SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

63 more reviews
Viewed 596 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:4/15/11 5:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Judging from the photos it looks great on you! I think you are much too hard on yourself. I love the color and style. Fun & informative review as always!
4/15/11 6:04 PM
sideseams said...
I agree with Cristas that your top looks great on you. Also, your sleeve alteration comments are tooooooo funny! Love your reviews .
4/15/11 6:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Well, then, a good "el-cheapo" muslin ;)!!
4/15/11 6:21 PM
SewWil said...
Great review, as always! Your top looks very nice on you. You may want to wear it a few times before deciding whether you like it or not.
4/15/11 6:43 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I think this top looks good on you!
4/15/11 6:52 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for all of the information in this review! And it doesn't matter if we think it looks good on you or not...you have to be the one comfortable wearing it!
4/15/11 7:09 PM
Patti B said...
Annette, I think you may have done what I did with my test version -- made it a size too large. I hope this isn't presumptuous but the shoulder is a bit broad and the armscye too low. My first one looked like 'send this poor girl to camp' until I serged off much of the excess. So please do try it again in a smaller size. The color is lovely on you.
4/15/11 7:10 PM
Catbird said...
Hi there! Patti B took the words right out of my mouth. I think this pattern is worth keeping because the neckline is so unusual and flattering on you. And the color is outstanding! I do think the shoulders and the whole armscye might be too big for you, and if you're like me, that can make you pretty cranky when you're trying to wear the thing. This pattern has promise, though, and your reviews are ALWAYS top-notch.
4/15/11 8:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, maybe you're right, Patti and Janie. I just find it hard to believe that I would need to cut a LARGE. :o) Maybe I'll try that, using a large only through the neck/shoulders/underarms, know what I mean, Jelly Bean? THANKS!
4/15/11 8:36 PM
Barbara V said...
Annette, I agree that the construction of the cowl neck is really cool because the seam is naturally pulled under. I think the cowl neckline certainly looks very flattering on you and I hope you decide to make it again with adjustments as you mentioned above. Can't wait to see your next one. So nice to see and read your review!!!
4/15/11 9:15 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for showing how you do your pattern alterations! It is really helpful to see the pictures of what you did. I think the top looks nice on you.
4/15/11 9:41 PM
Peggy L said...
I have to agree with Patti and Janie. Love the color and neckline on you but the shoulders seem a bit too big. Kwik Sew patterns run big through the shoulders (on me anyway) so you just might try a quick muslin in a smaller size if you can find some fabric in that stash of yours:) Great way to do the collar so the seam stays out of sight.
4/15/11 10:40 PM
Terri A said...
Great top - haha the hokey pokey alteration - you are hilarious:-) Nice top though:-)
4/15/11 11:53 PM
Margaret said...
I agree with the comments above. Kwik Sew really likes dropped shoulders, it seems... this shows up slightly even on the model (and who knows, the model could always be wearing a different/smaller size than she "should" according to her measurements). So a smaller size in the neckline/shoulder area might help. Personally I think the top still looks good on you, and probably most people would notice the color (which IMO looks great) more than anything else.
4/16/11 3:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
The colour is fabulous. I'm sorry the result is disappointing. The next one will be better!
4/16/11 4:22 AM
RoseFromThule said...
The color is awesomeand I think you look good in it. Love the collar, very RTW :)
4/16/11 6:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a thorough and educational review. Thanks so much! With your astute adjustments, I'm sure the next one will be great and very much to your liking.
4/16/11 8:39 AM
cleverkitty said...
AGONY of having to do a review, I'm with you on that, I like your idea of doing them when the agony of doing something else is worse LOL The Top does look so nice and I do think your judging that beauty too harsh, she looks soft and the color is gorgeous that alone would be a keeper.
4/16/11 9:03 AM
marec said...
Hi there Annette, beautiful cowl and gorgeous color on you. Enjoyed reading your review very much!
4/16/11 9:52 AM
carolynw said...
Hi Annette - I am going to say I was surprised that you felt this didn't work for you - I think it looks very nice and the color is great for you. However, if you aren't happy wearing it then --- but please hang it in the "thinking" closet and try it on again! Another great review
4/16/11 10:09 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a luscious color, and I do think the top looks very good on you. Your review is wonderful - I love the pictures of how you did the pivot and slide alterations.
4/16/11 3:00 PM
rozzybabe said...
Your reviews are always informative AND funny! I also think it looks good on you, BUT I think you'd like it A LOT better if it was longer, I think that may be your most serious "issue". Give it another try, I cannot wait to get this pattern!
4/16/11 4:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is one delectable color and style on you, Annette! I hope you give this pattern another try in a smaller size and longer length (hey, tall lady).
4/16/11 7:02 PM
Karendee said...
As always, your reviews are so informational and humorous. The top is a lovely color and style, but as I have said before-----you are making some patterns too large. I believe you have visions of grandeur, so to speak. Seriously, I do believe the patterns needs to be cut in a large.
4/16/11 7:50 PM
LynneMR said...
Great detailed review. I actually think this top looks very nice on you - love the cowl neckline and the colour!
4/16/11 8:30 PM
Mahler said...
Turn and do the okey pockey... funny lady. This is a very nice top. Certainly not to walk the dog. Vivid and very interesting colour. Nice project.
4/17/11 9:52 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Try it again, Annette - this one is worth getting right. It is very flattering and you'll love it once you get the sizing worked out. (says she who hasn't written a review for this top but did do the work to get it sized right and loves it.)
4/17/11 5:31 PM
sfshaza said...
I agree with the other comments, Annette. When I only saw the small pic, I was really surprised that you checked "it did not work for me." The neckline is great, the color is great, and the fabric looks nice. Once you tweak the length and shoulder/armscye, this could be a TNT. The neckline is really flattering. Also, I'm not sure I love it with the pleated pants. Anyway, I'm sure you'll figure this out, or put it behind you, whatever you prefer. :)
4/19/11 1:15 AM
JETrinity said...
You are looking so great. This top accents your beauty. I am so happy for you. The cowl neckline is so nice on you that I have to disagree with you. You are beautiful.
5/15/11 2:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review and beautiful top. The color and fit, everything is perfect.
6/2/11 10:58 AM
Renren said...
I think it's quite lovely and I'm hoping you got the pattern to work the way you would like. Here I am a year later, reading this review and hearing Annette's very distinctive voice and loving every minute of it.
4/18/12 1:03 AM
ceejayem said...
I know this review was posted ages ago but I have to add my 5c anyway :) I agree with others that by reducing the width slightly and lengthening it, it would look lovely and you are far too hard on yourself, this colour complements your colouring and is lovely.
10/18/13 1:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now