Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5403 (Missess Poodle Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 2495 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Silver_lolita
photo
About Silver_lolitastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/26/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/04 8:59 PM
Last Updated:8/4/04 1:13 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mamakooz said...
great review. circle hems aren't the easiest in the world, i would hate to have to remove that much, you did real good hanging in there. Its NOT the heat, its the humidity that gets ya!! LOL
8/3/04 9:48 PM
KitnRose said...
Congrats on your first skirt! Great job hanging in there. Sound like my first skirt incident ... except that one went "forget that lapped zipper, I'm putting in a single hook and eye and just wearing long shirts over it." Oh, and forget hemming, I made it out of jean material so I could just zig-zag an inch in and let it fray. You actually put work into yours and finished it. Great job! Oh, for what it's worth, I still get compliments on that poor skirt. Perfect apparently matters most to the person wearing it. :) And yours sounds like quite the accomplishment, you should be very proud.
8/3/04 10:27 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review. I made a poodle skirt once many, many, many years ago when I was 16, It wasn't a costume, we really wore them! I marked the waist opening with chalk & string with the fabric spread out on the floor. It was a black taffeta moire -- I actually did the jitterbug wearing that skirt. I loved it! I'd certainly love to see a photo of yours!
8/4/04 0:25 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your skirt! What great rolled-hem practice. It's too late for your hems, but I just read a tip on the message board that says to apply the fray-check & then immediately steam it (w/ your iron); this should soften it up while still being effective. Haven't tried it yet myself.
8/4/04 4:21 AM
KimP said...
Excellent review - can't wait to see what you make next!
8/4/04 8:45 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the photo, that was fast! I'm sure you are going to get much enjoyment out of your skirt, I sure did with mine!
8/4/04 9:49 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Welcome to PR and nice to see that this worked out for you! I made my DD a circle skirt once - a mid calf length 50's costume. 4 yds of fabric and cutting on the floor is NOT for me! Very smart to choose a skirt as a first project for the very reasons you stated.
8/5/04 9:55 AM
spookielady said...
I hope with some help my poodle skirt will look good too
8/5/05 1:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 9772
photo
Review by lsaspacey on 10/22/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 2/19/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3812 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3812 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us