SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

64 more reviews
Viewed 601 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:4/15/11 5:57 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said...
I know this review was posted ages ago but I have to add my 5c anyway :) I agree with others that by reducing the width slightly and lengthening it, it would look lovely and you are far too hard on yourself, this colour complements your colouring and is lovely.
10/18/13 1:57 AM
Renren said...
I think it's quite lovely and I'm hoping you got the pattern to work the way you would like. Here I am a year later, reading this review and hearing Annette's very distinctive voice and loving every minute of it.
4/18/12 1:03 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review and beautiful top. The color and fit, everything is perfect.
6/2/11 10:58 AM
JETrinity said...
You are looking so great. This top accents your beauty. I am so happy for you. The cowl neckline is so nice on you that I have to disagree with you. You are beautiful.
5/15/11 2:11 PM
sfshaza said...
I agree with the other comments, Annette. When I only saw the small pic, I was really surprised that you checked "it did not work for me." The neckline is great, the color is great, and the fabric looks nice. Once you tweak the length and shoulder/armscye, this could be a TNT. The neckline is really flattering. Also, I'm not sure I love it with the pleated pants. Anyway, I'm sure you'll figure this out, or put it behind you, whatever you prefer. :)
4/19/11 1:15 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Try it again, Annette - this one is worth getting right. It is very flattering and you'll love it once you get the sizing worked out. (says she who hasn't written a review for this top but did do the work to get it sized right and loves it.)
4/17/11 5:31 PM
Mahler said...
Turn and do the okey pockey... funny lady. This is a very nice top. Certainly not to walk the dog. Vivid and very interesting colour. Nice project.
4/17/11 9:52 AM
LynneMR said...
Great detailed review. I actually think this top looks very nice on you - love the cowl neckline and the colour!
4/16/11 8:30 PM
Karendee said...
As always, your reviews are so informational and humorous. The top is a lovely color and style, but as I have said before-----you are making some patterns too large. I believe you have visions of grandeur, so to speak. Seriously, I do believe the patterns needs to be cut in a large.
4/16/11 7:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is one delectable color and style on you, Annette! I hope you give this pattern another try in a smaller size and longer length (hey, tall lady).
4/16/11 7:02 PM
rozzybabe said...
Your reviews are always informative AND funny! I also think it looks good on you, BUT I think you'd like it A LOT better if it was longer, I think that may be your most serious "issue". Give it another try, I cannot wait to get this pattern!
4/16/11 4:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a luscious color, and I do think the top looks very good on you. Your review is wonderful - I love the pictures of how you did the pivot and slide alterations.
4/16/11 3:00 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Annette - I am going to say I was surprised that you felt this didn't work for you - I think it looks very nice and the color is great for you. However, if you aren't happy wearing it then --- but please hang it in the "thinking" closet and try it on again! Another great review
4/16/11 10:09 AM
marec said...
Hi there Annette, beautiful cowl and gorgeous color on you. Enjoyed reading your review very much!
4/16/11 9:52 AM
cleverkitty said...
AGONY of having to do a review, I'm with you on that, I like your idea of doing them when the agony of doing something else is worse LOL The Top does look so nice and I do think your judging that beauty too harsh, she looks soft and the color is gorgeous that alone would be a keeper.
4/16/11 9:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a thorough and educational review. Thanks so much! With your astute adjustments, I'm sure the next one will be great and very much to your liking.
4/16/11 8:39 AM
RoseFromThule said...
The color is awesomeand I think you look good in it. Love the collar, very RTW :)
4/16/11 6:55 AM
FreyaStark said...
The colour is fabulous. I'm sorry the result is disappointing. The next one will be better!
4/16/11 4:22 AM
Margaret said...
I agree with the comments above. Kwik Sew really likes dropped shoulders, it seems... this shows up slightly even on the model (and who knows, the model could always be wearing a different/smaller size than she "should" according to her measurements). So a smaller size in the neckline/shoulder area might help. Personally I think the top still looks good on you, and probably most people would notice the color (which IMO looks great) more than anything else.
4/16/11 3:10 AM
Terri A said...
Great top - haha the hokey pokey alteration - you are hilarious:-) Nice top though:-)
4/15/11 11:53 PM
Peggy L said...
I have to agree with Patti and Janie. Love the color and neckline on you but the shoulders seem a bit too big. Kwik Sew patterns run big through the shoulders (on me anyway) so you just might try a quick muslin in a smaller size if you can find some fabric in that stash of yours:) Great way to do the collar so the seam stays out of sight.
4/15/11 10:40 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for showing how you do your pattern alterations! It is really helpful to see the pictures of what you did. I think the top looks nice on you.
4/15/11 9:41 PM
Barbara V said...
Annette, I agree that the construction of the cowl neck is really cool because the seam is naturally pulled under. I think the cowl neckline certainly looks very flattering on you and I hope you decide to make it again with adjustments as you mentioned above. Can't wait to see your next one. So nice to see and read your review!!!
4/15/11 9:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, maybe you're right, Patti and Janie. I just find it hard to believe that I would need to cut a LARGE. :o) Maybe I'll try that, using a large only through the neck/shoulders/underarms, know what I mean, Jelly Bean? THANKS!
4/15/11 8:36 PM
Catbird said...
Hi there! Patti B took the words right out of my mouth. I think this pattern is worth keeping because the neckline is so unusual and flattering on you. And the color is outstanding! I do think the shoulders and the whole armscye might be too big for you, and if you're like me, that can make you pretty cranky when you're trying to wear the thing. This pattern has promise, though, and your reviews are ALWAYS top-notch.
4/15/11 8:10 PM
Patti B said...
Annette, I think you may have done what I did with my test version -- made it a size too large. I hope this isn't presumptuous but the shoulder is a bit broad and the armscye too low. My first one looked like 'send this poor girl to camp' until I serged off much of the excess. So please do try it again in a smaller size. The color is lovely on you.
4/15/11 7:10 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for all of the information in this review! And it doesn't matter if we think it looks good on you or not...you have to be the one comfortable wearing it!
4/15/11 7:09 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I think this top looks good on you!
4/15/11 6:52 PM
SewWil said...
Great review, as always! Your top looks very nice on you. You may want to wear it a few times before deciding whether you like it or not.
4/15/11 6:43 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Well, then, a good "el-cheapo" muslin ;)!!
4/15/11 6:21 PM
sideseams said...
I agree with Cristas that your top looks great on you. Also, your sleeve alteration comments are tooooooo funny! Love your reviews .
4/15/11 6:21 PM
Christas said...
Judging from the photos it looks great on you! I think you are much too hard on yourself. I love the color and style. Fun & informative review as always!
4/15/11 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 1783

photo
by: CJgal

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-138

photo
by: tsedai

Review