SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5403 (Missess Poodle Skirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2499 times 
Reviewed by:Silver_lolita
photo

 
 
About Silver_lolitastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/26/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/04 8:59 PM
Last Updated:8/4/04 1:13 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
spookielady said...
I hope with some help my poodle skirt will look good too
8/5/05 1:16 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Welcome to PR and nice to see that this worked out for you! I made my DD a circle skirt once - a mid calf length 50's costume. 4 yds of fabric and cutting on the floor is NOT for me! Very smart to choose a skirt as a first project for the very reasons you stated.
8/5/04 9:55 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the photo, that was fast! I'm sure you are going to get much enjoyment out of your skirt, I sure did with mine!
8/4/04 9:49 AM
KimP said...
Excellent review - can't wait to see what you make next!
8/4/04 8:45 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your skirt! What great rolled-hem practice. It's too late for your hems, but I just read a tip on the message board that says to apply the fray-check & then immediately steam it (w/ your iron); this should soften it up while still being effective. Haven't tried it yet myself.
8/4/04 4:21 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review. I made a poodle skirt once many, many, many years ago when I was 16, It wasn't a costume, we really wore them! I marked the waist opening with chalk & string with the fabric spread out on the floor. It was a black taffeta moire -- I actually did the jitterbug wearing that skirt. I loved it! I'd certainly love to see a photo of yours!
8/4/04 0:25 AM
KitnRose said...
Congrats on your first skirt! Great job hanging in there. Sound like my first skirt incident ... except that one went "forget that lapped zipper, I'm putting in a single hook and eye and just wearing long shirts over it." Oh, and forget hemming, I made it out of jean material so I could just zig-zag an inch in and let it fray. You actually put work into yours and finished it. Great job! Oh, for what it's worth, I still get compliments on that poor skirt. Perfect apparently matters most to the person wearing it. :) And yours sounds like quite the accomplishment, you should be very proud.
8/3/04 10:27 PM
mamakooz said...
great review. circle hems aren't the easiest in the world, i would hate to have to remove that much, you did real good hanging in there. Its NOT the heat, its the humidity that gets ya!! LOL
8/3/04 9:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8755

photo
by: BeckiP

Review