...
I love this dress and think you have a winner. I agree with persevering above-the amount of ease seems close. If you made this up in a different fabric, you might get more drape and fluidity. All that said, I like the print very much. Nice work!
4/14/11 9:31 AM
FloraNature said...
I'm 4' 11" and I think I've got this pattern somewhere in my stash. The first thing I'd do is compare my front across chest measurement (a horizontal measurement from the arm crease to crease) with that of the pattern measurement, so I could determine whether or not the size is correct at the neck and shoulder area. Unfortunately, the pattern measurement isn't printed so you have to measure it yourself. If it were too large (and it usually is with me!) I would go down a size or two (or make a pattern alteration). I might also need to make a full bust adjustment, and cut a larger size for the waist and hip area. The other thing I'd do is baste the darts in and try the skirt part on to see if the dart placement is good. If the darts are not right I would take them in (or out) until I get a good fit. I can't see where exactly your fitting issues are, as you are pulling at the fabric, but I suspect the dress is too wide at the upper chest.
4/14/11 10:15 AM
elationcreation said...
thank you all for your comments and specially all the comments with help included. I have no updates my blog with a picture of me not pulling the fabric so that it gives a better idea of fit. I will probably come back to this dress in fall and make a thicker version. The fabric does not hang well on this design. my fault, but then this was only my 2nd project ever. thanks to all :) and about the ease, i think that is correct- but if i had cut the size 16 suggested with my measurements it would have been even bigger. I think it helps i am now more in proportion. Any body know the ease allowance on different fitted garments? please comment here.
4/15/11 5:43 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I really love your dress in spite of what you think of it. What weight was the Ikea fabric?? That really could make a huge difference in the next version.
4/16/11 10:55 PM
NancyZL said...
Hi, I like the dress, think you did a fine job of it. Since it is a retro pattern I think the style is much less fitted than today's styles .
4/18/11 5:13 PM
Pene said...
Hi I think your idea of making it again in a heavier fabric is a good idea, probably what the designer had in mind, good luck
6/27/11 9:07 AM
sweet kate said...
Beautiful dress-as for fit, I just tried my first Full bust adjustment, it blew my mind-the dress fits beautifuly. Working out if you need one is suprisingly simple, sewing patterns are cut to a B cup, this is really about proportion through the shoulders and chest. If the difference between a high bust measurment (under your arm pits and across the top of your bust) and a full bust measurment (biggest point of bust) is greater than two inches-you want to learn a FBA, i'm pretty certain Colette patterns has a blog about it.
8/19/11 7:00 AM
Gendun said...
Looking at the pictures of you versus the dressform, I think the only bagginess issue is that you are way sexier than you think. (chuckles) Looking at you I would never have guessed you'd use a plus size. You just need a pal to help you pin that and it will look PERFECT. Really!
3/22/12 4:25 PM
elationcreation said...
Gendun, thank you very much for that lovely comment :) Thanks all for your help!
7/7/12 7:03 AM
katlew03 said...
Find a dress in your closet that fits you well and take measurements from it and compare them to the pattern (don't count seam allowances) to get an idea of which size(s) you need to cut. Multi-sized patterns are great because you can change sizes from one area to another. Also, if you need to go up or down beyond what is printed, you can get an idea of how much to do so. Use tissue or pattern-tracing paper or fabric to trace your pattern with alterations. You might try the pattern-tracing material that you can sew together to see how it will fit. You have made tremendous progress in the few garments you have made. I don't think it will be long before you will be making adjustments automatically and getting great fit.
7/7/12 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 6204

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now